Front Page

Content

Authors

Game Index

Forums

Site Tools

Submissions

About

You May Also Like...

O
oliverkinne
February 01, 2023
O
oliverkinne
January 30, 2023

Soulaween Review

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
January 27, 2023
O
oliverkinne
January 26, 2023

Aves Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
T
thegiantbrain
January 23, 2023

Hardback Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
January 20, 2023

Outpost 18 Review

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
January 05, 2023

Villagers Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
T
thegiantbrain
December 29, 2022
W
We-reNotWizards
December 28, 2022
O
oliverkinne
December 26, 2022

Plutocracy Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
December 23, 2022
T
thegiantbrain
December 21, 2022

Tigris & Euphrates - Review

Board Game Reviews
W
We-reNotWizards
December 21, 2022
O
oliverkinne
December 20, 2022
O
oliverkinne
December 05, 2022
W
WadeMonnig
November 28, 2022

Set A Course. For Home- Star Trek: Voyager Fluxx Board Game Review

Hot
W Updated December 09, 2020
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
3753 1
Set a course. For Home- Star Trek: Voyager Fluxx Board Game Review

Game Information

Publisher
Players
2 - 6
There Will Be Games

Turn up the Fluxx Capacitor three more Doritos! (Checks to make sure mashing Rocky Horror and Star Trek together hasn't created a catastrophic energy wave and catapulted any ships into the Delta Quadrant...nah, we're good).

Janeway: Was there something else?
Chakotay: Yes. Like it or not, it seems we're in a situation where the rules have changed. And maybe, if we're going to survive out here, we have to start changing too.

The game of ever-changing rules and goals colliding with the Star Trek: Voyager franchise was easy to see coming, even if your sensor array was down. Using the same art style and look of the other Star Trek Fluxx releases, Voyager finally has it's turn to get the Looney Labs treatment (Slightly ironic since Voyager actually has an episode titled “State of Flux”).

Whenever I play Star Trek: Voyager, I always try to get the Seven of Nine Keeper, for the simple reason that I just dig her sexy Darth Vader-type vibe. And that is part of the fun of the intellectual property versions of Fluxx, it is really not going to hinder you if you play favorites. If I want to seek out the Hologram Doctor so that I am required to say “Please state the nature of your medical emergency” every time I play it in front of myself, I can.
Sexy of Nine

Star Trek: Voyager Fluxx “suffers” from this same issue as the Doctor Who Fluxx game: There are just so many characters included. (Which is kind of strange because I don't get that feeling with, say, Firefly Fluxx). Of course, all of those keepers allows it to hit on many of the high points of the series: Future Janeway and the appearance of the finest organic suspension ever devised all made me smile.
Future

Is there such a thing as an Overpowered Fluxx card? This release actually made me ask that question. If you have the transporter keeper card and the action card “Beam us up!” comes up, you get to put EVERY crew card on the table into your hand. Of course, having rules like Only Three Keepers on the table or a hand limit restriction can lessen the blow of this “Fluxx” when it occurs. Still, having almost a dozen keepers in front of myself after nailing this felt a bit off. Also, the rule that states that Creepers don't stop you from winning has the same general feeling of OP but, in that case, it is a rule that impacts everyone equally.
Ancestors Day

If you are a fan of Fluxx and Fluxx's ever-changing rule set, Star Trek:Voyager Fluxx will slide effortlessly into your collection. Combine it with the original Star Trek Fluxx and Star Trek: TNG Fluxx to recreate those one-shot cross-overs. Hell, combine it with Deep Space Nine Fluxx for that crossover no one ever wanted. Love it or hate it, it's still Fluxx...only powered by the adventures of the USS Voyager.

 

A review copy of this release was provided by the publisher.

Photos

Set a course. For Home- Star Trek: Voyager Fluxx Board Game Review
Set a course. For Home- Star Trek: Voyager Fluxx Board Game Review
Set a course. For Home- Star Trek: Voyager Fluxx Board Game Review

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Rating 
 
3.5
Star Trek: Voyager Fluxx
If you are a fan of Fluxx and Fluxx's ever-changing rule set, Star Trek: Voyager Fluxx will slide effortlessly into your collection. Combine it with the original Star Trek Fluxx and Star Trek: TNG Fluxx to recreate those one-shot cross-overs. Hell, combine it with Deep Space Nine Fluxx for that crossover no one ever wanted. Love it or hate it, it's still Fluxx...only powered by the adventures of the USS Voyager.
Wade Monnig  (He/Him)
Staff Board Game Reviewer

In west Saint Louis born and raised
Playing video games is where I spent most of my days
Strafing, Dashing, Adventuring and Looting
Writing reviews between all the Shooting
When a couple of guys reminded me what was so good
About playing games with cardboard and Wood,
Collecting Victory Points and those Miniatures with Flair
It’s not as easy as you think to rhyme with Bel Air.

Wade is the former editor in chief for Silicon Magazine and former senior editor for Gamearefun.com. He currently enjoys his games in the non-video variety, where the odds of a 14 year old questioning the legitimacy of your bloodline is drastically reduced.

“I’ll stop playing as Black when they invent a darker color.”

Articles by Wade

Wade Monnig
Staff Board Game Reviewer

Articles by Wade

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Log in to comment