Front Page

Content

Authors

Game Index

Forums

Site Tools

Submissions

About

You May Also Like...

D
DavidNorris
September 16, 2021

Quick, Simple Fun: High Society

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
September 10, 2021

Karuba Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
D
DavidNorris
September 09, 2021
A
adamr
September 08, 2021

Mariposas - a Punchboard Review

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
September 03, 2021

Earthenwar Review

Board Game Reviews
D
DavidNorris
September 02, 2021
MB
Michael Barnes
August 30, 2021
Hot

The Ascent of Descent - Review

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
August 27, 2021

March on the Drina Review

Board Game Reviews
D
DavidNorris
August 26, 2021

Red Rising, Red Falling

Board Game Reviews
A
adamr
August 25, 2021
O
oliverkinne
August 20, 2021

15 Days Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
MB
Michael Barnes
August 19, 2021
D
DavidNorris
August 19, 2021
MT
Matt Thrower
August 12, 2021

Play Matt: Bullet♥︎ Review

Board Game Reviews
D
DavidNorris
August 12, 2021
O
oliverkinne
August 06, 2021

Animal Alliance

Board Game Reviews

Digital Eye - Terraforming Mars on Steam Review

O Updated August 18, 2021
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
570 0
(Screenshot from the Steam version of the game)

Game Information

Publisher
Players
1 - 5
There Will Be Games

We were on Mars. Our colonization team had arrived. The mission of our corporation was to make this planet habitable and do so in the most economical and efficient way possible. There were many challenges ahead, but we had a great mix of engineers, researchers, technicians, managers and construction workers and everyone was fully committed to our goal. We were fully aware that this project would take us a number of generations and we were ready to begin Terraforming Mars by Stronghold Games.

I know that this game has now entered the annals of being a classic game. So, I'm late to the party, but what a party this is.

Before we get too far into this review, I want to explain that I only ever played the Steam version of Terraforming Mars. So I've not had to worry about components flying across the table if someone accidentally nudges it. I also didn't have to deal with housekeeping, such as the setup and breakdown or dealing with the production phase. I also didn't have to consult the rulebook to ensure I placed my terrain tiles in the correct spaces or remember to take income for placing tiles next to water.

The digital version of the game is definitely beautiful to behold. It's all very sci-fi-y in its presentation. It feels like you're looking over the planet from your computer console inside your Mars habitat. The background music is also wonderfully atmospheric. I really want to have a copy of it to play all the time. It has a sort of calming effect, while also being quite mysterious. It's hard to describe - you have to hear it to understand what I mean.

There are the odd blips and bugs with the Steam version, but it's regularly updated, and anything we found a problem during our plays of Terraforming Mars had some sort of workaround - like when your hand of cards disappears, you click to display your played cards and then out again and it's back. So, yes, it's a bit annoying, but chances are, when you read this article, this bug will have been fixed.

What is nice in the digital version of Terraforming Mars is that you can play online with other people. You can either join someone else's table, create your own to allow others to join you and you can even set up a private game, if you only want to play with specific people. It's pretty straightforward, once you've created your online account, that is - and haven't forgotten your password again.

Let me talk about the game itself though. Terraforming Mars is a great mix of resource management, a sort of hand management and area control. It is very much driven by the deck of cards, the "project cards", that you can buy at the beginning of each round, called "generations" in the game. The project deck is shared, but there isn't a shared offer row or anything. Instead, each round every player draws four cards, 10 at the beginning of the game, that they can choose from. Every project costs a fixed amount to buy, but to actually use it, you have to pay an additional amount.

Some cards you can't play until later in the game, others you need to play early on, before the planet has been terraformed too much. So you need to decide how many cards you buy each round, weighing up an early investment for later in the game against having more cash on hand early on for other actions. That's the hand management element I was talking about. Over-investing early can backfire, but some cards are really special and worth buying when you see them, because they will not come back again later.

It's a tough call to make and will appeal to people who like a bit of gambling, like myself. Speaking of which, there are cards that will appeal to those players as well. One card, for example, is about finding microbes. You're basically tasked with finding life on Mars. That is done by drawing a project card and if it has a certain symbol on it, then you get a victory point. It's a pure gamble, and in one game I had the card right in the first round, but never found anything. So, as far as I'm concerned, there is definitely no life on Mars. Anyway, the point is, it's nice to see a luck element like this in Terraforming Mars.

The rest of the game is then driven by what projects you decide to play on your turn. Most cards influence your resource production, allowing you to increase the production of one or two, or decreasing one to increase another. You have to balance what resources you want to produce more of to align with your strategy.

The game will also influence what resources you want more of, because you're trying to increase the planet's temperature and oxygen levels and create a certain number of bodies of water. Once they have reached their maximum, you won't benefit in the same way for increasing them and to increase them, you need specific resources, meaning you may want to reduce the production of those resources at this stage in favour of others.

So it's not just about building an engine that gets better and better all the time, but an engine that adapts to the state of the planet - and the main way of influencing that engine is through the project cards. There are other options, but these are quite costly, but sometimes they're the only way for you to get ahead and catch up with the other players.

There is also a fair bit of player interaction in Terraforming Mars. Many of the project cards allow you to take resources from other players, but because there are so many of them, it doesn't feel quite as bad to use them. After all, chances are that you taking from one player will prompt them to take things from you. I think that's why this game is better with at least three players, otherwise it will feel a bit personal.

There is a problem with being so heavily reliant on your project cards though. If the cards just aren't going your way, you just won't be able to do much. You've almost lost from the start. It has happened to me in one game and one of my friends in another. It's frustrating, because there is nothing you can do about it. It's just bad luck. However, I would expect games to give you more options, so that you can change your strategy based on the cards. Unfortunately, in Terraforming Mars, it does sometimes feel like you have no control and the cards are just too unpredictable.

What is nice though, is that you can control when the game ends by influencing how quickly the oxygen levels and temperature increase and how many bodies of water are placed. You can sit on your cards that help with that, to slow down the process and give you more time to catch up with other players, or you can try and push for a quick end to the game when you're in the lead.

It reminds me of Scythe in that way. It's nice that the game doesn't just end after a certain number of rounds. If you need more time, chances are you can buy yourself some - and if you time it just right, you can scrape into the lead and finish the game at the same moment. It's a great tactical option that makes the game really exciting towards the end.

Overall, Terraforming Mars is really atmospheric and you do feel like you're actually terraforming the planet. Plonking down forests or oceans or cities is just very satisfying. The project cards also add to this and allow you to create a unique story of how the planet went from a desert to a livable habitat. It's really imaginative and the whole game immerses you in the setting and transports you to another planet.

So if you like a bit of area control, player interaction and planet building, then Terraforming Mars is a must buy - at least in its digital form.


Editor reviews

1 reviews

Rating 
 
4.0
Terraforming Mars
If you like a bit of area control, player interaction and planet building, then Terraforming Mars is a must buy - at least in its digital form.
O
Oliver Kinne
Oliver Kinne (He/Him)
Associate Writer

Oliver Kinne aims to publish two new articles every week on his blog, Tabletop Games Blog, and also release both in podcast form. He reviews board games and writes about tabletop games related topics.

Oliver is also the co-host of the Tabletop Inquisition podcast, which releases a new episode every three to four weeks and tackles different issues facing board games, the people who play them and maybe their industry.

Articles by Oliver Kinne

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Log in to comment

Sagrilarus's Avatar
Sagrilarus replied the topic: #325763 18 Aug 2021 10:20
My draw to this game is almost exclusively the science. I get to be an actor in implementing this really cool stuff, even if it's as simple as crashing comets into the planet for their water. The cards and their art and their abilities are just worth the price of admission all on their own as far as I'm concerned. This is a space-nerdfest of a game.

And frankly, I don't even like all the cards. A lot of them are about biology and I couldn't give a damn about that. I don't take those cards, generally resulting in a big loss in the end game when others score a bundle of points. But that's ok, because I was the guy that got them the water, got them the oxygen they needed to grow. I got to do the cool stuff! How do you lose in a game where you got to be part of a huge scientific accomplishment?

With that out of the way, I shall not dignify your comparison to Scythe sir, which has the hokiest thematic elements in all of boardgaming and doesn't include a single comet crashing into anything. Oh God! It's a tractor coming for us! Walk for your lives!
RobertB's Avatar
RobertB replied the topic: #325790 18 Aug 2021 13:37
The Steam version does let you play with other humans online, but it has serious UI/UX issues. Most of the bugs have been fixed, but it still kind of sucks.

As for the game itself, it's one of my favorites.
jason10mm's Avatar
jason10mm replied the topic: #325805 18 Aug 2021 16:23
Does this have an AI or only human opponents?

So have you only ever played TM digitally or on the table and just the Steam digital version (if there are others on android or apple store)? I'm curious if the playtime is reduced (I gotta think it must be if everyone is paying attention) but maybe you have no basis for comparison.

And to kick off of Sag, if you DO crash a comet into Mars, is there an animation of it? Does the whole planet get kinda hazy as the atmo rises?
RobertB's Avatar
RobertB replied the topic: #325823 19 Aug 2021 00:27
I've played TM on Steam and on the table, a lot. For about six months my wife and I would play just about every day. Is the Steam version faster? I think it's a little faster but not notably so.

The Steam version has an AI, which is terrible. Seriously, you have to work at it to lose to the AI. It's a very, very bad player. However, it is an excellent way to play solo, where you have 14(?) turns to win.

You get to set up a free account with purchase, and can play head-to-head. Someone sets up the game and sets all the parameters; number of players, draft/no draft, Prelude or not, and max time for each player. I don't think I've ever played it asynchronous - it's always been h2h in real time.

There's some nastiness around the game's karma system. The first player to quit takes a 5-point karma hit, and it takes five games to get that back. After that, there's no penalty for leaving. More than once I've seen people in bad game situations just walk away and stay connected, hoping someone gets bored and quits first.

There a multiplayer points Elo system, that looks a lot like chess. The #1 player currently has a 2171 rating.

The comet smashing into the planet would be cool, but we don't get that. Most of the animations are kind of mediocre. But then again, the whole UI/UX is mediocre.