Spotlight - Barney's Incorrect Five Second Reviews

Hot
BB Updated
Spotlight - Barney's Incorrect Five Second Reviews

Disclaimer: I'm Catholic. 

I barely won my Oscar pool no thanks to this film. I was sure the Academy would have picked Revenant, but I'm really glad they got it right and picked this instead. It's a far superior picture and if Mad Max isn't going to win, I prefer it losing to this. 

There is some great acting in this movie, especially from the supporting cast. Ruffalo is great but I'm loving Stanley Tucci and Brian d'Arcy James in this. I don't really know why McAdams got nominated and I'm not feeling Keaton's performance in some places. But overall it's just clicking along really well and every scene is fantastic. The only casting choice that's hard to swallow is the choice of McAdam's husband. That's the new standard for "marrying-up."

This film should makes a strong case against the 24-hour news cycle without even trying to do so. Does investigative journalism even exist anymore? Honestly, is John Oliver's Last Week Tonight the closest thing we have now? And it's not even making a dent. We're just overwhelmed with news media that isn't saying anything anymore. I think the last non-puff piece I've seen was when Time magazine did that expose on health care costs. That was as close to the level portrayed in this film that I've seen in recent history. 

Loved this movie. 

Heart rating: 5 stars

Brain rating: 4.5 stars

There Will Be Games

Editor review

1 reviews

(Updated: May 23, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Heart 
 
5.0
Brain 
 
4.5

Summary

Movie Title
Spotlight
Disclaimer: I'm Catholic.

I barely won my Oscar pool no thanks to this film. I was sure the Academy would have picked Revenant, but I'm really glad they got it right and picked this instead. It's a far superior picture and if Mad Max isn't going to win, I prefer it losing to this.
BB
Log in to comment

aaxiom's Avatar
aaxiom replied the topic: #223948 07 Mar 2016 15:32
I live under a rock when I'm not playing a doctor on blind radio. WHAT FILM is "this film"?

:D
Black Barney's Avatar
Black Barney replied the topic: #223955 07 Mar 2016 16:22
....Spotlight?

I only said 'this film' three times. Is that too many? I need an editor :(
Grudunza's Avatar
Grudunza replied the topic: #223956 07 Mar 2016 16:28
In the title: Spotlight.

The thing I love the most about this is how well it tells a complex story, and getting to a lot of the impact of that, without bogging down in character things. Other movies might have focused more on the reporters' lives, created some kind of relationship side story, etc. I think that Ruffalo was oddly affected in his role, which made it stand out compared to the others who were more low key, and that was both good and too much at times.
aaxiom's Avatar
aaxiom replied the topic: #223958 07 Mar 2016 16:36
Ooo, yeah. That's where it is. I thought you were "shining a spotlight" on the film through your review.

Apologies. I don't get out much.
Sevej's Avatar
Sevej replied the topic: #223972 07 Mar 2016 19:21
I really need to watch this... not sure if I'd have the time...
Black Barney's Avatar
Black Barney replied the topic: #223975 07 Mar 2016 19:35
I know what u mean. It was top of my must see list since Festivus and I only saw it in MARCH cuz it was on a plane. I'm really glad I made the time.

I then attempted to watch the last Hunger Games and gave up when Stephen King's killer oil slick showed up.

...actually that's not true. that's when I first thought to myself if original ideas even exist anymore. I kept watching and twenty boring minutes later, a bunch of tunnel dwelling creatures that look like a total knockoff of Pan's Labyrinth spliced with Silent Hill showed up, making me question how these things are generated when we're not in the arena, before I yelled "that's IT'' and slammed my rented iPad Air II shut before remembering I was on a sold out plane. I'm lucky the air Marshall didn't come running making me void my bowels or whatever they do
Columbob's Avatar
Columbob replied the topic: #223990 08 Mar 2016 09:04

Black Barney wrote: ....Spotlight?

I only said 'this film' three times. Is that too many? I need an editor :(


In your defence, you also mixed it up a bit with one mention of "this movie".
Deleted's Avatar
Deleted replied the topic: #223993 08 Mar 2016 10:38
I liked it, but I cannot envision how it won any marks for acting. Yes, they acted like reporters. If anything, the only guy who should've won was the diddling priest who claimed "to get no joy from it". That guy creeped me the fuck out.

Everyone else was passable. That's why I hate the Oscars....so many other movies were better all-around.
jpat's Avatar
jpat replied the topic: #224001 08 Mar 2016 11:49
As I said elsewhere, I liked it, thought it was above average, but found it heavy handed in places (guy hanging around a midnight Mass, listening to a children's choir!) and actually still too "character" driven (too much, for me, about the reporters' reactions and feelings--show, don't tell).
Black Barney's Avatar
Black Barney replied the topic: #224016 08 Mar 2016 16:36

SuperflyTNT wrote: ..so many other movies were better all-around.


I'll challenge that. I don't think there were "many other" movies that were better. Mad Max and Inside Out, and that's it. Oscar got it pretty close to right here. Remember, REVENANT was supposed to win! That would have sucked.

I agree that no one really deserves much acting nods here. It's really an ensemble piece. i don't think any one sticks out greatly. I still honestly can't understand McAdams' nomination. What did they see there!? It was fine but that was it.
Newsguy's Avatar
Newsguy replied the topic: #224727 22 Mar 2016 23:01
"We're just overwhelmed with news media that isn't saying anything anymore."

I hear you. But isn't that what we wanted when we decided to ditch newspapers and read only what we could get for free on Facebook?