Hallowe'en Gaming 2015 - Psycho Raiders

Hallowe'en Gaming 2015 - Psycho Raiders Hot

Dr. Mabuse     
 
0.0
5752   0

What better way to get into the spirit of Halloween, as a gamer, than to get some friends together huddled in a darkened room and play some horror boardgames.

Psycho Raiders (2014) by The Eternal Emperors of Evil

 

psycho raiders logo


The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, The Wicker Man, Rosemary’s Baby, Eden Lake and other films of this ilk have clearly left their indelible terror-inducing hands (and maws) all over the making of Psycho Raiders. In it, one player takes on the roles of the title characters and the other player (or players) is/are the hapless Campers caught in the middle of nowhere, in a van with a flat tire. The Campers win if at least one of them can make their way to the top of the map… while  running  through darkened dense woods…and a tiny  town with questionable locals…. while also being hunted down by the Raiders. The Psycho Raider player is simply tasked with killing every last one of the Campers in horribly delightful ways.


This is a super fun and brutally violent magazine game (that’s right it comes in its own magazine) with pretty good components,(you do have to photocopy the character stat sheets, but whatever) and a light wargaming sensibility. The aesthetics are bang on in terms of the look and feel of the overall package. Not surprising really when one considers the game’s design team at Eternal Emperors of Evil has already established themselves with their now sold out 2nd edition of the magnificent Black Metal Necromancing game: Cave Evil. The stark colour palette of red, black and orange really suits this game and its dark, ominous setting. The comic in the magazine sets up the story and you as the players finish it off.

Campers


The gameplay is asymmetrical as the Raiders come armed to the teeth right out the gate with a butcher’s delight of assorted blades, a pyromaniac’s wet dream in a deadly flame thrower while sporting a sadist’s fervour. The Campers on the other hand start with very little and will need to search the woods, buildings or even try to kill a Raider (HAHAHA good luck with that) in order to take his weapons in a bid to stay alive. The Campers do have a couple of cool defensive actions they can take in order to stave off death. The first is the ability to “Hide”, which I really dig, this mechanic instantly reminded me of the hidden counters that were used in the old wargame Squad Leader. The way it works here is when a character is not in the line of sight of the Raiders, they can Hide by adding one hide token per turn (maximum of three tokens per character) on their current location and move those counters as a way to bluff where they really are on the map. A Raider has to land on that counter’s space and take a Search in order to reveal it. C’mon, that is fucking awesome. The other action Campers can perform is the ability to Scream, which they will use to try to alert nearby townsfolk. Successfully alerting townsfolk allow Campers to give actions to them, granting the Camper players instant access to buildings and special equipment they would otherwise have difficulty getting on their own. The flipside is that the Raider player knows which townsfolk the Campers can trust and which are Sinister and laying in wait to aid the Raiders.  Also, by taking this action that character is no longer hidden and must discard any hidden tokens on the board. This adds a touch a wonderful sense of uncertainty in whether to alert the townsfolk at all.

TorchSpud


Combat is pretty straightforward, as the attacker will roll a six-sided die and will add the weapon and/or the character’s strength to the result. The defender rolls defensive dice based on the same criteria as the attacker.  The higher roll wins and the difference is the damage dealt. The loser must reduce their stats according to the number of hits taken which of course will make them weaker. If a Camper loses all points on her stat sheet as a result of combat, the Raider draws a Kill card deck and reveals at it, if a symbol on the card matches the symbol on the weapon the Camper dies a horrific death as pictured in gloriously graphic detail. If not the Camper regains the points lost on that attack thus surviving to see another minute…or two.

Kill cards


This game kicks ass and makes a perfect Halloween game to play with a group of friends. I skipped over the special abilities and random events but know that they also help to throw players deeper into this film... er game without too much overhead. I dig that EEE chose this to be a hex and counter game and added light wargame elements but on the whole is very much an Ameritrash game. It definitely doesn’t let up and with a playtime of between 15 minutes to an hour, it doesn’t overstay its welcome. My only gripe would be that the rules are a little muddy in places and needed a bit of tightening up, especially with a number of optional rules. I’ve never a fan of games that include a whole bunch of optional rules, I would prefer game designers to select the best "options" during playtesting and integrating as a part of the main rules, but that’s just my hang-up.

Get this game. Play this game. Rip someone’s face off using a hook and chain... in this game.

Purchase game here: http://summoning-of-evil.myshopify.com/products/psycho-raiders

 

Hallowe'en Gaming 2015 - Psycho Raiders There Will Be Games
For more information, reviews and articles on PSYCHO RAIDERS Halloween Release click here
Log in to comment
Posted: 20 Oct 2015 18:06 by JonJacob #212930
OldHippy's Avatar
This game sounds great. A sorely underused setting. I'll have to give it a whirl with you some day. Great write up too! Thanks Doc.
Posted: 20 Oct 2015 20:12 by stoic #212934
stoic's Avatar
I need to weave together a Leatherface mask to play this.
Posted: 20 Oct 2015 20:37 by Shellhead #212937
Shellhead's Avatar
I got my Psycho Raiders yesterday, and it looks awesome. The rules are longer and more detailed than I expected. The scenario is pretty simple, but they get into all kinds of detail about possible behavior within the confines of the situation. Barnes is right, this style of game really is a throwback to the old SPI games, not counting the horrific subject matter. Some of the artwork in the magazine is horrendously bad, some of the worst that I've ever seen, but it is certainly a deliberate design choice.
Posted: 20 Oct 2015 21:44 by hotseatgames #212941
hotseatgames's Avatar
I would really like to try this one.
Posted: 21 Oct 2015 05:09 by Michael Barnes #212946
Michael Barnes's Avatar
I played one on one last night. This game is totay renegade. It's ironic that one of the most progressive, innovative and maverick designs of the past several years is, for all intents and purposes, a design 35 years out of date by most standards. It has more to do with Legend of Robin Hood than Betrayal at the House on the Hill. All of these "dripping with theme" buffoons and anyone that thinks that a big FFG (or Kickstarter) production is necessary for atmosphere or storytelling needs to take a hard look at this brilliant.

I played as the campers and I can tell you that no other game captures the terror of being hunted down and murdered by amoral psychopaths better. The hiding, the possibility of sinister townsfolk, hoping that Joey shows up in his Camaro...this is a game that has rules for answering the phone and unsafe driving.

It's early on in my relationship with the game, but I would be comfortable with declaring it the best horror game I've ever played. Shit that happens I. This game is WAY scarier and more terrifying than anything in any other horror game to date. It nails the psychological simulation.

And the package...the way the comic leads into literally turn 1 of the game...fucking brilliant. All of the abhorrent, sloppy artwork, the crude "funnies", the disturbing piece of fiction...it's one of the best-packaged games I've ever seen. The whole thing is evocative and _rude.

This game is a one-of-a-kind masterpiece.
Posted: 21 Oct 2015 05:49 by hotseatgames #212947
hotseatgames's Avatar
So be honest... would this game be better with better production values? Nice board, minis, etc.?
Posted: 21 Oct 2015 05:57 by Michael Barnes #212948
Michael Barnes's Avatar
No. The effect would be greatly diminished. It would be like watching an old 1970s exploitation movie that you've seen 10 times on a 5th generation VHS tape in full HD.

Some things need to be grimy, atavistic, and unpleasant. This is one of them.

Besides, the game is completely up to the level of aesthetics that used to be considered acceptable (or even good) in hobby games.

I'll take a distinctive, highly stylized look over FFG/Thomas Kinkade quality illustrations nine times out of ten.
Posted: 21 Oct 2015 07:39 by hotseatgames #212957
hotseatgames's Avatar
My resolve to not buy any more games was weakened... I just bought it. I'm having people over Saturday for the annual Betrayal at House on the Hill game. If I actually get this in time, perhaps we will play this instead but it probably won't get here. Also it maxes out at 5 and I think I'll have 6.

After Betrayal we are going to try Cthulhu's Vault for the first time.
Posted: 21 Oct 2015 07:40 by charlest #212958
charlest's Avatar
Where were all you people last year when Calendale and myself were raving about it?
Posted: 21 Oct 2015 09:44 by Shellhead #212966
Shellhead's Avatar
charlest wrote:
Where were all you people last year when Calendale and myself were raving about it?

I read your review last year with great interest, but I was still recovering from being unemployed for 10 months.
Posted: 21 Oct 2015 09:52 by charlest #212968
charlest's Avatar
Shellhead wrote:
charlest wrote:
Where were all you people last year when Calendale and myself were raving about it?

I read your review last year with great interest, but I was still recovering from being unemployed for 10 months.

By "all you people" I mostly meant Mr. Barnes.
Posted: 21 Oct 2015 11:00 by Dr. Mabuse #212981
Dr. Mabuse's Avatar
charlest wrote:
Where were all you people last year when Calendale and myself were raving about it?
'All those people' like Mr. Barnes generally likes to wait for more important and influential voices in the game review world to say their piece about a game before looking into and falling in love with this reviewer's "Jeu du jour" as we commonly say in our tiny circle of Gaming Literati (see my Barnes endorsed Horus Heresy review).

Don't be mad at me, bro.
Posted: 21 Oct 2015 11:01 by Dr. Mabuse #212982
Dr. Mabuse's Avatar
I already had a copy when it came out last year but when you and Calendale reviewed it I thought to wait a bit (a year?) to review it, I thought more people would have jumped on it at that point and it would have been sold out. Looks like that didn't happen. Hopefully with Warcvlts coming, that buzz will give PR the recognition it deserves.
Posted: 21 Oct 2015 11:34 by Dr. Mabuse #212989
Dr. Mabuse's Avatar
Michael Barnes wrote:
I played one on one last night. This game is totay renegade. It's ironic that one of the most progressive, innovative and maverick designs of the past several years is, for all intents and purposes, a design 35 years out of date by most standards. It has more to do with Legend of Robin Hood than Betrayal at the House on the Hill. All of these "dripping with theme" buffoons and anyone that thinks that a big FFG (or Kickstarter) production is necessary for atmosphere or storytelling needs to take a hard look at this brilliant.

I played as the campers and I can tell you that no other game captures the terror of being hunted down and murdered by amoral psychopaths better. The hiding, the possibility of sinister townsfolk, hoping that Joey shows up in his Camaro...this is a game that has rules for answering the phone and unsafe driving.

It's early on in my relationship with the game, but I would be comfortable with declaring it the best horror game I've ever played. Shit that happens I. This game is WAY scarier and more terrifying than anything in any other horror game to date. It nails the psychological simulation.

And the package...the way the comic leads into literally turn 1 of the game...fucking brilliant. All of the abhorrent, sloppy artwork, the crude "funnies", the disturbing piece of fiction...it's one of the best-packaged games I've ever seen. The whole thing is evocative and _rude.

This game is a one-of-a-kind masterpiece.

Thank-you for out reviewing my review in five short paragraphs. You should give writing reviews a shot sometime.

True story and I don't give a crap how cheesy this sounds but last year while gearing up for my review asnd playing tons of solo games, one night I decided to post updates on facebook as the game progressed. The response was pretty cool and at one point a buddy of mine typed something, akin to screaming at the screen, to the lone Camper not to trust the Sheriff. When he turned out to be Sinister he responded "I TOLD YOU!!!" Awesome.
Posted: 21 Oct 2015 15:18 by SuperflyTNT #213020
SuperflyTNT's Avatar
This game is fucking OUTSTANDING, and anyone who disagrees is objectively wrong on every possible level of consciousness.

This is THE game of the year, IMO. I've played it twice now, once as the Raiders and once as two of the townsfolk (we played a 9 player game and I chose to sit out until they were activated....note that I was Sinister). Mike nailed it: it delivers a sense of doom like no other, to the campers, and delivers a sense of purpose and straight-up evil to the Raider player.

If you miss out on this, you suck at life.

Michael is wrong about one thing: If this had really nice, 100$ bits, it would be just as good or better. I've already considered ways to make that happen, such as translucent miniatures for each "hidden" marker, etc. The art couldn't change, and the magazine would have to be included.

Masterpiece.
Posted: 21 Oct 2015 15:21 by SuperflyTNT #213021
SuperflyTNT's Avatar
charlest wrote:
Where were all you people last year when Calendale and myself were raving about it?

To be fair, you weren't really a "Fort Guy" then, really. You should know by now that the Fort is a very exclusive club consisting of people who are natural-born cynics, who see the hypewagon, laugh, and rarely get upon it for a ride, and that are VERY selective on whom they seek out advice from, let alone trust that advice as valuable.

Don't take it personally, but until you've proven yourself here at the Fort, you're just another piece of shit huckster selling people what they want to hear. That's how many of the F:ATties that I've spoken with feel, at least.
Posted: 21 Oct 2015 15:52 by Michael Barnes #213024
Michael Barnes's Avatar
I have NEVER played a game that created a stronger sense of fatalistic, nihilistic doom. The fucking world is at stake in Eldritch Horror, but it doesn't feel nearly as crushingly grim as Psycho Raiders. I'm just kind of blown away because it does some things that you usually say that horror games "can't" do when the topic is discussed. When you are playing the campers, it really does capture this feeling of being HUNTED like nothing else. And there is no motivation, no storyline or context for it...they are just soulless, merciless killers.

The townsfolk switching thing...oh my god, that is genius. You've got the campers running toward the town (Crucible, which is a GENIUS name for it given how it becomes a crucible for ridiculously emergent gameplay), and maybe even phoning them. Or screaming for them. They may even come out to help. But then they can just turn on you at the whim of the Raider player or whoever is controlling a Sinister character. You are never safe.

There was one bit in my first game that just really stuck with me. Ginger screamed for the mechanic, he came running out of the gas station after grabbing a hammer. Randy ran toward him, Dawn was in the woods (where she ran across a body) hiding with Spud in pursuit, and Ginger was also heading up to the gas station. The mechanic threw the keys to Randy, he and Ginger caught into the fixer-upper parked outside. Dawn had used a hide token to fool Spud and wound up making it to the car too. Randy floored it...and immediately flipped the car on the turn just north of the gas station. Randy was pretty badly hurt so he told the girls to run and he got out of the flipped car to confront Torch and Beau and stall them. Torch set him on fire with the flamethrower. Beau stood by and laughed. But the kill draw missed. Randy had one point of speed left at this point, and the damage roll on the fire would have put him down on the next turn. But it started raining, and it put him out. It's like he just wouldn't die, and he gained a little will back to clobber Torch with the tire iron. Beau tried to stab him, but missed because Randy used a once-per-game dodge. Randy fought back, but dropped the tire iron on a natural one.. Beau ran the saber through his eyes. It was strangely sad, grim and utterly brutal in a way that board games NEVER are.

It was such a narratively specific turn of events...but it could have unfolded 1000 other ways up to that point, and that exact situation will likely not happen again. It was thrilling too, even though there was no chance for Randy to win in this situation...but we played it out because we _had_ to. We had to see what happened, and it was crucial to the themes that Randy keep fighting, keep trying to survive. Because he stalled them, it did actually turn into a win for the campers, Ginger ran through the chapel, hidden, and off the map. Just after the Raiders walkie-talkied to the Gravedigger, who was sinister. He was coming into the church with a shovel when she got out. Skin of the teeth.

I'm revising my GOTY 2014 picks. It's a joint win for Psycho Raiders and Mushroom Eaters. I can do that, it's my award.
Posted: 21 Oct 2015 17:30 by Hex Sinister #213028
Hex Sinister's Avatar
Jeez, it's been out a year already? I don't know where time goes these days. Moving this to top of priority list.
Posted: 21 Oct 2015 18:16 by hotseatgames #213034
hotseatgames's Avatar
According to my tracking number, now it appears that Psycho Raiders will in fact make it in time for my game night Saturday. There will be 6 of us, so do you think it will work to have 2 people run 2 raiders each, and the other 4 run 1 camper each? Assuming horrible luck on the part of any given camper, how long will someone have to sit out once he gets got?
Posted: 21 Oct 2015 20:20 by SuperflyTNT #213043
SuperflyTNT's Avatar
Nobody sits out.

Have 2 players as Raiders and 1 each play a camper. When a camper dies, they play a townsfolk...not knowing what their role is until the point where a Raider tells them that their specific guy is evil. Raiders can't play townsfolk until after a reveal, IMO, and when a townsfolk turns, the Raider takes them over and the dead camper player takes over a different townsfolk.

It works pretty well because campers don't seem to die until they've already gotten most of the way to town. That's a limited view, only 2 plays, but it worked for us.
Posted: 21 Oct 2015 20:24 by SuperflyTNT #213044
SuperflyTNT's Avatar
Oh, and spectating is like watching a horror movie BEING FILMED. It's oddly satisfying. It's the same thing as watching a Spatracus gladiator battle, sort of. Cheering on your side and sipping bourbon.

Good times
Posted: 21 Oct 2015 20:38 by hotseatgames #213045
hotseatgames's Avatar
I can't wait! I'm hoping I can digest the rules in the short span of time I'll have. Is the first play kind of rough?
Posted: 21 Oct 2015 21:58 by Dr. Mabuse #213052
Dr. Mabuse's Avatar
One thing I deleted from my post was that there used to be a radio station (Psycho Raidio) that you could play in the background. It was atmospheric as fuck with bits of dialogue from the Raiders. Hopefully they'll bring it back. EEE did this with Cave Evil which was so awesome I would listen.to it at work. www.cave-evil.com/KVVL/

Nate and his crew KNOW what they are doing.

The whole package is phenomenal.

UPDATE: Found a bit of the soundtrack here:
microtoxin.bandcamp.com/album/psycho-raiders-radio-tracks
Posted: 22 Oct 2015 08:17 by Shellhead #213062
Shellhead's Avatar
That soundtrack looks like a fun addition to the game. I will probably still make my own soundtrack as well, focusing on actual music from that time period. Haven't decided if I will go with creepy Tangerine Dream style early electronica, '70s metal, or maybe just the current Top 40 from the week of Halloween 1978.

Damn, I would need to subscribe to Billboard.com to get that official chart. Looking elsewhere, I at least found a top 40 for 1978, which includes these possible appropriate or ironic candidates:

Stayin Alive / the Bee Gees
Hot Blooded / Foreigner
Miss You / The Rolling Stones
We Will Rock You / Queen
We Are The Champions / Queen
Two Out of Three Ain't Bad / Meatloaf
Dust In the Wind / Kansas
Love is Like Oxygen / Sweet
Three Times a Lady / the Commodores
Baby Come Back / Player

Expanding it to include 1977:

Torn Between Two Lovers / Mary MacGregor
I'm Your Boogie Man / KC & the Sunshine Band
Hotel California / the Eagles
Easy / the Commodores
Fly Like an Eagle / Steve Miller
Looks Like We Made It / Barry Manilow
So Into You / Altanta Rhythm Section
Dreams / Fleetwood Mac
Don't Give Up On Us / David Soul
Mr. Breeze / Lynyrd Skynyrd (Didn't make the Top 40, but deserves inclusion)
Posted: 22 Oct 2015 11:24 by hotseatgames #213081
hotseatgames's Avatar
I'm unclear on something... the game blurb says there are 4 campers but everything else seems to indicate only 3 campers. Which is the correct number?
Posted: 22 Oct 2015 11:52 by ratpfink #213083
ratpfink's Avatar
hotseatgames wrote:
I'm unclear on something... the game blurb says there are 4 campers but everything else seems to indicate only 3 campers. Which is the correct number?
One camper met his unfortunate end right before you play the game and finish the story.
Posted: 22 Oct 2015 12:37 by hotseatgames #213089
hotseatgames's Avatar
I figured that's what it was... I suppose now with 6 players I'll have 3 play as campers and 3 play as raiders; we can collaborate on the extra raider.
Posted: 22 Oct 2015 12:43 by dragonblaster #213091
dragonblaster's Avatar
Thanks for the review Anthony! Psycho Raidio is back up. Not sure what had happened. www.cave-evil.com/psychos/#

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!

Channel 1 Psycho Raidio,
Channel 2 Irish Halloween (takes a moment to load),
Channel 3 (Murder Radio),
Channel 3 Gravedigger's Greatest Hits,
Channel 5 Storms

Time Dial mixes all
Posted: 22 Oct 2015 12:43 by SuperflyTNT #213092
SuperflyTNT's Avatar
Shit, that's right. That's what I get for chasing the dragon before going psycho, I guess.
Posted: 22 Oct 2015 12:50 by R.P.Kraul #213093
R.P.Kraul's Avatar
I've been flirting with this one for a while, but based on the opinions in this thread, I just ordered a copy.
Posted: 22 Oct 2015 17:16 by Dr. Mabuse #213127
Dr. Mabuse's Avatar
dragonblaster wrote:
Thanks for the review Anthony! Psycho Raidio is back up. Not sure what had happened. www.cave-evil.com/psychos/#

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!

Channel 1 Psycho Raidio,
Channel 2 Irish Halloween (takes a moment to load),
Channel 3 (Murder Radio),
Channel 3 Gravedigger's Greatest Hits,
Channel 5 Storms

Time Dial mixes all
Fantastic!
Posted: 22 Oct 2015 18:03 by drewcula #213130
drewcula's Avatar
You sons a bitches.
My copy will arrive on Saturday.
Posted: 22 Oct 2015 18:36 by stoic #213134
stoic's Avatar
drewcula wrote:
You sons a bitches.
My copy will arrive on Saturday.

Ditto. I can't wait for my postman to deliver my psycho package too on Saturday. That's because it says it's being sent from the EMPERORS OF ETERNAL EVIL LLC. What will the neighbors say?
Posted: 22 Oct 2015 19:37 by hotseatgames #213140
hotseatgames's Avatar
Do you like c-c-c-cocaine?
Posted: 22 Oct 2015 20:24 by stoic #213147
stoic's Avatar
hotseatgames wrote:
Do you like c-c-c-cocaine?

I'm in r-e-e-r-r-e-e-ehab..... ;-)
Posted: 23 Oct 2015 07:08 by charlest #213172
charlest's Avatar
SuperflyTNT wrote:
This is THE game of the year, IMO.

It came out LAST year. If you set a precedent like that then we'll have Michael picking Knizia titles from 1992 every goddamn year.
Posted: 23 Oct 2015 10:06 by Egg Shen #213199
Egg Shen's Avatar
Well...I ordered a copy of this as well. If Nate is still reading this and is wondering why he just moved a bunch of copies of Psycho Raiders, it's because of Doc's review.
Posted: 23 Oct 2015 10:13 by SuperflyTNT #213201
SuperflyTNT's Avatar
charlest wrote:
SuperflyTNT wrote:
This is THE game of the year, IMO.

It came out LAST year. If you set a precedent like that then we'll have Michael picking Knizia titles from 1992 every goddamn year.

I meant last year, in fairness. I don't do "Game of the Year" primarily because I know I am way too flighty and honestly, I have strong biases toward certain types of games, so me saying GoTY has to be parsed as "Pete's completely and totally biased, flighty, and probably irrelevant GoTY choice that applies only to him."

Seriously, though, I haven't enjoyed a game as much, despite its really basic chit-and-map production, in a very, very long time. I'm definitely breaking it out on Halloween. The art alone is enough to fit the day.

My copy is completely laminated and I've mounted all the chits on Scrabble pieces. I have yet to figure out if I'm going to risk disaster by cutting and mounting the board on a multi-fold board surface or not. Chances are I will, and I'll photocopy bits of the art and print them on sticky paper to make a box.

Not many games deserve the PIMP ME treatment I give, but this does. I just wish Nate was an independently wealthy philanthropist who could self-fund a Conan-level production of this game, complete with a sound board built into the box which would emit screams and the sound of a "wet paper bag filled with banana peels hitting the floor" every time someone is hit with a shovel.

EDIT: And every time you open the box, a concert-quality recording of the guitar intro to "B.Y.O.B." kicks in on a 12" pancake subwoofer.
Posted: 23 Oct 2015 10:56 by Shellhead #213207
Shellhead's Avatar
I really like the heft of a Scrabble piece, but the tokens that come with Psycho Raiders are pretty decent. You must have scanned them front and back to mount them, because these are double-sided chits. Not that they need to be double-sided, cause you could just use double the Scrabble pieces and make them all one-sided.

One thing that I may end up adding is loyalty cards for the Townsfolk. I don't mind the odds of the townsfolk being sinister, but it feels out of character to make the Raider player(s) work on an honor system for such a crucial aspect of the game. Have them draw a card (ace through six of hearts) for number of potential traders, then draw again from mini-decks for each townie they choose to try to get. To retain the crude aesthetic of the game, I will probably just take 36 cards from a cheap deck of playing cards and write on them with a sharpie. My jagged handwriting should be suitable.

Also, I have been rethinking my soundtrack idea. My crippleware jukebox software on my PC likes to flag audio files from a few of my PC games, whenever I am scanning to add new music. Instead of unflagging them again, I might be able to use some thematic ones to represent specific random events on the d66 table, like Lightning or Wind. Mix those in with select top 40 songs from 1977-8 and play it during the game in random mode. When the sound effects come up (or the song Mr. Breeze), we can treat those as random events that happen right then in the game. The dude with the Camaro could be that awesome skidding sound sample from the song Sex on Wheels. Anyway, instead of rolling for events, the random soundtrack will give us the events. The trick will be to determine a reasonable ratio between songs and sound effects, so that there typically won't be too few or too many events.
Posted: 23 Oct 2015 11:03 by stoic #213208
stoic's Avatar
SuperflyTNT wrote:
charlest wrote:
SuperflyTNT wrote:
This is THE game of the year, IMO.

It came out LAST year. If you set a precedent like that then we'll have Michael picking Knizia titles from 1992 every goddamn year.

I meant last year, in fairness. I don't do "Game of the Year" primarily because I know I am way too flighty and honestly, I have strong biases toward certain types of games, so me saying GoTY has to be parsed as "Pete's completely and totally biased, flighty, and probably irrelevant GoTY choice that applies only to him."

Seriously, though, I haven't enjoyed a game as much, despite its really basic chit-and-map production, in a very, very long time. I'm definitely breaking it out on Halloween. The art alone is enough to fit the day.

My copy is completely laminated and I've mounted all the chits on Scrabble pieces. I have yet to figure out if I'm going to risk disaster by cutting and mounting the board on a multi-fold board surface or not. Chances are I will, and I'll photocopy bits of the art and print them on sticky paper to make a box.

Not many games deserve the PIMP ME treatment I give, but this does. I just wish Nate was an independently wealthy philanthropist who could self-fund a Conan-level production of this game, complete with a sound board built into the box which would emit screams and the sound of a "wet paper bag filled with banana peels hitting the floor" every time someone is hit with a shovel.

EDIT: And every time you open the box, a concert-quality recording of the guitar intro to "B.Y.O.B." kicks in on a 12" pancake subwoofer.

Dude, I know we'd all love to see some pics of your pimped out copy of Psycho Raiders!
Posted: 23 Oct 2015 11:26 by hotseatgames #213211
hotseatgames's Avatar
Got my copy today, a day early! Now I've got more time to get the rules read. Thanks Nate!
Posted: 23 Oct 2015 11:39 by SuperflyTNT #213216
SuperflyTNT's Avatar
Shellhead wrote:
I really like the heft of a Scrabble piece, but the tokens that come with Psycho Raiders are pretty decent. You must have scanned them front and back to mount them, because these are double-sided chits. Not that they need to be double-sided, cause you could just use double the Scrabble pieces and make them all one-sided.

Technically, I just scanned them front and back, put them on sticker paper, and stickered them to scrabble pieces. Now, I had to laminate the cards because I did a 100% craptastic job cutting the cards and I wanted them to be as symmetrical looking as possible. I bought a bunch of copies of Scrabble for super-cheap (I'm always hunting them) because they make PERFECT tile floors for miniature terrain.

scontent-iad3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xap...0536d344&oe=56CD7EA3

The signpost (veritcal) is two scrabble tile holders back to back, and the floor in the front section of the building is made of scrabble tiles.
Posted: 23 Oct 2015 12:04 by Erik Twice #213221
Erik Twice's Avatar
This game looks really cool, shame it's not my thing at all. I'm not much into horror and really dislike violent shots.
Posted: 23 Oct 2015 23:50 by Dr. Mabuse #213266
Dr. Mabuse's Avatar
Egg Shen wrote:
Well...I ordered a copy of this as well. If Nate is still reading this and is wondering why he just moved a bunch of copies of Psycho Raiders, it's because of Doc's review.
Woah, thanks Egg!
Posted: 26 Oct 2015 12:04 by dragonblaster #213381
dragonblaster's Avatar
Egg Shen: We noticed. We are super grateful.

Anthony: It was very helpful!

There is a funny story about the halloween game idea. It was a very rapid idea that occurred last year. A good friend of ours would make a haunted house every year but hasn't been able to do it lately. We were pining to do a haunted house and figured we should just make a halloween game instead with the same spirit. We made it, they sold just ok, we had more ideas but almost forgot about them because sales were not tremendous.

We know the game market is gravitating toward $100+ games and we have wanted to go in the direct opposite direction for awhile. Psycho Raiders was a first attempt in this opposite direction. To us, the horror genre has had a long history of minimal budgets, limited time constraints and an aim at grotesque button pushing (exploitation) in order to draw readers or viewers. PR was an experiment using those ingredients.

Both Anthony's and Charlie's review have been great! Many many thanks to you two!

SuperTNT: Is that picture homemade Psycho Raider's pieces?
Posted: 26 Oct 2015 12:15 by SuperflyTNT #213382
SuperflyTNT's Avatar
No, that's a scratchbuilt post-apocalyptic terrain building. If I wanted to do a full Psycho Raiders type miniatures game, I don't think I have enough trees to pull it off, but I have plenty of miniatures, cars, and buildings. That would be awesome.
Posted: 27 Oct 2015 12:59 by dragonblaster #213470
dragonblaster's Avatar
Looks cool!

Forests would be tough. Maybe forest is just a different color on the terrain.