Front Page

Content

Authors

Game Index

Forums

Site Tools

Submissions

About

You May Also Like...

O
oliverkinne
June 11, 2021

Luzon Rails

Board Game Reviews
A
adamr
June 08, 2021
D
DavidNorris
June 08, 2021
O
oliverkinne
June 04, 2021

Dokojong Review

Board Game Reviews
D
DavidNorris
May 31, 2021
O
oliverkinne
May 29, 2021
AL
Andi Lennon
May 27, 2021

Sekigahara - Tokugawa Rides Out

Board Game Reviews
W
We-reNotWizards
May 27, 2021
A
adamr
May 26, 2021
J
Jackwraith
May 24, 2021
O
oliverkinne
May 21, 2021

In a Grove Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
May 14, 2021
T
thegiantbrain
May 13, 2021

Medium Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
May 12, 2021

Canvas Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
A
adamr
May 11, 2021

Ragusa - Punchboard Reviews

Board Game Reviews
MB
Michael Barnes
May 07, 2021

Klask

O Updated January 25, 2021
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
1247 0
Klask

Game Information

Game Name
Publisher
Players
2 - 2
There Will Be Games

I could hear screeching tyres and gunshots coming from video game machines, the melodic sounds of fruit machines and some general hubbub of laughter, talking and other noise. I was standing at one end of the air hockey table, with my opponent on the other side. Yet, even though it felt like we were at some sort of amusement arcade, we were both at home and hadn't left the house. We were just about to play a game of Klask.

I know, you're probably thinking that I'm stretching the meaning of tabletop game, but as Klask clearly sits on top of a table and it's a game, I think it fits perfectly. It's a wonderful game of fast reflexes, a good eye and just having lots of fun. If you have ever played air hockey, then you will immediately understand how Klask works.

The aim of the game is to use your striker to manoeuvre a little ball into the opponent's goal, which is a small, circular indentation at their end of the table. It's not quite that easy though, as there are many ways to lose yourself, before you get anywhere near scoring yourself. If you ever lose control of your striker, or when your striker ends up in your own goal circle, or when you pick up two of the three small "biscuits", as the white obstacles are called in the game, your opponent scores instead.

Also, you have a magnetic peg that you hold underneath the table and that controls the plastic striker on top of the table. If you're too forceful, the striker can easily come off and fly across the table, losing you one point. Also, because the "biscuits" are magnetic too, they can easily be picked up by your striker. It's really quite difficult to do it right and try and score a goal while avoiding losing a point yourself.

In fact, a good strategy to score is nudging the biscuits into your opponent's half of the table, making it harder for them to manoeuvre and making it more likely that they pick up two biscuits and lose a point.

Now, I said that Klask is about having fun and of course it is, but there are a lot of people who do take it very seriously, with competitions being held in many countries around the world. Yet, when I played it with my wife and daughter, we quickly decided to just enjoy it and not take it too seriously.

There is one thing we decide to change though. The plastic ball that you're supposed to use is just not practical. Unless you have a completely level table, the ball constantly rolls away, making it very hard to play the game. So we decided to replace it with a 1 Pound coin, which functions more like a puck. It's a good size and weight and it slides nicely across the smooth surface, so is a perfect replacement for casual play.

Other than that, Klask is a really high quality product. The table is heavy and sturdy, with nice rubber feet that keep it in place as you play. The magnets are amazingly strong and everything feels really good. It's definitely worth the money, if you want to experience air hockey at home without having to buy a full-size table. Klask is small enough to fit onto any kitchen table or even coffee table.

I don't think there is much else to say about the game. It's a lot fun and the closest you get to feeling like you've gone to your local amusement arcade without actually leaving the house.


Editor reviews

1 reviews

Rating 
 
3.0
Klask
Klask is a lot fun and the closest you get to feeling like you've gone to your local amusement arcade without actually leaving the house.
O
Oliver Kinne
Oliver Kinne (He/Him)
Associate Writer

Oliver Kinne aims to publish two new articles every week on his blog, Tabletop Games Blog, and also release both in podcast form. He reviews board games and writes about tabletop games related topics.

Oliver is also the co-host of the Tabletop Inquisition podcast, which releases a new episode every three to four weeks and tackles different issues facing board games, the people who play them and maybe their industry.

Articles by Oliver Kinne

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Log in to comment

drewcula's Avatar
drewcula replied the topic: #318334 25 Jan 2021 12:07
What a lovely surprise review!
It's nice to see this game get some love.
Klask is a great dexterity offering. Great design. Great production. Great fun!

I suppose I could quibble about the score tracking slot and its tendency to shed wood shavings. But that's pretty minor.

On occasion, I think about the four player version. But it just seems so large...
the_jake_1973's Avatar
the_jake_1973 replied the topic: #318339 25 Jan 2021 15:00
I would think that using the coin instead of the ball makes shunting the biscuits onto the opponent's striker a little more difficult. You may be better served putting the coin under the board to level it.

This is an awesome game and I hope that tourneys start up at the local breweries again sometime soon.