Front Page

Content

Authors

Game Index

Forums

Site Tools

Submissions

About

You May Also Like...

O
oliverkinne
October 03, 2022

Town 66 Review

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
September 30, 2022

Sagrada Review

Board Game Reviews
MB
Michael Barnes
September 30, 2022
MB
Michael Barnes
September 29, 2022
W
WadeMonnig
September 07, 2022
O
oliverkinne
September 02, 2022

Union Station Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
T
thegiantbrain
September 01, 2022

Homebrewers Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
August 29, 2022

Aquamarine Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
W
WadeMonnig
August 24, 2022
O
oliverkinne
August 24, 2022

Undaunted: Normandy Review

Board Game Reviews
MB
Michael Barnes
August 18, 2022

Godtear Beats the Odds - Review

Board Game Reviews

Alea iacta est : A Sagrada Board Game Review

W Updated August 10, 2022
 
2.5
 
0.0 (0)
798 1
Alea iacta est : A Sagrada Board Game Review

Game Information

Game Name
Players
1 - 4
There Will Be Games

We are gathered here today to assist in the completion of the Sagrada Família. Please be seated. As novices, you will be assisting in creating some beautiful stain glass façades. Please turn to page three of your hymnals so that we can review a few of the commandments...err...rules of Sagrada. No need to kneel, just a few tips to keep you from eternal damnation.

Thou shall not place like colored dice beside each other for it is an abomination.

Thou shall not place like numbered dice beside one another as the lion 5 shall not lie with the lamb 5.

Thou must follow the window pattern thoust selected at the beginning of the game because, while thou has freewill, some things are predetermined.

I think that's it...There may be something about coveting thy neighbors dice and maybe one about “Thou shall not kill the person who stole that bloody yellow die you needed.” but I think those are more suggestions than commandments.

The Die

Just as David pulled five smooth stones from the brook and put them in the shepherd’s bag shall you be putting dice into a bag. Put all 90 dice in there, shake them up real good, and aim for the head...no, wait, sorry, be fruitful and pull out dice equal to the number of players multiplied by two plus one.

David's Bag

They will sparkle in his land like jewels in a crown.” It's true, Sagrada has undeniable table presence, it draws the eye like..well, a beautiful stain glass window.

The Glass

Now, take turns selecting a die and placing in on your pattern using a aptly named Snake Draft, for the serpent of the garden will cause much woe. So, if you are the first one to take a dice, you are also the last one stuck with the final dice choice. You must always place your drafted dice next to an existing dice because (flips through commandments) “Something, something, cornerstone.”

All the stuff

(Glances Around the Cathedral) You know what? One of the things that grates me about Sagrada is that, while it is about building a stain glass masterpiece, it's a crap shoot (Ha! Dice Jokes) if you will be able to actually finish constructing one. Maybe it's my OCD but it also triggers my Oh, Crap, Don't you dare take that Yellow die I need to complete this monstrosity I've been building! And the thing is, you don't necessarily need to complete it in order to win. Your first concern should be your private goal, which inevitably nets you the most points with everyone's common goals like “Don't repeat a number in a column” taking the points back seat. It is a puzzle where you don't need all the pieces to complete it, which kind of makes my eye twitch (along with all of the polynomial games that don't give you enough moves to fully cover a board). Sure,it has luck mitigators in the shape of common “Tool Cards” that you can use to change colors or the numbers on the dice and they double down on the “gamei-ness” of these tools: Let him without sin cast the first favor stone to use the tool. To utilize it after someone has initially used it and it will cost you two Hail Marys...errr...favor tokens.

Stones

Some, probably heathens, have asked “Can you hate draft dice?” Well (double checks the cathedral) Sure, just hover your hand over a specific dice and watch who else at the table gives you a death stare. Will it come back to haunt you? Maybe, but probably no more so than picking the dice that best suits you on your turn and then having a famine of biblical proportions regarding that color appearing later in the game.

start

It is written that God saw all that he created and it was good. After playing Sagrada, I say “Well, It's...okay.” Nothing about it invokes passion or glory and whatever the other façades are called. It falls into that sub-section of visually attractive games that I don't dislike playing but are nothing I would actively seek out. It gives Sodoku-but-with-luck-limited-solutions vibes. I know that is not a rousing ending for the sermon I've just given but I'm really not in the mood after you took the blessed yellow die I needed when you literally could have taken almost any other die and it would have worked. Here is your hand basket and I have reserved you a special spot in H-E-double hockey sticks.

you chose...poorly

Photos

Alea iacta est : A Sagrada Board Game Review
Alea iacta est : A Sagrada Board Game Review
Alea iacta est : A Sagrada Board Game Review
Alea iacta est : A Sagrada Board Game Review
Alea iacta est : A Sagrada Board Game Review
Alea iacta est : A Sagrada Board Game Review
Alea iacta est : A Sagrada Board Game Review
Alea iacta est : A Sagrada Board Game Review

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Rating 
 
2.5
Sagrada
It is written that God saw all that he created and it was good. After playing Sagrada, I say “Well, It's...okay.” Nothing about it invokes passion or glory and whatever the other façades are called. It falls into that sub-section of visually attractive games that I don't dislike playing but are nothing I would actively seek out. It gives Sodoku-but-with-luck-limited-solutions vibes.
Wade Monnig  (He/Him)
Staff Board Game Reviewer

In west Saint Louis born and raised
Playing video games is where I spent most of my days
Strafing, Dashing, Adventuring and Looting
Writing reviews between all the Shooting
When a couple of guys reminded me what was so good
About playing games with cardboard and Wood,
Collecting Victory Points and those Miniatures with Flair
It’s not as easy as you think to rhyme with Bel Air.

Wade is the former editor in chief for Silicon Magazine and former senior editor for Gamearefun.com. He currently enjoys his games in the non-video variety, where the odds of a 14 year old questioning the legitimacy of your bloodline is drastically reduced.

“I’ll stop playing as Black when they invent a darker color.”

Articles by Wade

Wade Monnig
Staff Board Game Reviewer

Articles by Wade

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Log in to comment

Jackwraith's Avatar
Jackwraith replied the topic: #334980 12 Aug 2022 00:32
Excellent. It strikes me that there are so many games like this, among them Azul and its various contortions, that I really just have no interest in. In fact, the only reason I read this is because you wrote it and you began it with the quote attributed to Caesar.

History nerd moment: The idea that Caesar would have uttered something like "The die is cast" is actually in total contrast to his character, which was extremely confident and willing to dare many situations that more conventional Romans (the Optimates) would not. So, saying something that had such ominous overtones really wasn't Caesar, so to speak. Many historians think that, if the story isn't apocryphal (probably is) he would've said something like: "Let the dice fly." which is still appropriate for this game, of course.
ubarose's Avatar
ubarose replied the topic: #334986 12 Aug 2022 10:37
We play a lot of Sagrada with casual gamers - mostly my daughter and her friends. One of them even bought a copy for themselves. It’s easy to teach, and people just get it. It’s not about weird, nerd shit. It’s an engaging puzzle, but not so absorbing that you can’t socialize while playing.
WadeMonnig's Avatar
WadeMonnig replied the topic: #334990 12 Aug 2022 12:39

ubarose wrote: We play a lot of Sagrada with casual gamers - mostly my daughter and her friends. One of them even bought a copy for themselves. It’s easy to teach, and people just get it. It’s not about weird, nerd shit. It’s an engaging puzzle, but not so absorbing that you can’t socialize while playing.

We've played it alot because it is easy to teach and it's pretty. I always feel bad for someone when they realize they played a die "illegally" and have to remove dice until they are legal again...especially if it's because they were socializing and not paying close enough attention.
ubarose's Avatar
ubarose replied the topic: #334992 12 Aug 2022 12:56

WadeMonnig wrote:

ubarose wrote: We play a lot of Sagrada with casual gamers - mostly my daughter and her friends. One of them even bought a copy for themselves. It’s easy to teach, and people just get it. It’s not about weird, nerd shit. It’s an engaging puzzle, but not so absorbing that you can’t socialize while playing.

We've played it alot because it is easy to teach and it's pretty. I always feel bad for someone when they realize they played a die "illegally" and have to remove dice until they are legal again...especially if it's because they were socializing and not paying close enough attention.


That person is always me. Lol.
Virabhadra's Avatar
Virabhadra replied the topic: #334999 12 Aug 2022 16:32

ubarose wrote: It’s easy to teach, and people just get it. It’s not about weird, nerd shit. It’s an engaging puzzle, but not so absorbing that you can’t socialize while playing.


This is a real niche, and Sagrada fills it perfectly.