Front Page

Content

Board Games

Forums

Site Tools

Submissions

About

You May Also Like...

R
repoman
January 28, 2013
R
repoman
January 10, 2013
R
repoman
January 06, 2013
Hot
R
repoman
December 20, 2012
Hot
R
repoman
December 04, 2012
R
repoman
November 25, 2012
R
repoman
November 10, 2012
R
repoman
October 31, 2012
Hot
R
repoman
October 23, 2012
R
repoman
October 14, 2012
Hot
R
repoman
October 08, 2012
R
repoman
September 29, 2012
Hot
R
repoman
September 24, 2012
R
repoman
September 17, 2012
Hot
R
repoman
September 06, 2012
R
repoman
August 31, 2012

All the Money in the World - Barney's Incorrect Five Second Reviews

BB Updated
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
2222 0
All the Money in the World - Barney's Incorrect Five Second Reviews
There Will Be Games

Had no idea what this was about, and went alone. I had heard that Kevin Spacey got replaced by Christopher Plummer and that's all I knew.

Overall it's a good tense ransom movie but it is very far from great. I don't think Mark Whalberg has the chops for this type of role, but it's not an especially interesting character to play in his defence. Christopher Plummer (who i admire) plays almost the exact same character from Inside Man, so that's annoying.

I mostly just enjoyed the scenes in Italy of the kidnappee with his caretaker (really well played by Romain Duris), which were the most dynamic and authentic exchanges in the film. Then all of a sudden, this scene of hyper-violence comes out of nowhere and I found it very jarring and disturbing. i was really glad I didn't bring my mother to see it with me (I almost did).

So basically "uneven" would be the best descriptive for this. Overall it's fine, but doesn't ascend beyond that.

 

Heart rating: 4 stars

Brain rating: 3.5 stars

There Will Be Games

This article was written by a member of There Will Be Games.

All regestered members may submit content to our site.
If you are interested in joining our team or becoming an associate or affiliate, please message us by clicking on the the red message icon in the upper corner of this box.  

This article was written by a member of
There Will Be Games.

All regestered members may submit content to our site.
If you are interested in joining our team or becoming an associate or affiliate, please message us by clicking on the the red message icon below.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account