Front Page

Content

Authors

Game Index

Forums

Site Tools

Submissions

About

You May Also Like...

MH
Madelyn Holthouse
April 21, 2021

Dutch Blitz Review

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
April 16, 2021

Fort Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
M
Msample
April 15, 2021

Review of Bayonets & Tomahawks

Board Game Reviews
S
Shellhead
April 13, 2021
A
adamr
April 13, 2021

Venice - Punchboard Reviews

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
April 09, 2021

One Card Wonder Review

Board Game Reviews
MT
Matt Thrower
April 05, 2021
O
oliverkinne
April 02, 2021

Sleeping Gods Review

Board Game Reviews
A
adamr
March 30, 2021

Hallertau - Punchboard Reviews

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
March 26, 2021

The Cost Review (Digital Eyes)

Board Game Reviews
MB
Michael Barnes
March 25, 2021
AL
Andi Lennon
March 24, 2021
MT
Matt Thrower
March 22, 2021

Play Matt: The Cost Review

Board Game Reviews
MB
Michael Barnes
March 18, 2021
J
Jackwraith
March 17, 2021

The King is Dead 2nd Edition Review (Digital Eyes)

O Updated March 19, 2021
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1582 0
The King is Dead (2nd Edition) (Digital Eyes)

Game Information

Publisher
Players
2 - 4
There Will Be Games

The country was divided again. The Scottish were biding their time in the North, the Welsh were ready to pounce from the West, while the English tried to show some sort of semblance of the controlling power in the rest of the British Isles. At the same time, foreign countries were keeping a keen eye on the developing situation, ready to take advantage of the chaos that was about to ensue. It was up to us to marshal our troops and exert our influence, trying to ensure that the resulting dominant power that would eventually claim the throne was in our favour - and all of this only happened, because The King is Dead by Osprey Games.

Let me start by saying that I only ever played the digital version of The King is Dead (2nd Edition), so I can't attest to the component quality or the tactile feel of the game. Yet, I don't think the quality of the components will hugely affect the enjoyment of the game, because it's much more about strategy, tactics and trying to bluff and surprise other players with your own actions. It's almost as if you play this game more in your head than on the table.

The setup for The King is Dead is pretty simple and the rules even more so. All you need to do on your turn is play a card from your hand to effect a change of influence in one or two regions of Britain, then take an influence marker, called follower cube in the game, off the board, thereby further exacting your influence. It's really simple, but of course, it isn't. The devil is, as so often, in the tactics.

The thing is, there really shouldn't be any surprises. Everyone can see what faction, the Scots, Welsh or English, has what amount of influence in each of the regions. Also, every player starts with the same hand of cards, at least when you play with the base rules, so everyone knows exactly what everyone else's possibilities are.

It's very much like a game of chess, but one that can be played with more than two players. Everyone can see the games state and can work out what options everyone has. Everyone can plan ahead, evaluating what another player's best or most likely action will be on their turn and how that will influence the board. Yet, just like in chess, playing contrary to what everyone else expects you to do can sometimes win you the game.

Also, the decision tree in The King is Dead gets rather large fairly quickly. So there really is only so much forward planning anyone can do in their head. At the same time, and as I alluded to at the beginning of this article, a lot of the time you spend playing this game is in your head. The thinking time hugely outweighs the time you spend placing your cards or moving cubes. Again, that's very much like chess.

What makes The Kings is Dead so interesting for me, are the victory conditions. One of them is that, at the end of the game, the player who holds the most cubes of the faction that controls the most regions wins. To achieve that, everyone plays cards, all of which somehow change the number of follower cubes in the regions, thereby changing the influence of factions for those regions.

Your goal is for a certain faction to control that region when it comes to resolving one of the eight so-called power struggles. At that point, if that specific region has the most control cubes of a certain colour in it, they're all removed and replaced with a control disc of the same colour, indicating that that faction now controls that region.

So it sounds like you should simply move the cubes around on the board so that your favoured colour is most represented in most of the regions. The problem is, you also need to remove a follower cube from the board every time after you play a card. So you're actually reducing the influence of that faction on the board, but you want to have more cubes of that colour, because only the player with the most cubes at the end of the game for the faction with the most control wins the game.

So the more support you show for a faction, the less powerful that faction will become on the board, thereby reducing the chance of that faction controlling enough regions by the end of the game. It's a real balancing act. You will want to take cubes of other colours as well, so that you don't weaken your favourite faction too much.

Additionally, you don't really want to show your plans too early. If you always go for the same colour cube, then the other players will know who you want to win at the end and will either also support the same faction in the hope that they have more cubes than you at the end of the game, or they will start to support a different faction and hope that one will control most regions when the game is over.

However, it is also possible to show your hand early, but actually bluff. After all, the more cubes of one colour that you remove from the board, the weaker that faction will become. As long as you can gain cubes of other colours in time, you may actually turn out victorious and have successfully lead the other players a merry dance.

There is another victory condition though. If, when a region is resolved in a power struggle, the number of cubes in that region are the same for at least two colours, then there is a tie and the region becomes unstable, resulting in control of a foreign power - and once three regions are controlled by a foreign power, the game ends immediately and a new victory condition is in force.

Now, the player who has a the most evenly balanced follower cubes in front of them wins, that is, you count up how many sets of the three colours every player can make with the cubes they have so far removed from the board and whoever can make the most sets wins.

It's another viable strategy as well and allows someone who seems to be way behind in owning enough follower cubes of a specific colour to win, because they can try and get more sets than players who have put their eggs in one or maybe two baskets.

There is one more twist in The King is Dead that will influence your strategy. Every player gets only eight cards that have to last them the whole game. Players take turns playing a single card, carrying out the action, as much as that is possible and then taking a follower cube off the board. Alternatively, a player can pass and either join in again or keep passing. When all players have passed, one after the other, a power struggle happens and a region is resolved, which will result in a control disc to be placed, be it from a faction or a foreign power.

The trick is to choose your battles, or power struggles, and decide whether you want to play more cards at the beginning, running the risk of having no cards left at the end, or focus on the middle of the game, or maybe make sure you have most cards at the end so you can do what you want then. The problem is, some battles can sometimes be vital to two players who will force each other to play cards, therefore making it impossible to do much later in the game.

In fact, sometimes players intentionally play more cards to keep changing a region that is vital to another player, so that they have to play more cards, making them weaker later. So what cards you play when is important, but how many cards you play when even more so. Ending up without any cards at the end can be fine, but more often than not, it can also mean that someone else can wreak havoc on the board and take the victory for themselves.

So The King is Dead is a really deep, strategic game. You do need to plan ahead as much as possible, but there is also a lot of bluffing and forcing of hands. Be ready to change your plans halfway through the game, if things just aren't going your way, or you will definitely be left behind. You are still in with a chance to turn things around and get the crown for yourself.


Editor reviews

1 reviews

Rating 
 
5.0
The King is Dead (2nd edition)
The King is Dead is a really deep, strategic game. Be ready to change your plans halfway through the game. You are still in with a chance to turn things around and get the crown for yourself.
O
Oliver Kinne
Oliver Kinne (He/Him)
Associate Writer

Oliver Kinne aims to publish two new articles every week on his blog, Tabletop Games Blog, and also release both in podcast form. He reviews board games and writes about tabletop games related topics.

Oliver is also the co-host of the Tabletop Inquisition podcast, which releases a new episode every three to four weeks and tackles different issues facing board games, the people who play them and maybe their industry.

Articles by Oliver Kinne

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Log in to comment

mc's Avatar
mc replied the topic: #320847 19 Mar 2021 07:50
Great, great game.
It is SUCH a shame that they had a cool theme (Siam/Thailand) and chose to go with something that is so well represented elsewhere for the reprints. That's about my only knock, and it's not that important given the abstract nature of it all anyway.*

There are a few things I really enjoy in games.
One is not knowing what the hell to do, and looking around and knowing that everyone else is in the same boat. It's not the mindbendingness of it - i.e., it's not because I enjoy the puzzle or the challenge of trying to think 5 moves ahead- it's because it's funny. What do I do here? I don't know.
Sort of related to that is that the reason you don't know is at least partly because you don't know what others are going to do either. Thinking ahead is a little fruitless.
The other thing is when games really lean into the strengths of the medium. More and more, I feel like a big strength of board games is their ability to hit the above stuff with simplicity. With simple rules and a common space you can do so much. The rules here are so simple - you have 8 cards to play; play a card, do what it says, take a cube, or pass; if everyone passes we work out who wins; if all the regions are done and a colour wins, whoever has the most cubes in that colour wins; if the black colour wins it's whoever has the most sets of the three colours, there, we are done - yet so much agony and interesting gameplay arises as a result of player choices. Often, perhaps unintuitively, the wider the array of rules/options the more strictured the play.
Love this game. In that Euro thread I said it's a good option for people pining for some El Grande but without enough players or time. Obviously it doesn't play 5, but given a choice between the El Grande table and the KvS/KiD table personally I'm opting for the KiD table every time.

BTW I have a physical copy and the production is very nice quality wise. I don't care about that kind of stuff so I'm not normally a good judge but it's noticeably quite good (for me to notice is a good indication).

*Perhaps given discussions elsewhere it was a conscious choice to steer away? I don't know. But medieval Europe/Arthurian... eh.
Michael Barnes's Avatar
Michael Barnes replied the topic: #320853 19 Mar 2021 09:26
I need to check this one out- it sounds great. I keep hearing these El Grande comparisons and that is the way to get me on board for sure.
hotseatgames's Avatar
hotseatgames replied the topic: #320860 19 Mar 2021 09:58
This game is fantastic, I have the first edition. The best 3 player game I have probably ever played.
DarthJoJo's Avatar
DarthJoJo replied the topic: #320861 19 Mar 2021 10:01
I only regret that I have the first edition; neither set in Thailand like Siam nor beautifully colored like the second edition.
jason10mm's Avatar
jason10mm replied the topic: #320884 19 Mar 2021 15:02
Gonna have to check this out, it sounds like a (much) faster version of Dominant Species (or at least scratches that itch for a brain melting area control game).

mc wrote: *Perhaps given discussions elsewhere it was a conscious choice to steer away? I don't know. But medieval Europe/Arthurian... eh.


Yeah, from a player facing POV this is one less non-euro themed game on the shelf. Yay? Should designers (and publishers I guess?) stick just to themes from their ethno-geographic region or at least one they can lay claim to through right of descent? I can strap on a kilt and sporran and quote Robert Burns (as i am wont to do) but is it more legitimate or authentic just because i have a wisp of scots blood?

Guess the "better get along or the nasty english will settle this" vibe from Siam is worth dumping (though the game mechanics are kinda anti-colonialism if you think about it) but not sure if any Thai were polled for their opinion. An arthurian theme probably matches the audience for Osprey better, or just making it a straight historic "War of the Roses" theme or whatever.
mc's Avatar
mc replied the topic: #320905 19 Mar 2021 19:13
Thing is I'm pretty sure Peer Sylvester designed it while living and working in Thailand. I mean... that could be worse in some ways but as you say I get a kind of Pamir like anti-colonial take on it as far as something so abstract could do it.

I feel like there are some fan made maps out there which I should check.

Also while I think of it its worth noting there are a couple of rule changes between editions. in particular (from memory) there is a rule where if you cant win with your last play you cant play - this avoids king making - and this seems to have been dropped; also having the black faction (Britain/France) win is made harder in this edition i think there are 4 discs instead of 3. Nothing to stop you playing with whatever you like of course.