Editorial Content

2194 results - showing 1 - 10
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... »
Ordering
untitled_artwork
Articles J JonathanVolk Updated March 19, 2019 2316   0
Jonathan Volk continues with Episode 2 of A Seat at the Table, looking at gaming’s obsession with serious, “complex” games. The first episode, “Playtime”, can be found here.
pic3477004
 
3.0
Board Game Reviews MT Matt Thrower Updated March 18, 2019 1068   0
The house hums with the quiet comfort of visitors. In the front room, the low coffee table is ceremonially cleared of cider cans and chocolate. Curious faces crowd the doorway. Under all the scrutiny, I begin to get a little nervous. The Dice Forge box I'm unboxing contains a sleeve which contains a tray which contains dozens of carefully-sorted plastic dice faces. Will the elastic holding it keep all the faces in their places as I've jiggled and joggled the box in transit?
Age of Steam Board Game
Analysis J Juniper Updated March 15, 2019 1480   0
With the new Age of Steam Kickstarter, the old Age of Steam Legal dispute has resurfaced. As some people may be unfamiliar with the dispute we are reprinting this article originall published here in 2009 with an added up date from March 14, 2019,
and then we died
 
3.0
Board Game Reviews W WadeMonnig Updated March 12, 2019 1120   2
Live fast, die young, and have a good sounding story.
pic43828
Analysis J Jackwraith Updated March 12, 2019 1747   0
A slow-moving wargame that's often as much history lesson as game experience.
Stone Age Board Game
Rants & Raves U ubarose March 08, 2019 826   0
The Anniversary Edition of Stone Age was recently released. That means this game is old, but clearly still popular enough that Z-man believes people will spend an extra $30 for a deluxe anniversary edition. Word is that the leather dice cup in the Anniversary Edition stinks just as much as it did in the original Stone Age.  But does the game stink too? What's your opinion? 
streamliner
Analysis X xthexlo Updated March 07, 2019 1443   0
I generally dislike spending time and energy streamlining my game designs. To people who know my work, that’s probably a pretty obvious statement. Given the choice, I’ll always opt to move onto a fresh project rather than polish and tweak and refine.
freshbrain2
 
2.0
Board Game Reviews W WadeMonnig Updated March 05, 2019 988   1
Building an imperfect beast.
pic4200779
 
4.0
Board Game Reviews MT Matt Thrower Updated March 03, 2019 2462   0
On a 14th of October some years ago, I locked shields with the big, hairy man next to me and raised my sword. We waited for the enemy to come. "Someone should make a film about the Battle of Hastings," observed the big man, passing time as we waited to die. "It wouldn't need a fancy title: just 1066. Everyone would know."
Tigris & Euphrates Board Game
Rants & Raves U ubarose Updated February 28, 2019 1212   1
Considered by many to be Reiner Knizia's masterpiece, Tigris & Euphrates is a " tactically rich, intense strategy game with lots of conflict (unusual in a German game)."  Originally published in 1997 by Hans im Glück, it has been now been in print for over 20 years. Does that make it a classic? However, many are now saying that the recently released Yellow & Yangtze surpasses Tigris & Euphrates. What do you think? Is Yellow & Yangtze or Tigris & Euphrates the better game? Do you one, or both or neither? 
2194 results - showing 1 - 10
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... »