Front Page

Content

Authors

Game Index

Forums

Site Tools

Submissions

About

You May Also Like...

R
repoman
January 28, 2013
Hot
R
repoman
January 10, 2013
R
repoman
January 06, 2013
Hot
R
repoman
December 20, 2012
Hot
R
repoman
December 04, 2012
Hot
R
repoman
November 25, 2012
Hot
R
repoman
November 10, 2012
R
repoman
October 31, 2012
Hot
R
repoman
October 23, 2012
R
repoman
October 14, 2012
Hot
R
repoman
October 08, 2012
Hot
R
repoman
September 29, 2012
Hot
R
repoman
September 24, 2012
Hot
R
repoman
September 17, 2012
Hot
R
repoman
September 06, 2012
Hot
R
repoman
August 31, 2012
Hot

Cold War - Barney's Incorrect Five Second Reviews

BB Updated
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
905 0
1547754118-paris
There Will Be Games

If Roma hadn’t come out in 2018, this would have been a LOCK for best foreign language film.

This Polish/German/French black-and-white movie is a love story not unlike A Star is Born. It is BEAUTIFULLY filmed and I was in awe of the art direction of some of the shots, especially anything shot in the theatres.

The first half of the movie is almost entirely music, which doesn’t make this a musical at all in my opinion, even if some people are categorizing it as such. The movie starts in 1946 Poland with a couple of music directors trying to put together a folk show to promote Polish culture. It quickly becomes a romantic drama from there.

Joanna Kulig is incredible in this and steals every scene she’s in. She’s often in a scene or piece with dozens of others but you can’t take your eyes off her. She has hugely expressive eyes and is very noticeable. Tomasz Kot is super strong as Wiktor and adds a great deal of gravitas to each of his scenes. Very old school Hollywood look and a stark contrast to what we see nowadays.

Also a contrast to what we see today is how this is told. There is so much they purposely AREN’T telling us, they place a huge reliance on the audience to connect-the-dots. I know I didn’t put it all together but I’m sure I felt exactly what I’m supposed to have felt. I even talked to the screen at one point. I was pretty immersed.

I loved the music, I loved the love story, it’s a very moving film. Very believable, very real. I wish I had seen it with someone. It’s hard to experience that ending alone.

 

Heart rating: 4.5 stars

Brain rating: 4 stars

There Will Be Games

This article was written by a member of There Will Be Games.

All regestered members may submit content to our site.
If you are interested in joining our team or becoming an associate or affiliate, please message us by clicking on the the red message icon in the upper corner of this box.  

This article was written by a member of
There Will Be Games.

All regestered members may submit content to our site.
If you are interested in joining our team or becoming an associate or affiliate, please message us by clicking on the the red message icon below.

Editor review

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Heart 
 
4.5
Brain 
 
4.0
Movie Title
Cold War
BB

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account