Front Page

Content

Authors

Game Index

Forums

Site Tools

Submissions

About

You May Also Like...

MT
Matt Thrower
November 30, 2020
MB
mads b.
November 27, 2020
O
oliverkinne
November 27, 2020

Micro City Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
MB
Michael Barnes
November 26, 2020
AL
Andi Lennon
November 25, 2020
W
WadeMonnig
November 25, 2020
MT
Matt Thrower
November 24, 2020
GS
Gary Sax
November 23, 2020
Hot

Oath Pre-Review

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
November 20, 2020
W
WadeMonnig
November 18, 2020
M
mezike
November 16, 2020

Tavarua Review

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
November 13, 2020

Q.E. Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
MB
Michael Barnes
November 12, 2020
MT
Matt Thrower
November 08, 2020

Play Matt: Isle of Cats Review

Board Game Reviews

World of Tanks Starter Set Board Game Review

W Updated November 12, 2020
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
2074 1
X-wing......You magnificent bastard, I read your book! - World of Tanks Starter Set Board Game Review

Game Information

Players
2 - 4
There Will Be Games

X-wing......You magnificent bastard, I read your book!

We're gonna keep fighting. Is that CLEAR? We're gonna attack all night, we're gonna attack tomorrow morning. If we are not VICTORIOUS, let no man come back alive!

Be seated. Now, I want you to remember that no bastard ever won World of Tanks by dying for his country. He won it by making the other poor dumb bastard die for his country. Men, all this stuff you've heard about America not wanting to fight, wanting to stay out of the war, is a lot of horse dung. Some of us are just a bit...obsessive when it comes to these kind of games. Americans, traditionally, love to collect tiny pieces of plastic. All real Americans love the sting of battle and if we can scream “Give me all the stuff!” while we do it, it fuels our patriotic consumerism. And Galeforce 9 is abiding us with waves of additional tanks planned to add to this starter set.

When you were kids, you all admired Fantasy Flight's X-wing Star Wars miniatures game, but instead of a flighty Baa Baa Black Sheep game, we're playing in the big leagues: with the toughest medium-sized Tanks. Americans love a winner and will not tolerate a loser. We also like easy-to-pick up rule sets. That's why World of Tanks includes this big, honking arrow for movement. Americans play to win all the time. That is why we have the best tanks. (Okay, all the tank battles use a point system so that everyone is on a even playing field between different tanks and crew modifiers). Now, I wouldn't give a hoot in hell for a man who lost and laughed...but it does make for a more satisfying gaming experience. That's why Americans have never lost and will never lose a war. Because the very thought of losing is hateful to Americans. A simple Movement Phase, Shooting Phase, and Command Phase is all you will need to understand to go forth to victory.

Now, an army is a team. It lives, eats, sleeps, fights as a team. That is why you'll find crew cards to enhance your tank. Hell, the Brits even have a pudding and tea advantage card. This individuality stuff is a bunch of crap. The bilious bastards who wrote that stuff about individuality for Therewillbe.games don't know anything more about real battle than they do about fornicating. One of the joys of World Of Tanks Miniatures Game is that, instead of wondering what the hell your teammates are thinking and if their mic is muted, you can simply lean over and ask them “What the Hell are you doing?!?”

Now, we have the finest custom dice, we have pre-assembled painted tanks, the best spirit, and the finest crew and equipment cards in the world. You know, by God, I actually pity those poor bastards we're going up against. By God, I do. We're not just going to shoot the bastards. We're going to cut out their living guts and use them to grease the treads of our tanks. I'm pretty sure there is a critical hit card for that. We're going to murder those lousy Hun bastards by the bushel.

Now, some of you boys, I know, are wondering whether or not you'll chicken-out under fire. Don't worry about it. I can assure you that you will all do your duty. It doesn't matter if you are playing Assault, Encounter, Capture the Base or Free-for-all Mode. The Nazis are the enemy. Wade into them. Spill their blood. Shoot them in the ammo supply. Cause a critical hit. When you put your hand into a bunch of plastic that a moment before was your best friend's tank, you'll know what to do.

Now, there's another thing I want you to remember. I don't want to get any messages saying that we are holding our position. We're not holding anything I don't care what Mode we are playing, Let the Hun do that. We are advancing constantly and we're not interested in holding onto anything -- except the enemy. We're going to point that arrow at his nose, and we're gonna kick him in the ass. We're gonna kick the hell out of him all the time (when we have proper line-of-sight), and we're gonna go through him like crap through a goose!

Now, there's one thing that you men will be able to say when you get back home, and you may thank God for it. Thirty years from now when you're sitting around your fireside with your grandson on your knee, and he asks you, "What did you do in the great World of Tanks Miniature Game?" -- you won't have to say, "Well, I shoveled shit in Louisiana."

Alright now you sons-of-bitches,You know how I feel. Oh, I will be proud to lead you wonderful guys into battle anytime, anywhere...as long as the gaming table is big enough.

That is all.

A review copy of this release was provided by the publisher.

Photos

X-wing......You magnificent bastard, I read your book! - World of Tanks Starter Set Board Game Review
X-wing......You magnificent bastard, I read your book! - World of Tanks Starter Set Board Game Review
X-wing......You magnificent bastard, I read your book! - World of Tanks Starter Set Board Game Review

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Rating 
 
4.0
World of Tanks Miniatures Game
We're gonna keep fighting. Is that CLEAR? We're gonna attack all night, we're gonna attack tomorrow morning. If we are not VICTORIOUS, let no man come back alive!
Wade Monnig  (He/Him)
Staff Board Game Reviewer

In west Saint Louis born and raised
Playing video games is where I spent most of my days
Strafing, Dashing, Adventuring and Looting
Writing reviews between all the Shooting
When a couple of guys reminded me what was so good
About playing games with cardboard and Wood,
Collecting Victory Points and those Miniatures with Flair
It’s not as easy as you think to rhyme with Bel Air.

Wade is the former editor in chief for Silicon Magazine and former senior editor for Gamearefun.com. He currently enjoys his games in the non-video variety, where the odds of a 14 year old questioning the legitimacy of your bloodline is drastically reduced.

“I’ll stop playing as Black when they invent a darker color.”

Articles by Wade

Wade Monnig
Staff Board Game Reviewer

Articles by Wade

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Log in to comment

WadeMonnig's Avatar
WadeMonnig replied the topic: #315629 28 Oct 2020 08:05
Context
Jackwraith's Avatar
Jackwraith replied the topic: #315630 28 Oct 2020 09:09
OK. But is there a weather prayer card?

Sounds awesome... but collectible. Nein. Verboten.
Sagrilarus's Avatar
Sagrilarus replied the topic: #315632 28 Oct 2020 09:34
I appreciate your art in this review, but you didn't speak much to the feel of the game. Is this like X-Wing where your opponent can barrel-roll out of your shot and the work you did teeing them up is canceled by a tactical get-out-of-jail-free technicality after the fact? X-Wing always felt like I was playing against Mitch McConnell.

Because tanks are lumbering things even on a good day. It seems to me this should be more of a stand-and-deliver sort of game. That doesn't sound terribly dynamic to me unless you have a lot of small pieces to configure to make the game interesting, either within the tank or with a dozen of them to choose from. Sounds like more of a Sails of Glory kind of play than an X-Wing, and Sails of Glory doesn't come alive until you have four on a side or more.

Example -- "pinning" a tank with small fire was Allied best practice. Is that kind of thing in the game? Ammunition selection and the like? I'm not expecting a sim, but if this is tank on tank (instead of squad on squad like Memoir and the like) shooting at each other could get pretty doggone tedious.
WadeMonnig's Avatar
WadeMonnig replied the topic: #315636 28 Oct 2020 10:58
I'll expand a bit when I'm not on my phone but it's more of an arcade feel. Throw some power ups on a tank, some easy to grasp rules, movement makes you harder to hit but also makes it harder for you to fire, everyone rolls some dice, some hits get canceled, some cause a critical hit.
engineer Al's Avatar
engineer Al replied the topic: #315660 28 Oct 2020 19:43
Wow, I was heavily addicted to this video game for a long while. I should probably stay FAR away from this...
fightcitymayor's Avatar
fightcitymayor replied the topic: #315686 29 Oct 2020 09:11
This is Battlefront/GF9's previous "Tanks" game re-branded with the World Of Tanks presentation. So there's less historical interest, and more tilt towards the online game, particularly with the new visual style. And now the tanks come pre-assembled & primed in color, where they used to come on sprues (as they are the same as Battlefront's Flames Of War tanks.)

p.s.
I have this brand new World Of Tanks starter plus all 4 Wave-1 tanks (also brand new) that I would be willing to trade for something Mantic-related. If anyone is keen to try it out themselves.
ubarose's Avatar
ubarose replied the topic: #315688 29 Oct 2020 09:25
Is this the "Penetration!" and "We didn't even scratch them" game?
WadeMonnig's Avatar
WadeMonnig replied the topic: #315709 29 Oct 2020 15:11

ubarose wrote: Is this the "Penetration!" and "We didn't even scratch them" game?

Spoken like a long suffering spouse whose significant other played lots of WOT. "Can you at least turn off the quips?"
(Yes, it is that game)
Michael Barnes's Avatar
Michael Barnes replied the topic: #315712 29 Oct 2020 15:46
I’ve got a review coming on this as well. I like it a lot- it’s extremely simple- simpler than X-Wing. It’s basically a B&P tank game, not a WWII armor sim with virtually all the detail handled with upgrade cards. It is basically Tanks rebooted with 1 (one) big rules addition for being hull down.

I especially like that it is ahistorical. You can field whatever you want, it’s just about the tanks. It’s basically Atari 2600 Combat as a table top game.
drewcula's Avatar
drewcula replied the topic: #315778 30 Oct 2020 16:36

fightcitymayor wrote: This is Battlefront/GF9's previous "Tanks" game re-branded with the World Of Tanks presentation. So there's less historical interest, and more tilt towards the online game, particularly with the new visual style. And now the tanks come pre-assembled & primed in color, where they used to come on sprues (as they are the same as Battlefront's Flames Of War tanks.)

p.s.
I have this brand new World Of Tanks starter plus all 4 Wave-1 tanks (also brand new) that I would be willing to trade for something Mantic-related. If anyone is keen to try it out themselves.


PM sent
jason10mm's Avatar
jason10mm replied the topic: #315787 31 Oct 2020 09:55

Michael Barnes wrote: I’ve got a review coming on this as well. I like it a lot- it’s extremely simple- simpler than X-Wing. It’s basically a B&P tank game, not a WWII armor sim with virtually all the detail handled with upgrade cards. It is basically Tanks rebooted with 1 (one) big rules addition for being hull down.

I especially like that it is ahistorical. You can field whatever you want, it’s just about the tanks. It’s basically Atari 2600 Combat as a table top game.


You think they will stick with WW2 era stuff? I don't really follow WoT to know if they have more modern machines but even with the plethora of different models available across the spectrum of WW2 it seems like moving up to Korea and the 60's/70's at least would add a lot of desired and familiar models for a minis game. Not sure if they would even care to accurately model the tech differences or whatnot.
WadeMonnig's Avatar
WadeMonnig replied the topic: #315794 31 Oct 2020 17:28

jason10mm wrote:

Michael Barnes wrote: I’ve got a review coming on this as well. I like it a lot- it’s extremely simple- simpler than X-Wing. It’s basically a B&P tank game, not a WWII armor sim with virtually all the detail handled with upgrade cards. It is basically Tanks rebooted with 1 (one) big rules addition for being hull down.

I especially like that it is ahistorical. You can field whatever you want, it’s just about the tanks. It’s basically Atari 2600 Combat as a table top game.


You think they will stick with WW2 era stuff? I don't really follow WoT to know if they have more modern machines but even with the plethora of different models available across the spectrum of WW2 it seems like moving up to Korea and the 60's/70's at least would add a lot of desired and familiar models for a minis game. Not sure if they would even care to accurately model the tech differences or whatnot.

I'll have to pull out the wave 1 thru 4 sheet they included but i know they have two already announced:
www.gf9games.com/worldoftanks/772/headin...3-lee-and-valentine/
Michael Barnes's Avatar
Michael Barnes replied the topic: #315801 01 Nov 2020 00:03
Jason, the video game has a Space Marine Predator and I think one other 40K tank so who knows!
jason10mm's Avatar
jason10mm replied the topic: #315810 01 Nov 2020 09:59
A collectible(?) minis game model is gonna have to work a bit differently than a video game I think. If they branch out into all of the tank destroyers and various other artillery pieces and infantry fighting vehicles they can stay in WW2 forever, but if the focus is tanks tanks tanks then the well is somewhat limited. IIRC they don't have to license the visual likeness of modern US military equipment since it is all taxpayer funded (probably the same for all major armed forces) so the sky is the limit until they get to the experimental stuff.

There is a "World of Battleships" video game as well, right? THAT would be an interesting one, I don't think there is an arcadey 20th century ship fighting game since.....Carrier Strike maybe? Even Hunt for Red October was surprisingly realistic feeling. Tough to do good minis for those though I imagine.
Sevej's Avatar
Sevej replied the topic: #316100 12 Nov 2020 01:21
Well, it's more of an issue with World of Tank. I know they have entire game with modern machines (which have 2 or 3 different depictions of Abrams) called Team Yankee.

I got into painting Flames of War this year, and already own entire company of Shermans with M4, M4A1 and M4A3 types all mixed up.