Editorial Content

2183 results - showing 1 - 10
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... »
Ordering
Cartagena 2nd Edition
Rants & Raves U ubarose Updated February 21, 2019 136   0
This pirate themed racing game was once the go-to filler game at every game day. Designed by Leo Colovini, and published in 2000, it was a Spiel des Jahres Recommendation in 2001. Cartagena's theme is the 1672 pirate-led jailbreak from the dreaded fortress of Cartagena. It came with a little story about it, so you got a little history lesson with the your game. It also included two variations,  Jamaica and Tortuga, which play really quite differntly from each other in 2006 a sequel - Cartagena II was released. The current Cartagena 2nd...
Battletech - 35th Anniversary Beginner's Box
 
5.0
Board Game Reviews MB Michael Barnes Updated February 21, 2019 482   0
Celebrating 35 years of overheating Mad Cats.
romanaqueducts2
Rants & Raves S Sagrilarus Updated February 21, 2019 611   0
Were you born 200 years too early, or 200 years too late?
Zg4RuVPc8pnb4Rd23sN9by6Jfx8t6O_large
Essays J JonathanVolk Updated February 20, 2019 750   0
Jonathan Volk returns to try and figure out what play is (and why some of the most playful people we know might opt out of playing games). This is Part 1 of a longer series called A Seat at the Table, which examines the ways we construct and close off our game tables.
asc1_500x
Analysis J Jackwraith Updated February 20, 2019 1529   0
Star Trek as a phenomenon. How its peoples and the way they changed can be viewed through the best game ever made for it.
pic4059839
 
4.0
Board Game Reviews MT Matt Thrower Updated February 18, 2019 1690   0
Until today, my knowledge of Rhodesia came from the voice of Bob Marley. He's singing it now in the background, as I scour the web for more detailed, if less impassioned, sources. Africans did a-liberate Zimbabwe in the end, of course, and the story of how it happened is on the table next to me. The White Tribe, a folio game on the Zimbabwe War of Liberation.
Heroscape Master Set
Rants & Raves U ubarose Updated February 19, 2019 1521   0
Heroscape, the game that made tabletop miniature gaming accessible and brought it to the masses. Along with prompting the sale of a butt ton of giant plastic tubs to store it in.
001078d7-500
 
3.5
Movies and Television BB Black Barney Updated February 14, 2019 652   0
Ouf… this movie has lots of heart but is dumb as rocks and hard to watch. For sure there is a movie out there waiting to be made on tinkers (Irish gypsies), but this isn’t it. Instead we have this film, that promotes hitting as a solution to one’s problems. Especially against women. It’s the story of a 15-year old girl who dreams of boxing and Ali, and is trying to get by living in a tinker camp/community, taking care of her younger brother Patrick, after losing her mom and seeing her dad...
stoner parking lot 1
 
3.5
Board Game Reviews W WadeMonnig Updated January 31, 2019 1550   2
Dude, Where's my Cards?
Urban Manhunt
Interviews U ubarose Updated February 11, 2019 1218   0
Cynthia Celeste Miller, game designer, role playing game author and President of Spectrum Games will be joining us today to answer your questions about her new game, Urban Manhunt, as well as any other questions you might have regarding her work.
2183 results - showing 1 - 10
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... »