Front Page

Content

Authors

Game Index

Forums

Site Tools

Submissions

About

You May Also Like...

D
DavidNorris
September 16, 2021

Quick, Simple Fun: High Society

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
September 10, 2021

Karuba Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
D
DavidNorris
September 09, 2021
A
adamr
September 08, 2021

Mariposas - a Punchboard Review

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
September 03, 2021

Earthenwar Review

Board Game Reviews
D
DavidNorris
September 02, 2021
MB
Michael Barnes
August 30, 2021
Hot

The Ascent of Descent - Review

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
August 27, 2021

March on the Drina Review

Board Game Reviews
D
DavidNorris
August 26, 2021

Red Rising, Red Falling

Board Game Reviews
A
adamr
August 25, 2021
O
oliverkinne
August 20, 2021

15 Days Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
MB
Michael Barnes
August 19, 2021
D
DavidNorris
August 19, 2021
O
oliverkinne
August 18, 2021
MT
Matt Thrower
August 12, 2021

Play Matt: Bullet♥︎ Review

Board Game Reviews
D
DavidNorris
August 12, 2021

Fantasy Fluxx Board Game Review

W Updated March 03, 2021
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
2242 0
Fantasy Fluxx Board Game Review

Game Information

Game Name
Publisher
Players
2 - 6
There Will Be Games

When I first saw Fantasy Fluxx, the first think I thought was “Well, there you have it, we've reached maximum Fluxx.” Cthulhu Fluxx? Check. Zombie Fluxx? Affirmative. I guess it was only a matter of time before we received a generic Fantasy Fluxx.

And, yes, you'll find a bunch of the Fantasy tropes in Fantasy Fluxx in the form of Keepers (the cards you need to collect to win): The Helpful Elf, The Dwarven Warrior, and the Wise Old Wizard. But Looney Labs mines our nostalgia in all the right ways. Take some of the Goals (the combination of cards that it takes to win a game): They are a plethora of “Oh, I get that reference!” masterpieces.

What about Second Breakfast!
The Wand Chooses the Wizard
I Drink and I Know Things
I'll Most Likely Kill You In the Morning
Army of Darkness

Yes, it is Lord of the Rings, The Princess Bride, Harry Potter – You know, The Usual Suspects (no, not the movie, just that all of the aforementioned references were hardly a surprise). With “Geek Culture” becoming interchangeable for “Pop Culture” most everyone will know the material. But, wait, what is this? One of the rule cards is Mythtery Play. Oh, that has to be reference to Robert Asprin's Myth series! High School Me was over the moon with that call back. Okay, truth be told, it sent adult me running to my Bookcase to pull out my collection of the series and, well, moon over it. (I think we may have found one of roots to the pun obsession).It is those “Deep Geek” references that made me smile. Plenty of times, I would point at a new goal or new rule and glance around the table for knowing nods from the other players. But the sly winks aren't restricted to the Keeper and Goal cards. Action cards (always a staple of the series) come in a the flavor of spells like Healing (that allows you do bring a card “back from the dead” aka the discard pile) or the old standby Fireball (which we all know is good in ANY situation...but mostly for blowing stuff up). It is fun to see that the references aren't just from movies or books but from the roots of RPGs.


1

The Magic Ring and the Invisibility Spell adds a new twist beyond the traditional ever changing rules of Fluxx. Now, you can turn your Keepers “Invisible” so that other players can't mess with your cards. A simple flip outwards of the card in your hand serves as a reminder. It's not only cute, it fits right in with the Fantasy Theme. Of course, you can't win with Invisible cards, so you have to turn them visible again to be triumphant.

Fantasy Fluxx could have easily have been a stuffy version of the same tired old Fantasy stuff we've seen before. Instead, the lighthearted take makes it true to the “Fluxx Feel.” The only feel that I didn't care for in this game is that the cards themselves have a “stickier” feel that the other Fluxx titles in my collection.

A review copy of this release was provided by the publisher.

Photos

Fantasy Fluxx Board Game Review
Fantasy Fluxx Board Game Review

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Rating 
 
3.5
Fantasy Fluxx
Fantasy Fluxx could have easily have been a stuffy version of the same tired old Fantasy stuff we've seen before. Instead, the lighthearted take makes it true to the “Fluxx Feel.”
Wade Monnig  (He/Him)
Staff Board Game Reviewer

In west Saint Louis born and raised
Playing video games is where I spent most of my days
Strafing, Dashing, Adventuring and Looting
Writing reviews between all the Shooting
When a couple of guys reminded me what was so good
About playing games with cardboard and Wood,
Collecting Victory Points and those Miniatures with Flair
It’s not as easy as you think to rhyme with Bel Air.

Wade is the former editor in chief for Silicon Magazine and former senior editor for Gamearefun.com. He currently enjoys his games in the non-video variety, where the odds of a 14 year old questioning the legitimacy of your bloodline is drastically reduced.

“I’ll stop playing as Black when they invent a darker color.”

Articles by Wade

Wade Monnig
Staff Board Game Reviewer

Articles by Wade

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Log in to comment