Front Page

Content

Board Games

Forums

Site Tools

Submissions

About

You May Also Like...

AL
Andi Lennon
July 15, 2020
MT
Matt Thrower
July 13, 2020
O
oliverkinne
July 10, 2020
MB
Michael Barnes
July 09, 2020
AL
Andi Lennon
July 09, 2020
O
oliverkinne
July 03, 2020
MB
Michael Barnes
July 02, 2020

Pan Am Flies High - Review

Board Game Reviews
AL
Andi Lennon
July 02, 2020
W
WadeMonnig
July 01, 2020
MT
Matt Thrower
June 29, 2020
O
oliverkinne
June 26, 2020

Quadropolis Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
MB
Michael Barnes
June 25, 2020
T
thegiantbrain
June 25, 2020

Oceans Board Game - Review

Board Game Reviews
W
WadeMonnig
June 24, 2020
O
oliverkinne
June 19, 2020
MB
Michael Barnes
June 18, 2020

Kingdomino Board Game Review

O Updated June 08, 2020
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
804 0
Kingdomino (Saturday Review)

Game Information

Game Name
Players
2 - 4
There Will Be Games

Four mighty rulers compete to create the most wonderful dominion of them all. They stand proud at the top of their keep and survey the blank canvas of their lands below them. They want to create beautiful lakes full of fish to cater for many fishermen, large forests with mighty trees that will keep their many woodcutters supplied all year round, expansive meadows full of content sheep and happy farmers, giant fields bursting with healthy grain that hard-working millers will turn into flour in their many mills, expansive mines which overflow with precious ore and make the people rich and some wonderful swamp that... well... does something amazing too. Whoever creates the most productive realm will become the Kingdomino by Coiledspring Games.

Yes, it looks cute and is clearly aimed at the whole family - young and... well, ostly young. Bright colours, cartoon illustrations, very thick cardboard tiles that could almost withstand the chewing of a teething baby without a dent, a little 3D castle made out of four cardboard pieces stuck together and a rulebook that is desperately trying to look bigger than it needs to be, given that the game really only needs two rules.

At the time of writing, the complexity rating for this game on Board Game Geek was 1.21 out of 5. All you do in Kingdomino is place rectangular tiles in a Domino fashion, so that the touching ends of two dominos have the same land type on them. Easy. I mean, this is clearly a game for kids and cannot be taken seriously - or so it wants you to believe. Don't be fooled though.
First of all, you don't just take the dominos from a stack. You have to choose which of the available tiles you want to place on your next turn, which is fine - but the problem comes when you consider that you leave the other tiles for your opponents. Sure, there might be a great tile that fits perfectly into your kingdom, but the tiles you leave will give another player an even bigger lead. So you have to make sure that you don't just take the best domino for yourself, but take the one that would give an opponent the biggest advantage. Hate drafting comes to mind.

Of course, it's up to you how you play and it will depend on who you're playing with. It's just something to bear in mind, because even though a game of Kingdomino can be a lot of light fun, it can also turn into a spleen-venting contest with giant fans set to hurricane level.

Yet, playing the game purely by hate drafting will not give you a win. After all, if you use the additional rules, you aim to create a perfect 5x5 square realm with your castle bang in the centre, which gives you a juicy 15 points, which is probably a good 30-50% of your total points. You can really only achieve that if you choose tiles that fit your kingdom well, rather than denying others the tiles they need.

In fact, even if you play without the additional rules and aren't worried about gaining an extra 15 points at the end, you're going to lose out on point multipliers if you don't go for crowns that fit your kingdom and instead reserve a tile that will help your opponents. So playing your own little game and making the best realm you can is often the better plan - and it makes for a much more enjoyable experience for everyone.

I have now played the game many times, either just with my wife or my wife and daughter. In fact, our daughter requested we play it again on a few occasions, which is high praise indeed, given she is now a teenager for whom games are no longer anywhere the top 100 of things that interest her.
So, no, Kingdomino isn't only for children, even though it definitely can be. You can easily play it with an eight-year-old and have a fun time - but you can also play it with your friends, as it offers enough advance planning and thinking to give your brain cells a little workout, without draining you completely.

Kingdomino is definitely a game that we'll play again and again in the future. It's so quick to set up, the components are of amazing quality and the game plays in such a short time, that it's a great filler for any day and any time of day.


Editor reviews

1 reviews

Rating 
 
4.0
O
1 reviews
Oliver Kinne
Oliver Kinne
Associate Writer

Oliver Kinne aims to publish two new articles every week on his blog, Tabletop Games Blog, and also release both in podcast form. He reviews board games and writes about tabletop games related topics.

Oliver is also the co-host of the Tabletop Inquisition podcast, which releases a new episode every three to four weeks and tackles different issues facing board games, the people who play them and maybe their industry.

Articles by Oliver Kinne

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Log in to comment

Jexik's Avatar
Jexik replied the topic: #311001 08 Jun 2020 19:20
I love Kingdomino. I play it the most with my dad who's much older than 8.
dysjunct's Avatar
dysjunct replied the topic: #311003 08 Jun 2020 19:36
I found this to be almost not-a-game, even when playing with my kid.
RobertB's Avatar
RobertB replied the topic: #311007 09 Jun 2020 00:32

dysjunct wrote: I found this to be almost not-a-game, even when playing with my kid.

There's enough of a game there for me to lose regularly at it.
Jexik's Avatar
Jexik replied the topic: #311014 09 Jun 2020 13:19
The 2p 7x7 game is a blast. Need to get a pad of paper out to score at that point though.
oliverkinne's Avatar
oliverkinne replied the topic: #311353 24 Jun 2020 08:17
Thank you everyone for all the comments. It seems that everyone really enjoys Kingdomino for what it is, which is great.