Front Page

Content

Authors

Game Index

Forums

Site Tools

Submissions

About

You May Also Like...

AL
Andi Lennon
January 20, 2021
W
WadeMonnig
January 20, 2021
M
MarkusButticus
January 19, 2021
MT
Matt Thrower
January 18, 2021
O
oliverkinne
January 15, 2021

Tinderblox Review

Board Game Reviews
MB
Michael Barnes
January 14, 2021
MT
Matt Thrower
January 10, 2021

Play Matt: Inkling Review

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
January 08, 2021

Oath

Board Game Reviews
MB
Michael Barnes
January 07, 2021
AL
Andi Lennon
January 07, 2021
W
WadeMonnig
January 06, 2021
MT
Matt Thrower
January 04, 2021

Play Matt: Paleo Review

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
January 01, 2021
AL
Andi Lennon
December 16, 2020

Blood Bowl Season 2 Gets Blitzed - Review

MB Updated December 07, 2020
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
1556 0
Blood Bowl Season 2 Gets Blitzed - Review

Game Information

Game Name
Players
2 - 2
There Will Be Games

The biggest name in fantasy sporting is back.

After some wilderness years relegated to “cult” status with only a couple of decent but somewhat flakey video games carrying the torch, Games Workshop gave the classic Blood Bowl a new lease on life back in 2016. It was fun, and it was great to see the premiere name in fantasy football back on the pitch. But it was also, even four years ago, somewhat behind the times. It felt a little too old fashioned, a little too cumbersome, and a little too archaic. And much too long. Granted, longtime Blood Bowlers didn’t mind all of the above too much and they certainly won’t mind that the newly released Second Season Edition retains many of those qualities, albeit with some nods toward streamlining.

The new box is, as we expect after a few years of stunning Games Workshop boxes, stunning. Featuring an entirely new illustration style that’s more comic book than faux Renaissance, the whole package just looks amazing. The Official Rules book is an absolute delight, with page after page of awesome layout and artwork (as well as one disturbing pic of a Chaos cheerleader). There’s tons of fun lore including the history of Blood Bowl and of course Cabalvision commentators Jim Johnson and Bob Bifford put in their obligatory appearance. It’s a neat book to leaf through, well-written and presenting the really quite complicated rules in an efficient manner.

The models are absolute knockouts. I don’t say this lightly- the Black Orks team may be the best Orks that Citadel has ever turned out. The team also includes some wonderful Goblins and an absolutely incredible-looking Star Player in Varag Ghoul-Chewer. The opposition is a human team that is thankfully not a repeat of the ol’ Reikland Reavers team from 2016 – this time out it’s the Bogenhafen Barons decked out in Imperial finery that includes some massive plumage. They get Blood Bowl superstar Griff Oberwald as their Star Player. I really like that the set comes with a couple of Big ‘Uns (a Troll and an Ogre) as well as a couple of referee models (Dwarf and Elf), as these give some previously “sold separately” options right out of the box.

Now, as for the game- it’s Blood Bowl alright. And that means that it is in 2020 too old fashioned, too cumbersome, and too archaic. Just like it was in 2016. There are some definitely-for-the-better refinements and some revisions befitting a second edition, but only longtime players are going to notice or even care that they are there. I had to look on the Warhammer Community Web site to see what was different and sort of just nodded affirmatively at the changes – they are good design. But from what I understand, some oldtimers have gotten fussy about the changes, as they do.

For those completely new to this game, I think this box set may prove to be quite daunting, especially for those born after average game lengths across the hobby started to shift away from “all day” toward “under two hours”. This is a very complex game with lots of detail- there’s weather, referee inducements, cheerleaders, kick-off effects, pre-game sequences, post-game sequences, injuries, coaching, arguing foul calls, and a whole battery of special abilities. And this is without figuring in the intricacies of running a multiplayer season, a campaign in which a group of folks play scheduled games and manage their teams over time, hiring players and developing their skills if they manage to stay alive. It’s really quite a feat that everything fits in 130 pages including all the lore and such.

Granted, a lot of the detail – which can be extremely fun because that’s where Blood Bowl really shines – comes across in rolling against tables and dealing with random results. Make no mistake, despite the fact that Blood Bowl is a very strategic and sometimes quite compelling game that finds you navigating tackle zones, setting up defensive screens, and leveraging player abilties to maximum effect, it ultimately all comes down to the will of Nuffle. Which means, rollin’ the dice. Blood Bowl is, always has been, and hopefully always will be a capriciously fickle game where a bad die roll can turn even the most ironclad strategy, even the most meticulously planned-out drive, into an unexpected turnover.

I’ve found that element sometimes shocks new players, especially in today’s gaming environment where many players are expected to have their strategies or even the fact that they are even playing the game at all rewarded with success. Nope. Not here. At its heart, Blood Bowl is really just a big, massive press-your-luck game where the strategy is as much about learning which sequence to move your players and when to take a risky roll as it is about tactical decision making.

As a box set, ostensibly one that could be used to introduce new players to the game, I’m not sure Season 2 is really up to the task. It throws a lot of game at the player up front. There is no “quick start” game, there is no suggestion to maybe don’t play with all of the rules in your first game. Having played before, even I was sort of overwhelmed by it. For the veterans, this is all a rock-solid update that should keep the game fresh for years to come, along with some awesome new models and an updated pitch. This is good for them, but for the newcomers, I’m not so sure.

Now, I’ve made it to about 900 words without dropping the bomb on Blood Bowl Season 2 and since I’m essentially talking about accessibility here, it’s time. Blood Bowl Season 2 has a big problem – Blitz Bowl.

Blitz Bowl, designed by James Hewitt (who also worked on the 2016 edition), is a ruthlessly streamlined version of Blood Bowl that captures the spirit of the game and its highlights in a 30-45 minute package. It is not as detailed. It does not support long-term campaign play as well. It does not dig into the “Football Manager” area of the game. But it is, for me, the best sports games that I have ever played and when I want to play Blood Bowl, it is what I reach for because it’s simply more playable and more immediately engaging. It sets up in less than five minutes and can be taught in ten. It has all of the bone-crunching action as well as the do-or-die press-your-luck rolls. It has the strategic elements in place. It even has all of the Blood Bowl teams available, barring some of the newer ones that I hope will be added in time.

I think Games Workshop views Blitz Bowl largely as an introductory product to entice players into the larger Blood Bowl ecosystem and that is fine, but doing so completely short-changes the quality and value of that exceptional game. It’s far more approachable, modern, and ultimately marketable in today’s hobby games space but it’s been sort of hobbled by weird availability (it was only available at US Barnes and Noble stores until recently). I’m of the opinion that Blitz Bowl should be GW’s flagship sports title and it should all the support, relegating Blood Bowl to a Horus Heresy-like Forge World setting so that those who want the bigger, more robust game have access to it.

It's also a missed opportunity in this box to not have Blitz Bowl stat cards for the included teams, as well as rules for the referees, star players, and big ‘uns. I’d love to see them added to Blitz Bowl. Maybe we’ll see that happen in a White Dwarf.

So in the end, my feelings toward this set are very mixed. I was thrilled to see the big box show up courtesy Warhammer Community for purposes of this review and I was excited to dig into it. But it all just reminded me that I have a couple of Blitz Bowl teams I need to put together and it sparked a series of matches of that game – not Blood Bowl- with my son over the Thanksgiving break. I think what it comes down to is that what Blood Bowl is offering at this point is more than I need, while Blitz Bowl gives me exactly what I want. Others may find the exact opposite situation, and for those folks this is definitely another top notch set from Nottingham.


Editor reviews

1 reviews

Rating 
 
3.5
Blood Bowl Season 2
A bigger, more complex version of the best sports game ever made, Blitz Bowl.
MB
Top 10 Reviewer 137 reviews
Michael Barnes (He/Him)
Senior Board Game Reviews Editor

Sometime in the early 1980s, MichaelBarnes’ parents thought it would be a good idea to buy him a board game to keep him busy with some friends during one of those high-pressure, “free” timeshare vacations. It turned out to be a terrible idea, because the game was TSR’s Dungeon! - and the rest, as they say, is history. Michael has been involved with writing professionally about games since 2002, when he busked for store credit writing for Boulder Games’ newsletter. He has written for a number of international hobby gaming periodicals and popular Web sites. From 2004-2008, he was the co-owner of Atlanta Game Factory, a brick-and-mortar retail store. He is currently the co-founder of FortressAT.com and Nohighscores.com as well as the Editor-in-Chief of Miniature Market’s Review Corner feature. He is married with two childen and when he’s not playing some kind of game he enjoys stockpiling trivial information about music, comics and film.

Articles by Michael

Michael Barnes
Senior Board Game Reviews Editor

Articles by Michael

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Log in to comment

Gary Sax's Avatar
Gary Sax replied the topic: #316914 08 Dec 2020 09:49
I'm glad you addressed the Blitz Bowl thing head on. It's basically the big question anyone who isn't already a diehard is going to be thinking about if they're considering the purchase.
the_jake_1973's Avatar
the_jake_1973 replied the topic: #316927 08 Dec 2020 13:20
After decent years of a computer version, it would take so much for me to sit down to an analog version. I'm also in the camp of not liking some of the rule changes. Blitz Bowl is definitely on the 'To Buy' list.
Cambyses's Avatar
Cambyses replied the topic: #316931 08 Dec 2020 14:48
I agree that the computer version has rendered the tabletop version of Blood Bowl more or less irrelevant unless you are lucky enough to live near an active and thriving tabletop league. Most of the "true blood bowlers" have been playing on Fumbbl for over a decade, anyways.

I consider myself in that group, by the way. I've done a lot of Fumbbl and been playing since I was in middle school, over twenty years ago. By all accounts, this new edition is doing what so many e-sports companies like to do: change the meta to inject some energy into the game. Only time can tell whether the rules changes are overall good or bad, but I think it's good that they are changing, since LRP6/CRP blood bowl was a mostly solved problem set.

It seems, though, like this debate over Blitz vs. Blood for the "best Bowl" kind of misses the point, or rather, ignores that these are games aimed at two different user bases. Blitz Bowl strikes me as specifically for the people who want to play a sports board game. Done in an hour or so, thanks very much, put it back in the box.

Blood Bowl isn't about the match, it's about the league. The season. Without a dedicated league structure, in my opinion there is NO point in playing a single game of Blood Bowl. It makes total sense to me that most people would want Blitz Bowl, and that's probably as it should be. But in the same way Advanced Squad Leader sits there on the horizon for anyone who says "Sure, I like Combat Commander, but I'm really looking for MORE", so Blood Bowl can lie, tantalizing anyone who likes Blitz Bowl enough. I don't think it is ever going to have as big of an appeal, in the same way that sports cars don't move as many units as Toyota Camrys do. Maybe only 30 people buy the new Supra in your city this year (or show up to the annual ASL event) but it sits there as a "halo car" to get people excited about getting a Toyota.

But who knows, Games Workshop has never really shown themselves to understand market forces in the past, so maybe I am giving them too much benefit of the doubt. A dedicated boardgamer interested in the concept of fantasy football would almost definitely take to Blitz Bowl over Blood Bowl, for sure, as Barnes and others have pointed out.
the_jake_1973's Avatar
the_jake_1973 replied the topic: #316936 08 Dec 2020 17:24
Did you ever use Ski's javanet client for PBeM? Like the MBBL league? I remember using that before FUMMBL really took off.
Michael Barnes's Avatar
Michael Barnes replied the topic: #316937 08 Dec 2020 18:47
Cambyses you make an -excellent- point here. You are exactly right, a one off game ofnBlood Bowl is practically pointless and it also misses the point. Blood Bowl is fundamentally a campaign game. Maybe GW should market it as an”Legacy game” LOL.

I do like the video game but it is just flakey. There is a third one coming out, perhaps it will have some improvements. But yes, if I want to play “full” Blood Bowl...that’s the way to go for sure.
drewcula's Avatar
drewcula replied the topic: #316939 08 Dec 2020 21:29
Broken record Drew here, just popping in to say...

DREADBALL.

Not as pretty as GW's Blood Bowl or Blitz Bowl, but DreadBall is still heavily influenced by the design hand of James Hewitt (plus Jake Thornton, Stewart Gibbs, and some other blokes...).

League play? Check. Multiplayer? Check. Illegal underground violent variant? Check. Wonky British production and distribution? Check.

Another good review Michael. As a semi-retired Blood Bowl coach, I prefer to paint GW teams more so than play 'em nowadays. I agree 100% about one-off games. I've even soured on the Blood Bowl tournament scene. The level of competitiveness for a game devoted to Nuffle is just a turn off. League play is the OG legacy board game experience. I mean, miniature legacy game disguised as a board game.

But still. DreadBall.