Front Page

Content

Board Games

Forums

Site Tools

Submissions

About

You May Also Like...

AL
Andi Lennon
May 27, 2020
O
oliverkinne
May 23, 2020
W
WadeMonnig
May 20, 2020
MT
Matt Thrower
May 17, 2020
O
oliverkinne
May 16, 2020

Forbidden Sky Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
AL
Andi Lennon
May 13, 2020
LS
Lucy Sabian
May 12, 2020
O
oliverkinne
May 09, 2020

King of New York Review

Board Game Reviews
W
WadeMonnig
May 07, 2020
AL
Andi Lennon
May 06, 2020
O
oliverkinne
May 02, 2020
AL
Andi Lennon
April 30, 2020
W
WadeMonnig
April 29, 2020
MB
Michael Barnes
April 23, 2020
T
thegiantbrain
April 23, 2020

Barenpark Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews

Tactical Maneuvers, Tiny Epic-style

J Updated March 24, 2020
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
1572 0
Tactical maneuvers, Tiny Epic-style

Game Information

Publisher
Designer
Players
1 - 4
There Will Be Games

Solid gameplay in a remarkable package.

Full disclosure: I'm a Tiny Epic fan. I own the entire series and have found most of them to be delightful. So it shouldn't be too surprising that I went into my initial experiences with Tiny Epic Tactics expecting the same level of excellence that I've associated with the other titles. But it's safe to say that this time I think they took it one step beyond (cue: Madness.)

Part of the attraction of the Tiny Epic series is that they all come in, well... tiny boxes, measuring 7" long x 4.75" wide x 1.5" deep. They're meant to fit in a large coat pocket or, if you're hauling along more than one (and I usually am), fit several in the average backpack. But the idea is also to get multiple types of game play (competitive, co-op, solo, multiplayer) out of the same package. They aren't intended to be games like Honshu or the nearest pocket chess set; abstracts where you play one way until you get bored of it (or become a chess master, as the case may be.) Furthermore, they've also been designed to emulate or duplicate popular game styles of the modern era. Tiny Epic Kingdoms is an area control game. Tiny Epic Zombies is a survival game. The upcoming Tiny Epic Dinosaurs is a smaller version of games like Dinosaur Island. And Tiny Epic Tactics is probably best labeled as the board game version of games like Final Fantasy Tactics. The genuinely remarkable thing is that the tiny box also functions as part of the board.

Optimized 20200320 003223

Each player has a team of four characters ("allies"), one of each class of Warrior, Rogue, Mage, and Beast. Each character card stipulates a special ability or spell and shows both a health tracker and what kind of attacks (melee, missile, spell) each can perform and must pay for. The "board" is a grid-overlaid, nylon cloth with the bottom half of the main box and five smaller boxes placed upon it in predetermined locations to create "3D" terrain, each printed to scale with the cloth map and with the same movement grid. And, yes, player tokens, stat tokens, cards, dice, and all terrain boxes fit comfortably in that tiny (epic) main box.

Game play is similar to other arena/battlemage type games (e.g. Wiz-War or, for a more modern example, Funkoverse.) You move your dudes around and attempt to accomplish an objective while killing ("capturing") the opponents and keeping your team alive. The main game mode (Competitive) involves three areas marked on the map. If you have the majority of figures in an area, you advance the flag token until you capture it, wihch is worth points at the end. Also worth points are opposing team members that you kill and your own guys surviving to the end. An alternate mode (Battle) is a capture-the-flag map on the reverse side of the nylon board, which also allows you to set up the terrain in whatever fashion you like. Both game modes are playable as free-for-alls betwee 2-4 players or between 2 teams of 2. There's also a solo/co-op mode that involves venturing into the dungeons printed on the inside of the boxes, while you compete against an AI-controlled team.

Optimized 20200320 003520

Players have three actions each turn to divide among their four allies, which basically boil down to move and/or attack in some fashion. Each character can act once for free. If they act a second time in the same turn, they become Weakened, which means they can't act in their next turn unless they're willing to take damage to do so. You also can't duplicate an action a character has already taken (so no double moves.) There's a variety of terrain on the map, from water to mountain peaks, all of which has some effect on play; from reducing damage of attacks taken to greatly enhancing range. The most notable feature are the portals scattered around, which all serve as instant gates (i.e. you step through one, you appear in front of any other.) Each player also draws a tactics card at the end of each turn with a variety of one-time effects that are all based on "If... Then..." statements, such as Search the Forest: If you move a second ally into a Forest space (so you occupy 2 Forest spaces), Then All allies in Forest spaces may immediately restore all ammo or mana [for Missile and Spell combat, respectively.]

Game action is quite interesting, but can be a little mixed in terms of results. Melee (adjacent) attacks allow you to knock back opposing units (useful for an area capture game), while missile attacks run a (very small) risk of missing, and spells can vary between a whisper and an explosion. All three of these special effects are influenced by rolls of 1-3 dice. As with most of these types of games, movement is king. If you're randomly dealt a team that only moves 3 and your opponents have dudes that all move 4 or 5 spaces, you're likely to be up against it. Howevah, once a flag token is activated in an area, it only matters who controls the area when the flag is finally moved to the last stage and captured. The slower characters generally have the more powerful attacks, so if you can clear out those wispy, fleet-footed guys when you finally arrive, you can show them who's in charge.

Optimized 20200320 003725

For example, Kor'Gak, a Warrior, can only move 3. But when he hits an enemy, he does an extra wound for each knockback that he rolls, potentially doing 5 damage, which is at least half the health of the majority of characters in the game, if not much more (many Rogues and Mages have health totals around 7.) OTOH, Senshi, another Warrior, moves 4 and does less base damage in melee (2), but can automatically deal 2 knockback in Missile combat if the target is in a straight line from him. If that sounds like there's a lot of variety in abitlies, there is. Plus, with 8 different allies in each class, that's over 4000 team combinations. Also, as a team combat game, it's important to point out that many abilities are team-focused, like Xióng Mão, a Beast who allows other nearby allies to Weaken opponents with their melee attacks, so proper positioning of your team to maximize effects is an important aspect of playing well.

The game continues until all three flags have been captured or someone has lost all four of their allies. Then you total points for flags, dudes captured, and dudes surviving and determine a winner. Like most Tiny Epic games, Tiny Epic Tactics moves quickly and becomes pretty intuitive after just a few minutes. As noted with the variety of allies, replayability is pretty high, especially with the varied terrain setup on the Battle Mode side of the map. There's also a maps expansion, giving you arctic and wastelands terrain with sleeves that fit nicely over all the terrain boxes and new cloths that give radically different maps in both modes. The game moves pretty swiftly, although considering the options for four characters can lead to a little AP on some players' parts. But the presence of the portals speeds up play and somewhat obviates that movement issue.

Optimized 20200320 003541

Are there downsides? Well, there may be three. First, I've played a number of games and I have to say that Missile combat feels a little superfluous in a couple ways. The damage is often so low and range so limited that it feels more important to use Rogues for their abilities, rather than for combat, which isn't necessarily a downside in a game based on teamwork. Also, ammo is supposed to be a restrictive element, with die rolls supposedly putting you in peril of running out and not being able to use said attack. But towns, where you can restore your ammo (or mana) just by passing through, are so plentiful that it has never been a concern in any of my games. Second, the teams that start on the bottom of the map (looking "north" at the largest terrain box (the bottom half of the game box)) are at a fairly significant disadvantage, distance-wise, from the "trigger" spots for the control areas. The nearest ally for teams starting in the top corners is only six spaces away from a trigger point, meaning they'll be there in two turns with even the slowest characters. The bottom teams, meanwhile, are a minimum of 8 spaces away from any of them and up to 10, depending on which point they try for. (The portals don't help here.) That, too, is two turns of movement for characters with decent speed, but the top teams have a choice of any character to be the first in position to be beat upon in trying to hold the area, whereas the bottom teams often will have to send a weaker target. However, you can probably alleviate this little inequality with a character draft, rather than a random draw at the start (bottom positions draft first, etc.) Finally, the tactics cards are often so narrow in their application that I've had people express frustration to me with their questionable quality. From my perspective, you cycle through them so quickly that I don't tend to rely on taking advantage of them, preferring to rely on the abilities of my team to get me where I want to go. They're something of an extra in a game already replete with options.

Optimized 20200320 003952

The most notable thing about Tiny Epic Tactics, even in comparison to other games in the series, is the amount of game stuffed into the box. Most of the series has a lot of content, based on both size of the container and considering what you're paying for it. But even they don't offer the kind of buildout and variety that Tactics does. It's a really remarkable design in terms of production characteristics and it's always eye-catching at the table when people see me assembling the terrain for another game. While some may think they're averse to fighting games where knowing arcane rules for each character seems like a prerequisite, Tactics' game play is so smooth and easy that even people who avoid this style of game can be swayed until they realize they actually like it; not least because of the cool maps. And the cool, epic box.


Editor reviews

1 reviews

Rating 
 
4.5
Smooth easy play. Cool epic box.
J
Marc Reichardt  (He/Him)
Associate Writer

Marc started gaming at the age of 5 by beating everyone at Monopoly, but soon decided that Marxism, science fiction, and wargames were more interesting than money, so he opted for writing (and more games) while building political parties, running a comic studio, and following Liverpool. You can find him on Twitter @Jackwraith and lurking in other corners of the Interwebs.

image

Articles by Marc

Marc Reichardt
Staff Board Game Reviewer

Articles by Marc

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Log in to comment

Jexik's Avatar
Jexik replied the topic: #308491 23 Mar 2020 12:47
A friend of mine picked this up not too long ago, but I haven't tried it yet. (Too much Root going on). When I see him again we'll have to remedy this. Looks great!
Jackwraith's Avatar
Jackwraith replied the topic: #308492 23 Mar 2020 14:01
It's a very cool game, especially if you enjoy stuff like Final Fantasy Tactics or Funkoverse or League of Legends or other "arena"-type games where it's a set of characters bashing away at each other with an overarching goal. I'm used to the amount of game that Gamelyn can stuff into one of their boxes, but this one is king in that respect, I think. The 3D terrain concept is very smart.
Jexik's Avatar
Jexik replied the topic: #308526 24 Mar 2020 12:56
My problem with a lot of board games in the genre is that they get too complex for their own good. Anything more than Summoner Wars or Heroscape really ought to be a video game, it feels like. The clever box design and likely simplicity seems like it makes this one a winner.
Gary Sax's Avatar
Gary Sax replied the topic: #308527 24 Mar 2020 13:03
That distance difference between teams seems like a slightly surprising thing not to catch!

Good review.
Jackwraith's Avatar
Jackwraith replied the topic: #308531 24 Mar 2020 14:10
I think it may have been a design limitation problem. So, you're working with X amount of space inside the box and then X amount of usable space on the map and you have to figure out how to make all of those squares/rectangles work together and not seem too wonky (The bottom of the main box hangs off the map already.) I don't think it's a crippling flaw, since I've seen people lose from the top spots, including me. But it does always stick out to me when playing from the bottom spots if one of my tough guys (Warrior or Beast) is slow and I realize that I'm just not going to be able to make it to the gray or purple trigger spot as fast as my top-based opponents.

In the capture-the-flag mode, you can arrange the terrain any way you like, so that will obviously change things. Also, the terrain setups on the Wastelands and Winter maps are quite different, but we haven't played enough games on those for me to give a good idea of whether it's still problematic.
Jackwraith's Avatar
Jackwraith replied the topic: #308532 24 Mar 2020 14:19

Jexik wrote: My problem with a lot of board games in the genre is that they get too complex for their own good. Anything more than Summoner Wars or Heroscape really ought to be a video game, it feels like. The clever box design and likely simplicity seems like it makes this one a winner.


Yep. The overall rules are quite simple and, once you get a hang of the terrain rules (helpfully assisted by a player aid on the back of the rulebook), you'll be off and running. At that point, it's just three actions per round, go. There was a little bit of initial confusion on the part of the general audience because the rules say you can't take multiples of the same action with the same figure, but the way it was phrased was: "List of actions: Movement, Melee attack, Missile attack, Cast a Spell", as if the types of attack were distinct actions. But, no, its Wiz-War rules (attack once per turn), which it clarifies later in the rulebook. It probably would've been better as "List of actions: Move, Attack (melee, ranged, magic.) However, there is one (1) spell in the game that isn't an attack, so you could conceivably cast that spell and make a melee attack with that Mage, which is probably why they left "Spell" as a separate action, but later noted that you can only attack once.

So, a couple gray areas, but overall pretty straightforward.