October 09, 2023
2455 0
O
oliverkinne
October 06, 2023
2657 0

Outback Crossing Review

Board Game Reviews
Bugs: Recent Topics Paging, Uploading Images & Preview (11 Dec 2020)

Recent Topics paging, uploading images and preview bugs require a patch which has not yet been released.

× Connect with other board gamers and organize online gaming here.

Want to try out PBEM

More
10 Jan 2011 10:49 #83962 by edulis
Want to try out PBEM was created by edulis
I am interested in playing some games by email, I have never tried it before, but seems to be something I would enjoy.

How exactly does it work? Does one player simply email the other and say I move piece a and b to square 7 and piece c to square 8 and so forth? How does dice rolling work?

I received a copy of hammer of the scots for yule and with my gaming buddies I think it will collect dust, so I would like to try that on PBEM, but would be happy to try others,as I have way too many games collectiong dust.

Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 Jan 2011 11:23 - 10 Jan 2011 11:24 #83967 by Matt Thrower
Most PBEM uses a moderation and/or automation service of some sort. There are all sorts of moderation services, some of them web-based and others are applications you can download.

In the latter category the most popular is a Java app called Vassal ( www.vassalengine.org ). Vassal is gives you a basic software package for which you can then download modules for the games you want to play. Each module is basically a user interface for that game: so, a board, dice to roll, pieces and cards you can drag around, and "private" windows that the other players can't see for you to stash private stuff.