Front Page

Content

Authors

Game Index

Forums

Site Tools

Submissions

About

You May Also Like...

AL
Andi Lennon
October 21, 2020
O
oliverkinne
October 16, 2020

Azul Review

Board Game Reviews
MB
Michael Barnes
October 15, 2020
AL
Andi Lennon
October 14, 2020
MT
Matt Thrower
October 11, 2020
O
oliverkinne
October 09, 2020
MB
Michael Barnes
October 08, 2020
SI
san il defanso
October 08, 2020
W
WadeMonnig
October 07, 2020
O
oliverkinne
October 02, 2020

Mini Memory Mischief Review

Board Game Reviews
MB
Michael Barnes
October 01, 2020
MT
Matt Thrower
September 28, 2020

Play Matt: Swatch Review

Board Game Reviews
T
thegiantbrain
September 28, 2020

Riftforce - First Thoughts

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
September 25, 2020

Heroic Echoic Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
MB
Michael Barnes
September 24, 2020
O
oliverkinne
September 18, 2020

Bots Up Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews

Pandemic Board Game Review

Hot
O Updated June 22, 2020
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
3206 0
Pandemic (Saturday Review)

Game Information

Game Name
Publisher
Designer
Players
2 - 4
There Will Be Games

"...as more people are put into isolation in specifically built camps that are guarded by military personnel and run by medical experts and support staff brought in from around the country. The World Health Organization has so far identified five different viruses in this global epidemic. A number of scientific laboratories across the world are working around the clock in an attempt to discover a cure for them all, while teams on the ground travel to infection sites to gather samples and monitor outbreaks." You switch off the TV, because you have to return to your fieldwork and help your team find cures in Pandemic by Z-Man Games.

Yes, this is the classic Pandemic from 2008 - not one of the many new releases that have since been released after the big success of the original. I have never played the game until now, despite having talked about it with friends many times before and heard a lot of positive reviews of the original game, as well as the new versions. So when my wife gave the game to me as a Christmas present, I was finally able to find out for myself what it was all about.

Now, as I have mentioned before, co-operative games aren't necessarily my mainstay, but I have started to play more and more of these types of games recently and have found I actually enjoy playing them, especially with my wife, and I have learned to dial down my alpha player instinct to make the experience hopefully enjoyable for everyone.

I don't think I have to explain how Pandemic works, so let me focus on the experience that the game offered to my wife and I. First of all, the theme comes across very well. Sure, it could be changed with something else, as illustrated by Pandemic: Rising Tide, but when you draw infection cards and see outbreak chain reactions fill up the board with lots of cubes, you do worry whether a complete travel ban should be introduced to reduce the viruses' spread.

The constant travel around the board to treat localized infections also adds to the feeling that you're fighting an endless battle against an invisible enemy. You are constantly having to decide whether to focus on discovering cures and therefore either building new research centres or travelling to the nearest one, or whether it's better to keep the spread of the viruses under control by making treatment a priority.

The constantly decreasing player deck and the risk of drawing yet another epidemic card really put the pressure on. You always dread the end of your four actions, because not only are you counting down the clock towards the end of the game and the victory of the viruses, you are also worried about intensifying the infection deck and therefore making the pathogens more virulent.

I know people have complained that the randomness of the two card decks can create a situation where you have no way of winning the game, pretty much from the start. However, the game plays in less than an hour, so it's not a huge investment in time, and I actually feel that the chance of fighting a losing battle adds to the theme. In fact, as you get towards the end of the player deck, you have a pretty good idea if there are enough cards of the right colour left to allow you to win. So you can end the game early and start again.

Actually, given the game length and how close you often get to a win, you do want to play the game a couple of times, if not more often, during the same session. My wife and I usually play it twice in one evening, and over the holidays we played it three or four times in one afternoon.

I think that tells you a lot about how much I like the game. No, there isn't a huge amount of strategy, a lot of the time you just respond to what's happening at the time, and meeting up to share knowledge often turns out to be a waste of time as you draw the fifth card of the colour you need to discover a cure, but it all feels very thematic to me and strengthens the experience you get from playing the game.

So I can highly recommend Pandemic to anyone who wants to have a quick game of something that isn't too taxing, yet at the same time is very engrossing. If you catch the bug, then you can try one of the many successors to the original game.


Editor reviews

1 reviews

Rating 
 
4.0
O
Oliver Kinne
Oliver Kinne (He/Him)
Associate Writer

Oliver Kinne aims to publish two new articles every week on his blog, Tabletop Games Blog, and also release both in podcast form. He reviews board games and writes about tabletop games related topics.

Oliver is also the co-host of the Tabletop Inquisition podcast, which releases a new episode every three to four weeks and tackles different issues facing board games, the people who play them and maybe their industry.

Articles by Oliver Kinne

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Log in to comment

Ah_Pook's Avatar
Ah_Pook replied the topic: #306615 26 Jan 2020 02:55
This is the game that got my wife and I into board games about 7 years ago, so it will always have a place in my heart. A friend gave us a copy for Christmas, we opened it and couldn't figure it out and stuck it in the closet for a year. We eventually pulled it out again and actually read through the rules and then played it about 10 times in a row once we figured it out. That day was pretty special for us I gotta say.

These days I typically reach for Pandemic Fall of Rome, which is my personal favorite of the Pandemics. The dice combat makes the whole thing less solvable feeling, and the other twists on the formula are really fun too. That said, I'm not one to pass up a game of regular old Pandemic either if someone wants to play it. It's quick, it's fun, and as long as you're not playing with alpha types who want to tell everyone what to do it's a good time. I do think On The Brink adds a ton to the base game, and will generally play with it. I haven't tried the other two expansions but they looked less essential.
oliverkinne's Avatar
oliverkinne replied the topic: #306618 26 Jan 2020 07:44
Thank you for sharing your story. Yes, my wife and I also couldn’t stop playing it. I’m an alpha player in recovery, so I was worried I’d make the experience bad for my wife, but I controlled myself and let both of us make our own decisions. We still play Pandemic now quite a bit.