Front Page

Content

Authors

Game Index

Forums

Site Tools

Submissions

About

Reviews written by Gary Sax

117 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2 3 4 5 6 ... »
Ordering
July 23, 2021
Rating 
 
4.0
GS
Gary Sax
July 23, 2021
Rating 
 
4.0
Arkham Horror The Card Game
GS
Gary Sax
December 15, 2020
Rating 
 
2.5
Board Games

My partner and I found very little in this game besides an extremely pleasant theme and a basic, kind of boring, engine builder. Very happy this game is out in the mainstream for people to enjoy though, I think it's a nice light experience for people looking for something to do after dinner or something.

GS
Gary Sax
December 15, 2020
Rating 
 
2.5
Board Games

I completely see why this is so popular, but it is kind of a dud for me, more of an activity. It's more is more is more tableau builder. Huge numbers of cards that give you incremental advantages. I find the milestones and goals to be a particularly clumsy and unwelcome design kludge.

GS
Gary Sax
December 15, 2020 (Updated: December 15, 2020)
Rating 
 
3.0
Board Games

I wanted to like this more than I did, but I struggle with the choose your own adventure stuff because replaying content isn't at the top of my list. I guess I prefer games that generate content procedurally or in a partially planned fashion, feels like they leverage the medium better.

GS
Gary Sax
December 15, 2020
Rating 
 
3.0

Seemed fine when I played it.

GS
Gary Sax
December 15, 2020
Rating 
 
4.0
Board Games

This is fighty enough that maybe it's not completely thematic to the original series or whatever, but what a cool thing it is. Old school, though, maybe too old school and long. It expects a lot of the players and doesn't slot super easily into a short evening unless players are light speed snappy.

GS
Gary Sax
December 15, 2020
Rating 
 
3.5

This is a gonzo version of the later, more manageable (and maybe better) Forbidden Stars. The order system creates all kinds of good moments and strategy, but I don't know that it's quite... thematic?

GS
Gary Sax
December 15, 2020
Rating 
 
2.5

Poor expansion.

GS
Gary Sax
December 15, 2020
Rating 
 
4.0

Far better than the first expansion for this game, though, you really do have to play this game as a random thing to do between to people in an evening type thing. Not the most strategic game of all time.

GS
Gary Sax
117 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2 3 4 5 6 ... »