October 09, 2023
2451 0
O
oliverkinne
October 06, 2023
2654 0

Outback Crossing Review

Board Game Reviews
Bugs: Recent Topics Paging, Uploading Images & Preview (11 Dec 2020)

Recent Topics paging, uploading images and preview bugs require a patch which has not yet been released.

× Talk about collectible card here.

Looking back into Magic

More
22 Dec 2012 12:44 #140143 by Erik Twice
We have been discussing the game a fair bit lately and I have been looking into it again, this time with another eyes and a lot of experience in my back.

And looking back makes me feel like a grognard. Even though I started playing during Kamigawa I have always looked at older sets and played exclusively in Extended. I like Magic when it has a certain crazyness to it, when cards are a bit unfair in a sense and even though I played Tooth and Nail I always sneered at Standard, which to me has always lacked a bit of an edge.

And outside of Legacy, I feel the game is a bit like that now. It's better designed, it's more balanced but dammit, it lacks the crazyness it had before, now things seem underpriced or overcosted but they are not as intrinsically dangerous as older cards were. Modern decks kill in three turns, which is insanely fast, but they do it through good solid cards not by crazy rule-bending. I don't know, everything is more specific, more intended which is both good and bad in a sense. (Though 3 turn kills in Modern is pretty fucked up).

Anyways, how come there's so much Blue hate lately? I browsed some forums and it was everywhere, which surprises me when the best counterspell most players will see is Dissipate or Cancel.

Oh, well, I don't really care, there's always Legacy if I want to come back. Meanwhile I got the idea of making some good old classic decks and pitting them against other with my friends, nothing overly serious and more accesible than cube or draft. And playing classic Necropotence and Post-bannings Trix is just a lot of fun if you ask me!

Thoughts?