Front Page

Content

Board Games

Forums

Site Tools

Submissions

About

You May Also Like...

R
repoman
January 28, 2013
R
repoman
January 10, 2013
R
repoman
January 06, 2013
Hot
R
repoman
December 20, 2012
Hot
R
repoman
December 04, 2012
R
repoman
November 25, 2012
R
repoman
November 10, 2012
R
repoman
October 31, 2012
Hot
R
repoman
October 23, 2012
R
repoman
October 14, 2012
Hot
R
repoman
October 08, 2012
R
repoman
September 29, 2012
Hot
R
repoman
September 24, 2012
R
repoman
September 17, 2012
Hot
R
repoman
September 06, 2012
R
repoman
August 31, 2012

Hollywood's Legends of Horror Collection: Tow Jockey Five Second Review

Hot
R Updated
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
3047 0
Hollywood's Legends of Horror Collection: Tow Jockey Five Second Review
There Will Be Games

Hollywood's Legends of Horror Collection is a set of six horror movies released from 1932 to 1936. Seeing as this is allegedly a five second review, that leaves me less than one second apiece for each. Time! We are wasting valuable time. Come on, let's go!

Doctor X released in 1932 with a bunch of people you never heard of except for Fay Wray who plays the doctor's daughter. Some flashes of brilliance with set design and tone.The original premise is really cool and individual scenes really deliver but in the end it falls apart and left me disappointed.

The Return of Doctor X released in 1939 which has nothing really in common with Dr. X other than it's mad scientists run amok. Humphrey Bogart is in but does not star in this movie. Superior to the original in every way and overall entertaining.

Mad Love from 1935 and starring Peter Lorre as the creepiest stalker you've never met. And be glad because he is CREEPY. He is super great in this. The scene where he masquerades as an executed killer that has had his head reattached is worth the price of admission alone.

The Devil-Doll circa 1936 and starring Lionel Barrymore. More mad scientists causing trouble. A cool revenge flick and Lionel Barrymore is....Lionel Barrymore, awesome even as a cross dressing mad man. The special effects are pretty impressive for their time. Holds up right until the coda where we find our cold blooded killer to really be a daddy in search of his daughters love. LAME!

Mark of the Vampire from 1935. A horrible mess of a movie. Some visuals are quite good but the story. Holy fish! What a muddled mess and the ending! What the hell! What a let down. Lionel Barrymore is in this too as the "Van Helsing" character but even he can't save this movie from itself.

The Mask of Fu Manchu released in 1932 and starring Boris Karloff and Myrna Loy. Far and away the best movie of the bunch. Classic matinee pulp adventure. This collection has the uncut version with all the "offensive" racial and sexual material left in. So Good! Nothing really "horror" about it but this movie makes the collection.

 

 

There Will Be Games

This article was written by a member of There Will Be Games.

All regestered members may submit content to our site.
If you are interested in joining our team or becoming an associate or affiliate, please message us by clicking on the the red message icon in the upper corner of this box.  

This article was written by a member of
There Will Be Games.

All regestered members may submit content to our site.
If you are interested in joining our team or becoming an associate or affiliate, please message us by clicking on the the red message icon below.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account