You May Also Like...

MB
Michael Barnes
December 12, 2019
W
WadeMonnig
December 11, 2019
MB
Michael Barnes
December 05, 2019
V
Vysetron
December 05, 2019

Mr. Face Review

Reviews
T
thegiantbrain
November 26, 2019
D
DavidNorris
November 21, 2019
W
WadeMonnig
November 20, 2019
MT
Matt Thrower
November 18, 2019
V
Vysetron
November 14, 2019
W
WadeMonnig
November 13, 2019
T
thegiantbrain
November 12, 2019
  • Reviews
  • Campy Creatures Expansion I Board Game Review

Campy Creatures Expansion I Board Game Review

W Updated August 14, 2019
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
1251 1
Campy Creatures Expansion I Board Game Review
There Will Be Games

What public domain monster will be in the expansion? It's Cthulhu, right? What? It isn't!?! Someone assemble the angry mob!

Campy Creatures Expansion I isn't a “more stuff” expansion, it is an “alternate stuff” expansion. Everything that you add in requires you to take something from the base game out. The goal remains the same: To capture those meddling mortals. A new rogues gallery of mobs are at your disposal and they feature new powers:

Tarantula (3) The huge arachnid adds Venom to a mortal in the selection pool and suddenly they become worth -3 points per venom token on that mortal. It's like in college when that one asshat would order a pizza and then spit on it so no one else would take any. Yea, not cool, Tarantula...I don't care if you are “immune” to the venom.

Image1

Man Eating Plant (4) Feed me, Seymour. The Man Eating Plant is Campy Creatures tribute to Audrey (II). It Entangles a mortal (stops anyone from taking that mortal as soon as it is revealed). You must have a strong monster (7+) to rip the mortal away from the mean green mother from outer space or another Man Eating Monster (Audrey III???).

image2

The Rogue Robot (5) When played, you must discard a mortal in play. No if, and or buts.

Image3

The Monster (6) This is NOT Frankenstein's Monster. It is certainly not just “Frankenstein.” It's an electro-charged, reanimated corpse that will power up the next creature you play by +2.

image4

So, how do they play? The Rogue Robot and The Monster do allow you to swap out the non-focused aggression cards (Vampire and Werewolf) that I wasn't particularly fond of in the original game. That freaking Vampire, I just don't like the cut of his jib. But the Rogue Robot is just like he sounds, you can't control him once he has been unleashed and it can come back to bite you in the ass by eliminating the Mortal you would be able to take on your turn if it happens to be the last mortal in play. The Tarantula and The Monster both add a few chits to the game, just to help keep track of their specific powers. Unfortunately, you are pretty much tied to the value on the cards when deciding which monsters to swap in and out. You can't add The Man Eating Plant along with The Invader from the base game. Kind of a bummer, you don't get that all-star monster squad opportunity.

On the Mortal side, you now have Angry Mob and Instigators. As any monster worth his salt knows, pitchforks and torches are not your friend. Moving the Disgruntled Villagers from Player to Player is a thematic addition that adds to the Mortal-capturing strategy of the game.

You'll also find more Locations (Dark Castle, Power Plant and The Motel) that take advantage of 2nd Edition Location Additions. Again, it adds another layer to the capturing phase that isn't simply “Grab the highest scoring mortal.”

image5

If you have worn the foam rubber costumes off your copy of Campy Creatures, this expansion is a welcome addition. It's only adds an iota more “complexity” than the original game. It doesn't “complete” the game and it isn't a “required add-on” but if you are a fan of the base game (or the fantastic art), it doesn't disappoint.

Photos

Campy Creatures Expansion I Board Game Review
Campy Creatures Expansion I Board Game Review
Campy Creatures Expansion I Board Game Review
Campy Creatures Expansion I Board Game Review
Campy Creatures Expansion I Board Game Review

Editor review

1 reviews

Board Game Reviews 
 
3.0
What public domain monster will be in the expansion? It's Cthulhu, right? What? It isn't!?! Someone assemble the angry mob!
Wade Monnig  (He/Him)
Staff Board Game Reviewer

In west Saint Louis born and raised
Playing video games is where I spent most of my days
Strafing, Dashing, Adventuring and Looting
Writing reviews between all the Shooting
When a couple of guys reminded me what was so good
About playing games with cardboard and Wood,
Collecting Victory Points and those Miniatures with Flair
It’s not as easy as you think to rhyme with Bel Air.

Wade is the former editor in chief for Silicon Magazine and former senior editor for Gamearefun.com. He currently enjoys his games in the non-video variety, where the odds of a 14 year old questioning the legitimacy of your bloodline is drastically reduced.

“I’ll stop playing as Black when they invent a darker color.”

Articles by Wade

Wade Monnig
Staff Board Game Reviewer

Articles by Wade

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Log in to comment

ubarose's Avatar
ubarose replied the topic: #300747 14 Aug 2019 13:44
I really love the art in this game. It's making me really want to try it.
Josh Look's Avatar
Josh Look replied the topic: #300751 14 Aug 2019 14:20

ubarose wrote: I really love the art in this game. It's making me really want to try it.


I think we played it? Anyway, I’ve got it, it’s good quick fun.
ubarose's Avatar
ubarose replied the topic: #300752 14 Aug 2019 14:34

Josh Look wrote:

ubarose wrote: I really love the art in this game. It's making me really want to try it.


I think we played it? Anyway, I’ve got it, it’s good quick fun.


It's coming back to me like a half forgotten dream. Yeah, it was fun. Bring it around again sometime.
RolandHemisphere's Avatar
RolandHemisphere replied the topic: #300970 20 Aug 2019 20:47
I plan on getting this and the mother game for the Art alone. We have Mission Red Planet as our primary simultaneous action selection game, but the art is too good and I have friends who love a quick game with laughs.