Reviews written by Matt Thrower

163 results - showing 1 - 10
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... »
Ordering
May 12, 2019
Board Game Reviews 
 
4.0
Board Game Reviews

A quirky approach to history undermines the theme, but The Romans uses it well to deliver an interesting, innovative approach to conquest in a balanced and deep Euro-esque design.

MT
Matt Thrower
May 06, 2019
Rating 
 
5.0
Board Games

Atmospheric, exciting and brilliant.

MT
Matt Thrower
May 06, 2019
Board Game Reviews 
 
5.0
Board Game Reviews
MT
Matt Thrower
May 06, 2019
Rating 
 
4.0

I know nothing about Drizzt, so the thematic elements of this are somewhat lost on me. And that's key - there are sacrifices made here in gameplay terms to up the theme and narrative, which totally bypass me. It's still good fun though, and I particularly like the competitive adventures, but for me it's the weakest of the three adventure system games. But if you love Drizzt, you might well feel the opposite.

MT
Matt Thrower
May 06, 2019
Board Game Reviews 
 
4.0
Board Game Reviews
MT
Matt Thrower
May 06, 2019
Rating 
 
3.0

Sold medium-light card game that bizarrely manages, with the help of some clever mechanics, cool art and flavour text, to actually feel more like Blood Bowl that Blood Bowl does. It's biggest fault is a nasty tension between wanting to analyse and the desperate need to keep the game playing quickly. Once you've overcome that, which may take a few games, it's a delight.

MT
Matt Thrower
May 06, 2019
Board Game Reviews 
 
3.0
Board Game Reviews
MT
Matt Thrower
May 06, 2019
Rating 
 
5.0
Board Games

A sublime mix of strategies make for a truly gripping game which can take years to master. This is the multiplayer conflict game that avoids all the issues that usually plague multiplayer conflict games. The more I play this the better it gets - but beware the absurdly long play time! 

MT
Matt Thrower
May 06, 2019
Board Game Reviews 
 
5.0
Board Game Reviews
MT
Matt Thrower
May 06, 2019
Rating 
 
4.0

Theme emerging directly from the gameplay and a fine and unexpected marriage of bluffing and strategy.

MT
Matt Thrower
163 results - showing 1 - 10
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... »