You May Also Like...

MB
Michael Barnes
December 05, 2019
V
Vysetron
December 05, 2019

Mr. Face Review

Reviews
T
thegiantbrain
November 26, 2019
D
DavidNorris
November 21, 2019
W
WadeMonnig
November 20, 2019
MT
Matt Thrower
November 18, 2019
V
Vysetron
November 14, 2019
T
thegiantbrain
November 12, 2019
MB
Michael Barnes
November 11, 2019
W
WadeMonnig
November 06, 2019
MT
Matt Thrower
November 04, 2019
  • Reviews
  • Fracking with Friends: Big Dig Board Game Review

Fracking with Friends: Big Dig Board Game Review

W Updated November 27, 2019
 
2.5
 
0.0 (0)
907 1
Fracking with Friends: Big Dig Board Game Review

Game Information

Game Name
There Will Be Games

Big Dig is a small box Roll and Write. Well, it is technically not a roll and write since there are no dice to roll. I've been trying to come up with a witty reworking of the genre and the best I can think of is “Reveal and Write” since you are selecting Tetris shapes from a tableau of cards to use on your map on your turn. All the shapes are four and five cube configurations that you use to “Dig” out that shape. The objectives vary from game to game, with a set of cards determining which three objectives you are required to do to win each game. Essentially, they all break down to Connect X to Y or dig up/dig out all of type Z.

Once all the cards in the tableau have been chosen, players flip them over (revealing a different set of 4 and 5 cube configurations) and selection continues. On your turn, you can take a shape but, instead of simply digging it out on your player board, you can choose to “Blow Up” a single cube/space on the board. Some items, like rocks, can not be removed any other way. While blowing up a cube is sometimes required but it is usually never optimum, since you are swapping out the chance to mark off four or five spaces for the simple move of marking out one space.

Big Dig Board Game

Big Dig is as short as it is simple. It's a filler than can be slipped in while waiting on other players to finish THIER filler game. It probably goes without saying (but I'm going to say it anyway), it does not have the length or depth of other titles that share it's Tetris-shaped heritage. Every game, including your first, will inevitably come down to all the players being within a round or two of completing all the objectives. So, the player going first has a distinct advantage. This is addressed with the single sheet of Expert Rules.

Big Dig Board Game

Okay, these are not really “expert rules”. They are a required balance...and even after playing with them, I'm not sure if it ever actually succeeds in equalizing the first player advantage.

Big Dig is a niche game. Not in that you need to like this particular style or type of game but in that it is literally a ten to fifteen minute game. One that can feel samey or repetitive after the first few plays. It is a “I need a light game that I can play during lunch or I need a quick game that I can squander a few minutes” My copy of Big Dig currently resides in my 16 year old daughters backpack. She says she can't wait to show her friends how to play in study hall or to break it out at a meet up at the coffee shop with her friends. And that niche is perfect for Big Dig.

A review copy of this release was provided by the publisher. Therewillbe.games would like to thank them for their support.

Photos

Fracking with Friends: Big Dig Board Game Review
Fracking with Friends: Big Dig Board Game Review
Fracking with Friends: Big Dig Board Game Review
Fracking with Friends: Big Dig Board Game Review
Fracking with Friends: Big Dig Board Game Review
Fracking with Friends: Big Dig Board Game Review

Editor review

1 reviews

Board Game Reviews 
 
2.5
Big Dig
Big Dig is a niche game. Not in that you need to like this particular style or type of game but in that it is literally a ten to fifteen minute game. One that can feel samey or repetitive after the first few plays. It is a “I need a light game that I can play during lunch or I need a quick game that I can squander a few minutes” My copy of Big Dig currently resides in my 16 year old daughters backpack. She says she can't wait to show her friends how to play in study hall or to break it out at a meet up at the coffee shop with her friends. And that niche is perfect for Big Dig.
Wade Monnig  (He/Him)
Staff Board Game Reviewer

In west Saint Louis born and raised
Playing video games is where I spent most of my days
Strafing, Dashing, Adventuring and Looting
Writing reviews between all the Shooting
When a couple of guys reminded me what was so good
About playing games with cardboard and Wood,
Collecting Victory Points and those Miniatures with Flair
It’s not as easy as you think to rhyme with Bel Air.

Wade is the former editor in chief for Silicon Magazine and former senior editor for Gamearefun.com. He currently enjoys his games in the non-video variety, where the odds of a 14 year old questioning the legitimacy of your bloodline is drastically reduced.

“I’ll stop playing as Black when they invent a darker color.”

Articles by Wade

Wade Monnig
Staff Board Game Reviewer

Articles by Wade

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Log in to comment