Front Page

Content

Authors

Game Index

Forums

Site Tools

Submissions

About

You May Also Like...

O
oliverkinne
December 04, 2020
W
whowhatwhycast
December 03, 2020
T
thegiantbrain
December 02, 2020

Episode 60 - Critical Strike

Podcasts & Videos
W
We-reNotWizards
December 01, 2020

Zombie Kidz Evolution Review

Podcasts & Videos
G
GrantLyon
November 30, 2020
B
boardgameinquisition
November 26, 2020
W
whowhatwhycast
November 25, 2020
U
ubarose
November 23, 2020
B
boardgameinquisition
November 19, 2020

Macaron Kickstarter Preview

Podcasts & Videos
W
whowhatwhycast
November 18, 2020
T
TabletopIsland
November 17, 2020
O
oliverkinne
November 13, 2020
W
whowhatwhycast
November 11, 2020
T
TabletopIsland
November 10, 2020
G
GrantLyon
November 09, 2020

Planet - Grant's Game Recs

Podcasts & Videos
B
boardgameinquisition
November 05, 2020

Omega Virus (1992) - Vintage Board Game Review

T Updated
Vintage Board Game Review: Omega Virus (1992)

Podcast/Video Details

Channel Name

Game Information

Game Name
Designer
Players
1 - 4
There Will Be Games

A game where you collect access cards and weapons to destroy the Virus before it's too late?!

Omega Virus Review

There Will Be Games

Bernardo Rodriguez (He/Him)
Associate Content Creator

Bernardo is Puerto Rican, but was born in Germany (Dad was in the military). He is a professional magician who has created magic effects for magicians all around the world, as well as a multimedia production professional who worked for a few years for some pretty awesome companies (Adidas, GK Elite, etc.) (Adidas, GK Elite, etc.). Although he now works at a bank, he continues to exercise his multimedia skills and creativity to create outrageous reviews and parody commercials for board games on Tabletop Island.

Articles by Bernardo Rodriguez

Log in to comment

ubarose's Avatar
ubarose replied the topic: #312202 19 Jul 2020 12:14
Thanks for the reminder to check the batteries for leakage. We now have a clean and repair project for the day.
Sagrilarus's Avatar
Sagrilarus replied the topic: #312213 19 Jul 2020 17:48
Love your reviews. Love your approach and your set. Even your pacing is right.

I also really enjoy reviews for older games, as they’re more accessible to me. If I want Cold Turkey I can go out and buy it now without waiting for some preorder period to come to an end. Great stuff.

I owned Omega Virus and enjoyed it, and at the time it felt like the machine really had presence. It didn’t, since it sets the location of everything in advance but the design is such that that concept falls into the background. Really a neat package.
TabletopIsland's Avatar
TabletopIsland replied the topic: #313166 17 Aug 2020 00:04
It's always overlooked and it saddens me to see electronic games not work because peeps weren't aware and it corrodes :/
TabletopIsland's Avatar
TabletopIsland replied the topic: #313167 17 Aug 2020 00:05
Thanks Buddy! I got for a real impromptu format and I'm glad you enjoy it! :D
SebastianBludd's Avatar
SebastianBludd replied the topic: #313180 17 Aug 2020 10:33
I'm a soft touch for games that incorporate an electronic widget to run the game: Stop Thief, Break the Safe, Electronic Mall Madness, Dark Tower.

Omega Virus is top-tier in this subgenre and I stupidly traded the copy I picked up from a flea market for $3. I might pick up another copy unless the reprint absolutely blows me away. The garish early 90's aesthetic is a significant part of its charm and if they decide to make the game look more "serious" by seeing how many different shades of gray they can slather on the board then I'm not interested.