Front Page

Content

Board Games

Forums

Site Tools

Submissions

About

You May Also Like...

O
oliverkinne
May 23, 2020
W
WadeMonnig
May 20, 2020
MT
Matt Thrower
May 17, 2020
O
oliverkinne
May 16, 2020

Forbidden Sky Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
AL
Andi Lennon
May 13, 2020
LS
Lucy Sabian
May 12, 2020
O
oliverkinne
May 09, 2020

King of New York Review

Board Game Reviews
W
WadeMonnig
May 07, 2020
AL
Andi Lennon
May 06, 2020
O
oliverkinne
May 02, 2020
AL
Andi Lennon
April 30, 2020
W
WadeMonnig
April 29, 2020
MB
Michael Barnes
April 23, 2020
T
thegiantbrain
April 23, 2020

Barenpark Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
WA
Wade and Tegan Monnig
April 22, 2020

Discount Dive: Going, Going, Gone! Board Game Review

W Updated December 31, 2019
 
2.0
 
0.0 (0)
1296 1
ggg box

Game Information

There Will Be Games

Well I went looking for a discounted board game auction
When I saw something I just had to have
My mind told me I should proceed with caution
But my wallet said to go ahead and make a bid on that.

Welcome to Discount Dive, where I search for board game titles with slashed prices. This dive had me surfacing with Going, Going, Gone from Stronghold Games. Ignoring the cringe inducing cartoon box art, I snapped this title up on clearance for a mere $10.00.

Inside the game you will find: an auction paddle that doubles as the rule”book”with a short, floppy handle that was doomed to break; 5 semi-transparent ramekins (My wife always calls them ramekins, I don't think I had heard the word until a few years ago but I guess it's better than saying “little cups”); six different colored cube sets of 40 cubes apiece; a deck of item cards and... that's it. The biggest thing on/in the box is the MSRP of $49.99 USD.

Standing back and looking at the game, it should be all about the math. You bid on cards to create sets, either matching them using the displayed flag on the card or the item that is displayed. Sets increase in value as you gather more of the matching icons. So, the base price to get a card should be a couple of “bucks” and then “math” your way up, deciding what is a practical price per matching card ratio. Sound boring? Don't worry, it never actually plays out like this. Instead, it is anarchy with buyers regret, uproarious laughter, and “Whoops, I don't think that was even the card I wanted.” All of this is because you are bidding on multiple auctions/cards at once, in real time, by tossing cubes/bucks into the ramekins.

You start the game with 25 cubes in your “bank.” These are the bucks you are going to be bidding with. Throughout the game, you have the option of selling your collected sets for more “bucks/cubes” so, when running low on funds, you can bid on other auctions. Bigger sets are worth bigger bucks but if you don't have the money to bid on something, you have to cut your gains/losses and generate more money by selling smaller sets. At the end of the 7 rounds, when you add up how many bucks you have spent and earned from selling your collections, you can find that half the players have LESS than the starting 25 cubes and you think “Hell, we would have been better off just not bidding on ANYTHING!” But you don't care, because it was fun. Still, if you come into GGG looking for a precise, think-y auction game (and why wouldn't you?), you'll likely be put off by the chaos (good-natured or not). It is not an auction of the Ebay kind. It's in-your-face cube tossing and the only Ebay-ish element is trying to snipe a single auction at the end of the countdown while managing 4 others at the same time.

The game has the weirdest iconography on the cards. The first question is: Why? The pictures on the cards are of identical items and it's not like they are language-dependent: One is a picture of a phonograph. Another is of a teddy bear. But, they include an icon: In the case of the above-mentioned ones, it's a miniature silhouette of a phonograph and teddy bear... fantastic. All of the other icons are squares, square with a border, or a slightly askew square. It feels like the icons were included as a weird inside joke and I just missed the punchline.

Going, Going, Gone is good filler. It is fun and fast. I would have been distinctly disappointed if I had payed the full MSRP, but snapping it up at ten bucks means that it comes out often enough that it won't be on my purge list anytime soon.


Editor reviews

1 reviews

Rating 
 
2.0
Going, Going, Gone!
Going, Going, Gone is good filler. It is fun and fast. I would have been distinctly disappointed if I had payed the full MSRP but snapping it up at ten bucks, it comes out often enough that it won't be on my purge list any time soon.
Wade Monnig  (He/Him)
Staff Board Game Reviewer

In west Saint Louis born and raised
Playing video games is where I spent most of my days
Strafing, Dashing, Adventuring and Looting
Writing reviews between all the Shooting
When a couple of guys reminded me what was so good
About playing games with cardboard and Wood,
Collecting Victory Points and those Miniatures with Flair
It’s not as easy as you think to rhyme with Bel Air.

Wade is the former editor in chief for Silicon Magazine and former senior editor for Gamearefun.com. He currently enjoys his games in the non-video variety, where the odds of a 14 year old questioning the legitimacy of your bloodline is drastically reduced.

“I’ll stop playing as Black when they invent a darker color.”

Articles by Wade

Wade Monnig
Staff Board Game Reviewer

Articles by Wade

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Log in to comment