Board Game Reviews

756 results - showing 11 - 20
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... »
Ordering
Meltwater: A Game of Tactical Startvation
 
3.0
M MasonSokol Updated May 22, 2019 1334   0
Meltwater is a neat two player wargame about tactically trying to starve your opponent in the middle of the now nuclear wasteland of Antarctica
Monster Fight Club's Monster Terrain - Preview
 
0.0
MB Michael Barnes Updated May 23, 2019 1623   0
No more insulation foam and aquarium plants - Monster Terrain is an excellent "easy" terrain option.
Retro Review: WWE Superstar Showdown
 
3.0
A AndrewMcAlpine Updated May 23, 2019 1050   0

Game Information

A look back at the greatest wrestling game that almost was.
Yellow and Yangtze Board Game Review
 
4.0
W WadeMonnig Updated May 21, 2019 1541   2

Game Information

I'm not sure you can review Yellow & Yangtze without at least mentioning Tigris & Euphrates, so I'm not even going to attempt it. Both are designed by Reiner Knizia , both center around twin rivers and they share a majority of concepts and mechanisms. I am by no means aTigris & Euphrates aficionado: I'm more of a peripheral player. I thoroughly enjoyed all of my plays, I adored the strategy but I had to be honest with myself, it was always going to be a game that I played another person's copy of. I was simply never going...
Call to Adventure Board Game
 
3.0
E ecargo Updated May 21, 2019 1480   0

Game Information

Whether it’s spending hours staring at a character creation screen or rolling dice for just the right stats, there’s something about creating your own character that is so satisfying. You can’t help but wonder where that character will go and what story will unfold along the way. Call to Adventure gives you the opportunity to distill hours of storytelling while comfortably fitting into a weeknight evening.
Path of Light and Shadow
 
4.0
M MasonSokol Updated May 16, 2019 1779   0

Game Information

Path of Light and Shadow is, hands down, the most underrated game of the past couple of years. It is by no means perfect, but it may be one of my favorite games. It is a shame that just about no one has even heard about it.
Flamme Rouge Peloton Expansion Board Game Review
 
3.5
W WadeMonnig Updated May 25, 2019 1309   2

Game Information

*Cues up Queen* “I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like You say black, I say white You say bark, I say bite You say shark, I say: Hey, man Jaws was never my scene And I don't like Star Wars” I'm pretty sure Freddie meant the Prequels.
Play Matt: The Romans Review
 
4.0
MT Matt Thrower Updated May 13, 2019 1708   0
The chit-chat dies down, replaced by expectant faces all around the table. Fingers fiddle with baggies, lips smack over a beer but still, the sense of anticipation hangs like a crouching cat. They're waiting for me to help them make sense of the jumble of cards, chits and lovely legionnaire meeples by explaining some rules. Which I have read, of course. It's only now, with all eyes on me, that I realise I can't match the pieces on the table with the words in the book.
Fog of Love
 
5.0
M MasonSokol Updated May 10, 2019 1556   0

Game Information

Game Name
Fog of Love is great if you can get into the roleplaying” is a refrain I’ve heard endlessly and couldn’t disagree with more. I can’t stand the roleplaying aspect of the game, yet it rests firmly among my most favorite games ever made.  This isn’t to say the roleplaying is bad. I know people who love that aspect. It just isn’t why I love the game.
Haven Board Game Review
 
4.0
A AndrewMcAlpine Updated May 08, 2019 1855   0

Game Information

Game Name
Either save paradise or put up a parking lot.
756 results - showing 11 - 20
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... »