October 09, 2023
2218 0
O
oliverkinne
October 06, 2023
2438 0

Outback Crossing Review

Board Game Reviews
Bugs: Recent Topics Paging, Uploading Images & Preview (11 Dec 2020)

Recent Topics paging, uploading images and preview bugs require a patch which has not yet been released.

× A place to talk about stuff that doesn't belong anywhere else.

Blockbuster Boardgames?

More
20 May 2019 09:02 - 20 May 2019 09:05 #297319 by Sagrilarus
I'm trying to predict the future and it's apparent I'm not very good at it. But something coasted through here last week that got me to thinking, so I'll pose the question: are we going to see the equivalent of a Blockbuster Video for board games?

Local game stores are starting to get a new footing and to some extent it reminds me of the days of movie rental shops run by small businessmen and women, often family owned. They got steamrolled by the likes of Blockbuster Video and in the time of Blockbuster's heyday it seemed to be the 300 pound gorilla that no one could stop. Things came to an abrupt end for Blockbuster, but that's because there was an alternative delivery method for their product that was much cheaper and much easier, and Blockbuster had so damaged their relationship with their customers that people actually wanted them to fail.

So last week a guy is whining about ordering 3000 copies of Wingspan for his stores, and Stonemaier not fulfilling the order. That debate has happened here already.

But back up -- this guy was ordering 3000 copies, indicating he was an umbrella for 22 companies. Sounds kind of franchise-ish to me. Best guess is he's not ordering 136 copies per store, so each company likely has multiple locations.

Here's the question -- is Blockbuster Boardgames coming to our towns? Are we going to get an "all stores carry the same core grouping of board game products" experience at some point in the next five years?
Last edit: 20 May 2019 09:05 by Sagrilarus.