Front Page

Content

Authors

Game Index

Forums

Site Tools

Submissions

About

You May Also Like...

AL
Andi Lennon
November 25, 2020
W
WadeMonnig
November 25, 2020
MT
Matt Thrower
November 24, 2020
GS
Gary Sax
November 23, 2020
Hot

Oath Pre-Review

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
November 20, 2020
W
WadeMonnig
November 18, 2020
M
mezike
November 16, 2020

Tavarua Review

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
November 13, 2020

Q.E. Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
MB
Michael Barnes
November 12, 2020
MT
Matt Thrower
November 08, 2020

Play Matt: Isle of Cats Review

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
November 05, 2020

On Tour Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
AL
Andi Lennon
November 04, 2020
W
WadeMonnig
November 04, 2020
J
Jackwraith
November 02, 2020
O
oliverkinne
October 30, 2020

Blitzkrieg Board Game Review - Beware the Bag

Hot
W Updated June 22, 2020
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
4671 0
Blitzkrieg Board Game

Game Information

Game Name
Publisher
Designer
Players
1 - 2
There Will Be Games

Blitzkrieg claims to offer World War 2 in twenty minutes. But beware the bag.. 

I'm a bit of a doer when it comes to learning games. As I get older, I find my ability to read through a swathe of information, retain it and then put it into practice becomes more difficult. I find myself second guessing more and more. And more often, I end up learning 'on the job' with the pieces laid out in front of me. It means that most of my first games can be labelled as messy endeavours, and I'm not actually switching the fun switch on sometimes until the second game, but as I get more involved in the critiquing of games, I become very aware I'm assessing learning the game as part of the overall process. Fun with bucket loads of additional work can be as tiring as a day job, and sometimes I want the simple immediacy of entertainment now.

So there are many things that are attractive to me when it comes to looking at a game as the likes of Blitzkrieg from PSC Games. The box itself is emblazoned with a bold claim of being able to experience World War Two within twenty minutes, while the simplicity of the main board suggests that even that might be a small lie. Unlike the real deal, Blitzkrieg is about winning victory points in order to triumph, and you do this by succeeding in the various theatres of operations on offer across the world, and you succeed in the theatres by winning multiple lines of campaigns. You win campaigns by placing tiles and being the first to reach the end space across the overall battle track.

The only rule for placing tiles is that they need to match the space for the type of territory they are being placed on. So a boat tile can only be placed on Water tile, while a tank on land, but planes can be placed anywhere. The battle spaces themselves have various effects that will grant you additional bonuses. Some giving you additional tiles to choose from and others allow you to gather one of the wonderfully devastating research tiles for later use.

Blitzkrieg

THE BAG

This might sound all very pedestrian so far, and that would certainly be the case if Paolo Mori hadn't introduced 'The Bag'. You see 'The Bag' is a huge game changer to Blitzkrieg. 'The Bag' can make the game superbly wonderful and amazing and "Oh, what a brilliant game", to stopping your campaign in its tracks and making you swear like the proverbial WWII trooper. You see, all of your tiles go into 'The Bag', except for three. Then as you play, you draw blindly from your bag. It's kind of like playing chess but you close your eyes before you decide which piece you'll play as next, and it adds such a level of sometimes delicious surprise as you play, that you'll be tempted to introduce 'The Bag' to help you make other choices in your life. Yes, I'm celebrating random choice. Yes, you'll just have to get over it. There is something fun about having to react to the changing situation based on what you have in front of you, instead of trying to plan six moves in advance.

   Blitzkrieg

The upshot is that even with the additional research tokens and battle power spaces, Blitzkrieg is a very easy game to get to the table and just blast through. Once you play you first couple of games, it's strangely moreish. It's easy to reset and start again, and even if things aren't going your way particularly, then like the Scottish weather, you only really need to wait twenty minutes for it to change. It's also a bit brain burning too, as you can play tokens into any of the four theatres of war, as long as you have legal tokens to do so, and sometimes an unnoticed bonus space can really turn the tide. It often won't pay you dividends to concentrate all in one area, and I've been caught out with a bit of analysis paralysis on a number of occasions.

Blitzkrieg

 The base game includes a solo mode from David Turczi, in which there's a lot of work that has gone in to making it flow and provide a challenge as much as possible. It introduces Strategems, which make your invisible opponent focus on a certain strategy for that particular turn. I'm sure for those big into their solo modes, it's going to be a lot of fun, but unlike playing with an opponent, there's a reasonable amount to keep track of when you're figuring out how you should be playing, and so it wasn't something that I particularly enjoyed myself as I was constantly referring back to the rules. I'm hopeful of giving it another chance, but I'd prefer to play a person.

Blitzkrieg

The Nippon Expansion changes things up in terms of the layout of the board, where there are more Theatres of Operations, but each only has a single line of campaign instead of multiple ones like its sibling, The main difference being that the winner of each campaign has the choice to decide which of the other Theatres is opened up to play in and has the chance to gain a slight advantage going forward. It's an interesting take on the main game, and leads to one or two extra strategic decisions. Funnily enough, it's also the map the quickest wins and defeats took place. The beginning campaigns are skewed towards sea spaces, so the first time I played the expansion, my opponent had three tank tokens and so was unable to play at all, thus throwing the match. A further couple of plays later on with a different opponent had one more outcome where they just could not lay a tile. 'The Bag' giveth and 'The Bag' taketh away. It's the only time the luck of the draw lucked out, but the Nippon Expansion is a fun variant on the main game and can also be played in solo mode as well.

Blitzkrieg

 There's a wonderful purity to Blitzkrieg, where the strategy on offer sneaks up on you without pushing it down your throat, and you'll find yourself cursing decisions you made with minutes of secretly punching the air in joy as you realise you've played a move to take you to victory. For those looking for something short and very sweet, you'd better book some time at the dentist, as there is a chance Blitzkrieg is going to be a favourite dish on your table.

We were sent a copy of Blitzkrieg from PSC Games. PSC Games
We were not paid for this review
David Turczi  and Nick Shaw appeared on the podcast in Nov 2018 Welcome To Dinoworld

Photos

Blitzkrieg Board Game Review - PSC Games

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Rating 
 
4.5
Blitzkrieg
W
Top 50 Reviewer 9 reviews
Richard Simpson  (He/Him)
Associate Podcaster & Writer

Richard has been running the We're Not Wizards podcast since 2016, and in that time has spoken to most of the well known names in the industry. They also write self indulgent review pieces and make bad videos for YouTube.

You can check out their podcasts by visiting We're Not Wizards  or vist the We're Not Wizards Blog for their written work.

Richard Simpson
Associate Podcaster & Writer

Articles by Richard Simpson

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Log in to comment

ubarose's Avatar
ubarose replied the topic: #307418 24 Feb 2020 14:01
Almost got to play this a couple of weeks ago, but then we played something else instead. I hope it gets brought to game night again.
Road Judge's Avatar
Road Judge replied the topic: #307476 25 Feb 2020 18:31
Don't you hate that? Someone brings a game you really want to try and then something else gets played instead. Bah!

This looks like something I can take to work to play at lunch or something fast to play with my son when we don't have time for a long game. (Looking forward to him being home at spring break...I'm not getting enough gaming in with just my meetup group while he's at college)
ThirstyMan's Avatar
ThirstyMan replied the topic: #307483 26 Feb 2020 02:12
Looks a lot like Churchill (GMT) except Churchill is 3 player and longer.

The idea of movement along tracks is definitely the same though.