You May Also Like...

W
WadeMonnig
December 11, 2019
MB
Michael Barnes
December 05, 2019
V
Vysetron
December 05, 2019

Mr. Face Review

Reviews
T
thegiantbrain
November 26, 2019
D
DavidNorris
November 21, 2019
W
WadeMonnig
November 20, 2019
MT
Matt Thrower
November 18, 2019
V
Vysetron
November 14, 2019
W
WadeMonnig
November 13, 2019
T
thegiantbrain
November 12, 2019
MB
Michael Barnes
November 11, 2019
  • Reviews
  • Cartooner: The Fast and Furious Game of Drawing Comics - Board Game Review

Cartooner: The Fast and Furious Game of Drawing Comics - Board Game Review

W Updated October 08, 2019
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
1349 2
Cartooner: The fast and furious game of drawing comics Board Game Review
There Will Be Games

There may be winners and losers in Cartooner but, rest assured, it is always a draw *rimshot*

Remember the ad in the old magazines that asked “Can you draw Tippy The Turtle?”

  Tippy

When I sent my drawing off to the “Art Instruction School”, they wrote back saying “Stick to writing.” So, a game entitled Cartooner which revolves around the ability to draw a comic strip in a limited amount of time isn't exactly my forte.

Instead of relying the tired “Let's all vote on what the best drawing is!” trope, Cartooner uses a system where points are allocated for achieving certain goals each round. For instance, you receive one Fame point for each of your themes/obsessions (which are dealt to you at the beginning of the game and that you keep the entire time) that you included in your comic. You can also earn two Fame points for using three or fewer Word Balloons on your page (which gets harder and harder as the number of frames you must fill increases each round.). You also get Two Fame for filling in every panel with at least SOMETHING (awww...it's the participation trophy of Cartooner).

I feel attacked

I feel attacked.

As the game progresses, Trends are added to the mix, which reflect what hot topic is currently burning up the market(internet). Is it a sell out if you “Hit the Woah!” with your latest comic or add those cute, cuddly Furbys playing with a shiny new set of Pogs? (I may be a bit rusty on what is “boss” and hip these days).

Trends


Cartooner doesn't entirely rely upon artistic ability but, instead, leans toward being quick on your mind when creating under pressure (even with the eight minute time limit in beginner/student mode). Learning to judiciously use sound effects and symbols is a must. However, in most of our games, the “winner” was the player who didn't forget a rule or two that would get them points at the end of a round. We had lots of “Damn, I used too many word balloons” decide the winner. Depending on how competitive you are at games, even a distinctly party game like this, it might not sit well with you.


If any of this sounds hauntingly familiar, it is likely because Cartooner is the successor/westernized version/expansion to/of Mangaka: The fast and furious game of drawing comics. The distinct lack of a Tentacle Porn theme card makes me think that some concessions were made when “Westernizing” the game. What you will find are theme cards that could double for “Pick a Board Game Theme for your Kickstarter” with offerings like vampires, zombies and amusement parks.

Supporting up to eight players, Cartooner could fill that Party Game niche...if you can get your party over the “I can't draw” anxiety hump. If the concept sounds like something that you would enjoy, then you most likely will. It executes what it sets out to do very well and, with everyone drawing at the same time, moves along at a reasonable clip.

Photos

Cartooner: The fast and furious game of drawing comics
Cartooner: The fast and furious game of drawing comics Board Game Review
Cartooner: The fast and furious game of drawing comics Board Game Review
Cartooner: The fast and furious game of drawing comics Board Game Review

Editor review

1 reviews

Board Game Reviews 
 
3.0
Cartooner: The fast and furious game of drawing comics
Cartooner could fill that Party Game niche...if you can get your party over the “I can't draw” anxiety hump. If the concept sounds like something that you would enjoy, then you most likely will. It executes what it sets out to do very well and, with everyone drawing at the same time, moves along at a reasonable clip.
Wade Monnig  (He/Him)
Staff Board Game Reviewer

In west Saint Louis born and raised
Playing video games is where I spent most of my days
Strafing, Dashing, Adventuring and Looting
Writing reviews between all the Shooting
When a couple of guys reminded me what was so good
About playing games with cardboard and Wood,
Collecting Victory Points and those Miniatures with Flair
It’s not as easy as you think to rhyme with Bel Air.

Wade is the former editor in chief for Silicon Magazine and former senior editor for Gamearefun.com. He currently enjoys his games in the non-video variety, where the odds of a 14 year old questioning the legitimacy of your bloodline is drastically reduced.

“I’ll stop playing as Black when they invent a darker color.”

Articles by Wade

Wade Monnig
Staff Board Game Reviewer

Articles by Wade

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Log in to comment

hotseatgames's Avatar
hotseatgames replied the topic: #302134 02 Oct 2019 11:19
I don't know.... sounds pretty sketchy.
WadeMonnig's Avatar
WadeMonnig replied the topic: #302136 02 Oct 2019 12:16

hotseatgames wrote: I don't know.... sounds pretty sketchy.


Odd, I thought you would be drawn to a game like this.