Front Page

Content

Authors

Game Index

Forums

Site Tools

Submissions

About

You May Also Like...

O
oliverkinne
November 26, 2021

Lunar Base Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
November 22, 2021

Tharos Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
MB
Michael Barnes
November 15, 2021
MB
Michael Barnes
November 08, 2021
O
oliverkinne
November 05, 2021

Doom Machine Review

Board Game Reviews
D
DavidNorris
November 04, 2021
MB
Michael Barnes
October 29, 2021
D
DavidNorris
October 28, 2021
T
thegiantbrain
October 27, 2021
O
oliverkinne
October 22, 2021
D
DavidNorris
October 21, 2021
MB
Michael Barnes
October 20, 2021
Hot
O
oliverkinne
October 15, 2021

K2 Review - Digital Eyes

Board Game Reviews
D
DavidNorris
October 14, 2021
O
oliverkinne
October 08, 2021

Sprawlopolis Review

Board Game Reviews

Too Many Bones - a Punchboard Review

A Updated November 23, 2021
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
651 0
Too Many Bones - a Punchboard review

Game Information

Players
1 - 4
There Will Be Games

Too Many Bones is one of those games that’s been on the periphery of my interest for a really long time. I saw people streaming it, I heard how good it’s meant to be, and how amazing the components are, and I really wanted to be enthused. I wanted to want it as much as everyone else seemed to. My apathy meant it slipped me by for a long time while I fed my worker-placement addiction, like a Euro junkie getting his cube fix. This summer I finally got the chance and the renewed impetus to play it, after talking to the rather fabulous Chip Theory Games.

Chip Theory Games, who make Too Many Bones, have a reputation for putting premium games with massive replayability out in the market. Was the hype justified? And maybe more importantly for my readers – is it a good game to get, even if you’re a die-hard Euro gamer? Can you still have fun without farming or running a fishery?

Knucklebones

Too Many Bones? More like Too Many Dice! Jeez, this game has a billion dice in the box. Okay, that’s an exaggeration. It has 130 by my reckoning, but it’s still a lot of cubes to throw. Dice fans, this game is practically pornographic, you’ll love it. Rolling dice, rotating dice, plugging dice into perfectly fitting holes in neoprene playmats – it’s enough to get anyone hot under the collar.

too many diceJust some of the handfuls of custom dice

Too Many Bones is an adventure strategy game full of fantasy, steampunk and monsters. Although it’s staged as some kind of grand adventure, RPG-style, in truth the flow of the game is driven through a deck of encounter cards. Yeah, there’s flavour text, and the monsters and Gearlocs (your player characters) have great artwork and feel fleshed-out, but it doesn’t really feel like you’re going anywhere. Each turn of a card feels more like just finding out who’s next for a ride on the pain train.

As you work your way through the encounters, battling creatures and monsters, you unlock abilities in the form of new dice to add to your pool. This part of the game is incredibly satisfying and it’ll really get its hooks in you. Each of the Gearlocs has its own set of custom dice, and the player mats chart the upgrades and skill trees. Winning a fight is pretty cool, but the dopamine release that comes from picking a new dice and plugging it in to its hole, unlocking something new – hoo boy – that’s the good sh*t right there.

Box clever

Too Many Bones is a co-operative game about fighting baddies. It’s a full-on skirmish between the good guys and the bad guys, and it all takes place in a small arena. When I say small, I mean small, there’s only 16 spaces available, arranged in a 4×4 grid. That might sound a bit too compact, but it’s perfect here, because it means no running away. Your movement and placement is paramount in your quest to survive and smite yourself a few monsters. It feels like a fantasy bar fight.

TyrantsThe included Tyrants, their chips and dice

You know, despite what I said about this game not feeling like a proper RPG, the combat and upgrading really feels like a Tactical RPG video game (TRPG). There’s this feeling of choosing how you’re going to upgrade your character, then getting into scraps with increasingly-dangerous monsters, and then upgrading again. Rinse and repeat until you’re ready to square off against the boss monster. In fact, the game stops you from even fighting the bosses – called Tyrants – until you’ve got enough Progress Points (think Levels, in RPGs). This all pulls together just like a video game RPG, with players battling mobs over and over until they feel ready to tackle The Big Nasty. It’s a very satisfying reward loop.

There’s some really clever game design in here to keep things feeling sharp. You can’t just keep smacking little things until you’re overpowered, as there’s a round limit. The Tyrant’s got to shuffle off this mortal coil within a pre-set number of rounds, or you lose. Each Tyrant has a different time limit, which in turn dictates the length of the game. This is great, as you can choose to play a shortish game of an hour, or really make an evening of it and play out an adventure that lasts two or three hours.

gearloc matThe Gearloc mats are so nice, Too Many Bones is a lesson in tactility

The small play area is the other thing which keeps playtime down, and forces your hand to an extent. There’s none of these ‘give them a quick poke then run away’, kiting antics. Take a couple of steps in any direction and you’re likely to feel a wall at your back. At the same time, the close confines mean you can work between yourselves to keep anyone with ranged weapons or healing abilities, behind your tougher Gearlocs.

Abstraction

What really strikes me about Too Many Bones is how it takes this action battle formula, but turns it on its head. If this was a video game, all of the focus and glitz would be poured into the fights. Elaborate graphical effects, combined with Leeroy Jenkins style action and hilarity. The abilities and tech trees you invest are only present in hotbars on the side of the screen, or upgrade screens after fights. In Too Many Bones, the player mats are where your interest lies. The rows of dice tracing your progress from grenadier newbie to lord of explosive stuff, for example, are really satisfying. There’s a big illustration of your chosen Gearloc, and you feel a huge investment in them. Combat, on the other hand, feels very abstract.

battle matThis is where the action takes place. It’s far more fun than it looks

There’s no visual extravagance on offer when it comes to the fights themselves. There aren’t even any minis on hand. Absolutely everything from hit points to the biggest, fiercest Tyrant, is represented by poker chips. They’re nice, heavy chips (apart from the health ones, unless you upgrade them), and have pictures on them, but they’re still just poker chips. All of the action, if that’s what you want to call it, is moving piles of chips around a 4×4 grid. A grid that doesn’t even make an attempt to add scenery to proceedings.

It can be quite underwhelming to start playing your first game of Too Many Bones. To see all of the lore, and these amazing characters and baddies, and to have it all transmuted into rolling dice and moving poker chips around. If this sounds like it would be you, I urge you to go into the game with an open mind, and take it as it comes. If you do that, you’re going to have a brilliant time with it. Too Many Bones is very, very good.

Final thoughts

I probably could have just said “Too Many Bones is great, go buy it”, and saved you five minutes of your life. It’s hard to articulate exactly why it’s great. Is it the ridiculously high production values? No, but it’s nice to have. Is it the beautifully refined close-quarters tactical skirmishing? No, but it’s really well done. How about the clever character investment and skill trees? Again, it’s nothing we haven’t seen before. What Too Many Bones does so well, however, is to take this individual pieces of silk and filigree and to sew them together like an artisanal dressmaker, with not a seam in sight. The whole is so much more than the sum of its pieces.

My worries about dice imbalances, with my Euro hat on, were completed unfounded. Yes, you can get bum rolls when they land on the bones symbols, but these get invested into the Backup Plan section of your player mat, meaning you can save them up for something really useful. Sometimes your Backup Plan will swing the fight at a crucial point, and you’ll be grateful for every last one of the polished turds.

box contentsThere's a lot of stuff in the box

There are loads of expansions and extra characters available for Too Many Bones, and initially it sounds like the included four Gearlocs and seven Tyrants would get old, quickly. They don’t though, the way different characters interplay, and the different tactics you need for each encounter really keep things feeling fresh and exciting. Even if you just stick to one Gearloc for your first few games, there are so many ways to tailor their skills that no two games will feel the same. There’s a ton or replayability in the base box.

I’m not going to lie to you and say “Even if you don’t like combat and direct interaction, you’re going to love this”, because you probably won’t. It is what it is. But if you enjoy strategy, and if you’re even remotely curious, you’re going to have so much fun with it. Josh and Adam Carlson have created a beautiful, rich, vivid game. A game that eschews all of the RPG cruft of something like Gloomhaven, and boils it down to a dice-flinging explosion of instant action, with a boss fight crescendo which will see your table cheer or groan collectively. Too Many Bones is brilliant. Pretty expensive, but for once, you really get what you pay for.

Review copy kindly provided by Chip Theory Games. Thoughts and opinions are my own.


Editor reviews

1 reviews

Rating 
 
4.5
Too Many Bones
Roll tons of dice, fight the ne'er do wells, and choose your character's path in this fantasy skirmish game
A
1 reviews
Adam Richards (He/Him)
Associate Writer

Adam lives in Cornwall, UK. He has been playing tabletop games in a ‘serious’ way (i.e. something other than Cluedo and Blackjack) for 10+ years now. If it goes on a table, he's happy to play pretty much anything, as long as it’s not roll-and-move. However, he loves Eurogames most of all, especially anything with worker placement or a rondel, as well as social and hidden-role games. His favourite designers are Alexander Pfister, Shem Phillips, Stefan Feld and Uwe Rosenberg.

Outside of board games he has a lifelong obsession with videogames, and loves gardening, space exploration and pretty much anything nerdy in the slightest. You can find more of his reviews and articles on his site - Punchboard Reviews

Reviews & Articles by Adam Richards

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Log in to comment

adamr's Avatar
adamr replied the topic: #328191 24 Nov 2021 04:08
It's a little while since I originally wrote this, and I still really enjoy it. I've surprised myself with just how much. I'm still not sure about the expansions yet, but time will tell.
jason10mm's Avatar
jason10mm replied the topic: #328193 24 Nov 2021 09:34
My concern about a game like this is having to memorize, or consult a lengthy chart, about which symbol means what. Compounded by difficult to distinguish (totally not because of ageing eyes) iconography; is that an orange flower or a lime atomic symbol or a yellow sunburst? these types of games can seem rules light at first but become a mess when every roll results in stopping play to consult the manual to figure out what just happened. How are these issues addressed in this game.

Otherwise it looks pretty cool, I generally like games where the mechanics are baked into the pieces and who doesn't like boxes of dice?
Michael Barnes's Avatar
Michael Barnes replied the topic: #328196 24 Nov 2021 11:51
It’s more than looking at the charts…it’s also working out what actually happens when the rules don’t exactly cover the situation or they just aren’t clear.

I was really into this months ago- I played it quite a lot, mostly solo but also with my kids, who…kind of hated it. But it got to where I felt like the battles, although frequently interesting at a tactical level, were very grindy and repetitive. The outcomes on the adventure cards were often more interesting than the outcomes of the attrition-y battles. It just became extremely tedious, I think in part because it is so loaded with dice effects.

I actively disliked Undertow. It added elements that I thought were wholly uninteresting and even more tedious.

There are really good things about the design- the bones thing is great, an excellent “fail forward” mechanic that also feels like a charge meter in a video game. Some of the dice effects are really cool and there are definitely synergies abound- playing different characters makes the gameplay feel wildly different.

But the bad things are kind of irredeemable, I think, for a game of this price. For one, the production is a fucking joke. It’s portrayed as this luxe pinnacle of high end game manufacture but it’s -garbage-. Toxic neoprene mats, heavy but still very plastic and very cheap stickered poker chips, “menu” material plastic instead of paper. It’s massively wasteful and the whole things smells like poison. The dice are fine, whatever, but they look terrible: every single aspect of the game looks terrible. It’s like a graphic designer without a whit of taste, style, or consistency was hired to do this. Nothing matches. The art for the disgusting flesh gremlins isn’t like the art for the monsters. There’s like 35 different fonts across the product. Shit that would barely have passed graphic design muster in 1995 is all over the place, I’m surprised there’s not WordArt and dropshadows. The rules writing is among the worst in the business. Living rules are no excuse for rules writing that was trash to begin with.

When I saw the new Kickstarter and the absolute mountain of ugly, junk plastic they are offering I decided it was time to part ways with it. I did enjoy my time with it and it was fun to explore. But I honestly think that a lot of folks are dazzled by a jumped up (but not actually any good) production and the strong sense of variability on offer.

There is absolutely zero reason this should be a $150 game. None of the junk plastic needs to be there at all.
Michael Barnes's Avatar
Michael Barnes replied the topic: #328197 24 Nov 2021 11:56
Adam as far as the expansions go, the characters are the best way to go. I had Ghillie and Nugget, they were both interesting to play with. Particularly Ghillie. The other stuff was just more clutter, I felt like, and some of it was specifically not interested in (the campaign thing). Undertow has some cool characters but I hated everything else about it.
Ah_Pook's Avatar
Ah_Pook replied the topic: #328198 24 Nov 2021 12:11
Chip Theory makes games that I sort of want to try but always with some big caveats, and then they price them waaaaay out of my price range for things that I sort of want to try. Also I think their "premium production" schtick all actually looks quite shoddy and cheap. Cloudspire is a game that I would take a punt on for $50 and see if it's actually fun enough to get through the learning curve and mountain of poorly written rules etc etc, but for $200+ they can keep it.
adamr's Avatar
adamr replied the topic: #328204 24 Nov 2021 13:42

Michael Barnes wrote: It’s more than looking at the charts…it’s also working out what actually happens when the rules don’t exactly cover the situation or they just aren’t clear.

I was really into this months ago- I played it quite a lot, mostly solo but also with my kids, who…kind of hated it. But it got to where I felt like the battles, although frequently interesting at a tactical level, were very grindy and repetitive. The outcomes on the adventure cards were often more interesting than the outcomes of the attrition-y battles. It just became extremely tedious, I think in part because it is so loaded with dice effects.


Out of interest, why did you choose to get it in the first place, and persist with it if you don't like much about anything in the box?

I understand the tons of plastic bits too. It feels like an attempt to get the video game feel into a box. I'm still enjoying it lots, but I know at some point it may wane, just as it did with things like Disgaea, Into The Breach and other video games it reminds me of.
Michael Barnes's Avatar
Michael Barnes replied the topic: #328206 24 Nov 2021 14:01
Oh no I did like it, I had head so much about it and thought I’d give it a try and it did hold my attention for a while…but the things I didn’t like about it wore on me over time. The last time I played I got halfway to the tyrant and was like I just do not feel like doing this anymore.

Disgaea and Into The Breach are excellent comparatives.
Gary Sax's Avatar
Gary Sax replied the topic: #328207 24 Nov 2021 14:47
The TRPG comparison in your review really helped me understand a lot of other reviews of this game (I haven't tried it) too, thanks for that adamr.