Front Page

Content

Board Games

Forums

Site Tools

Submissions

About

You May Also Like...

W
We-reNotWizards
July 29, 2020
AL
Andi Lennon
July 29, 2020
T
thegiantbrain
July 28, 2020

Kemet - Review

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
July 27, 2020
MT
Matt Thrower
July 26, 2020

Play Matt: Miremarsh Review

Board Game Reviews
MB
Michael Barnes
July 23, 2020
O
oliverkinne
July 17, 2020
MB
Michael Barnes
July 16, 2020
AL
Andi Lennon
July 15, 2020
MT
Matt Thrower
July 13, 2020
O
oliverkinne
July 10, 2020
MB
Michael Barnes
July 09, 2020
AL
Andi Lennon
July 09, 2020
O
oliverkinne
July 03, 2020
MB
Michael Barnes
July 02, 2020

Pan Am Flies High - Review

Board Game Reviews
AL
Andi Lennon
July 02, 2020

Extra Credit Critic - Anomia Card Game Review

LS Updated May 13, 2020
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1482 0
Anomia Card Game

Game Information

Game Name
Publisher
Designer
Players
3 - 6
There Will Be Games

Anomia is a hilarious, fast paced card game that will entertain people of all ages.

Anomia consists of players taking turns drawing cards from a deck that sits in the middle of the playing area and placing those cards face up in front of themselves. Each card has a category on it, such as “Pie Flavor” or “Mythological Creature.”  They also have symbols on them, like a brown asterix or two purple lines. When two players have cards in front of them that have the same symbol on them, it becomes a “Face Off.” This means that, going with the example from before, the player who has the "Mythological Creature" card would have to say a pie flavor like “chocolate cream” before the other person, who has the "Pie Flavor" card, can say “Pegasus” or “Minotaur.” Whoever wins the face off gets the other person’s card to put in a pile of their own off to the side and when the deck is depleted the person with the most cards wins the game. 

However easy this may seem, it is most definitely not. I guarantee that the moment you get into a Face Off, the most basic knowledge will magically disappear from your brain. This makes for some funny situations ranging from two people screaming gibberish at each other in the hopes that something to do with the category will come out, to a perfectly capable adult yelling “Job!” when asked to name an occupation. Although it’s fun no matter what, I especially recommend playing with the same people multiple times because it can often lead to some great inside jokes. For example, I have a friend who called it the gnome game once and now that’s what everyone in my family calls it.

Another particularly amusing anomaly of Anomia is that, the vast majority of the time, kids will beat adults. Whether that is because kids are quicker or have better memories, it makes for a significant ruffling of many parents' competitive sides.

There are also wild cards in the deck to mix things up and a few extra decks that you can buy in a party pack if you get bored of the two in the regular version. Overall, I highly recommend this game, but warning, do not play it in a library!


Editor reviews

1 reviews

Rating 
 
4.0
Anomia Card Game
LS
1 reviews

About Extra Credit Critic

Extra Credit Critic features board game reviews and articles written by students (under 18) and published with permission from the student's parent(s).

Please show your support for these young writers and board gamers by leaving age appropriate comments.

If you are interested in submitting an Extra Credit Critic Review, please message us by clicking on the the red message icon in the upper corner of this box.  

About Extra Credit Critic

Extra Credit Critic features board game reviews and articles written by students (under 18) and published with permission from the student's parent(s).
Please show your support for these young writers and board gamers by leaving age appropriate comments.


If you are interested in submitting an Extra Credit Critic Review, please message us by clicking on the the red message icon in the upper corner of this box.  

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Log in to comment

engineer Al's Avatar
engineer Al replied the topic: #310227 12 May 2020 12:26
Great review Lucy. Thanks!
Nodens's Avatar
Nodens replied the topic: #310231 12 May 2020 13:23
'Job'. Hilarious. Great writing!
WadeMonnig's Avatar
WadeMonnig replied the topic: #310244 12 May 2020 22:15
Great job Lucy! My kids love this game. I always call it the polite persons worst nightmare where you try not to interrupt the other player as they stumble for a word. Great party fun!
Erik Twice's Avatar
Erik Twice replied the topic: #310247 13 May 2020 04:07
I don't know where this extra credit critic thing comes from but I love it! I think learning more about criticism can help students frame the world a bit better.

I appreciate that it's listed like a normal article, with the author's name and everything.
AnomiaPress's Avatar
AnomiaPress replied the topic: #310431 18 May 2020 16:40
Hey Lucy, this is Andrew Innes, I'm the creator of Anomia. Thanks so much for your review, I loved it!
Lucy Sabian's Avatar
Lucy Sabian replied the topic: #312461 24 Jul 2020 23:42
Thanks Al!
Lucy Sabian's Avatar
Lucy Sabian replied the topic: #312462 24 Jul 2020 23:44
Thanks so much!