October 09, 2023
2494 0
O
oliverkinne
October 06, 2023
2697 0

Outback Crossing Review

Board Game Reviews
Bugs: Recent Topics Paging, Uploading Images & Preview (11 Dec 2020)

Recent Topics paging, uploading images and preview bugs require a patch which has not yet been released.

RPG recommendation for beginners

More
05 Jul 2013 04:55 #155854 by Dr. Mabuse
My kids were asking me about the Sherlock Holmes game I was playing (the old blue box) and the ensuing discussion led to the old D&D choose your own path books I read to them when they were younger.

The short of it is, both my kids expressed interest in trying D&D. I don't want to shell out a shitload on this as my kids' track record with gaming in the past few years has been, well...nil.

I have zero experience with RPGs so any guidance would be great.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
05 Jul 2013 08:55 #155861 by DukeofChutney
Keep it cheap and simple.

Theres quite a few free PDFs kicking around, and some RPGs go very cheap in the second hand market on ebay.

Labyrith Lord, and Dungeon Crawl Classics are both retro DnD clones but with the rules tightened up for the modern world. You can get free PDFs of both; Labyrinth Lord is available from The goblionoid games website, and DCC has its beta rules as a free download. DCC is slightly simpler than LL. LL keeps the same stat system as original DnD and uses a fancy table to flip the dice results around.

If you want an actual book copys of the original DnD box set (DnD Basic) come up on ebay at a fairly regular clip. Its not a complex game by all accounts (i have actually read the books though).