Front Page

Content

Authors

Game Index

Forums

Site Tools

Submissions

About

You May Also Like...

O
oliverkinne
October 23, 2020

Jaws Review

Board Game Reviews
MB
Michael Barnes
October 22, 2020
T
thegiantbrain
October 21, 2020

Spirit Island Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
AL
Andi Lennon
October 21, 2020
O
oliverkinne
October 16, 2020

Azul Review

Board Game Reviews
MB
Michael Barnes
October 15, 2020
AL
Andi Lennon
October 14, 2020
MT
Matt Thrower
October 11, 2020
O
oliverkinne
October 09, 2020
MB
Michael Barnes
October 08, 2020
SI
san il defanso
October 08, 2020
W
WadeMonnig
October 07, 2020
O
oliverkinne
October 02, 2020

Mini Memory Mischief Review

Board Game Reviews
MB
Michael Barnes
October 01, 2020
MT
Matt Thrower
September 28, 2020

Play Matt: Swatch Review

Board Game Reviews
T
thegiantbrain
September 28, 2020

Riftforce - First Thoughts

Board Game Reviews

A Tattoo Stories Board Game Review

W Updated September 05, 2020
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
1397 0
Will you stop pretending I've never been born, now that I look a little more like that guy from Korn? : A Tattoo Stories Board Game Review

Game Information

Players
4 - 6
There Will Be Games

Will you stop pretending I've never been born, now that I look a little more like that guy from Korn?

“What kind of Tattoo do you want?” Maybe I am a strange but it is a question that has come up plenty of times in conversion.: For Instance, 21-year old me put forth this image for his first tattoo:

Tatoo Stories 01

My cousin, Darren, would counter with the Dark Angels standard from the Space Hulk PC game he was currently obsessed with.

Tatoo Stories 02

(or was it Blood Angels...Death Angels?)

Tatoo Stories 03

He would note that he was sure people who got Kiss tattoos probably thought it was a really good idea at the time. I'd counter with “Whose going to remember Space Hulk in 5 years?” And we would both go on our way, happily thinking we had dodged a bullet because, seriously, who was going to REALLY get a tattoo who wasn't in a.) a band B.) the military or C.) prison.

Fast forward to a few weeks ago when I am talking to my daughter (not for the first time) about what type of tattoo she would like to get. Granted, she does technically fit the requirement of being in a band but I'm not sure Classical Ensemble and the S&T Marching Band really are in the spirit of that requirement. My point is, I shouldn't even be surprised that there is a board game/card game about getting etched.

Tattoo Stories fits the common party game bill perfectly: you can unwrap it, read the couple of sentences that comprise the rules and be playing it a manner of minutes. And, for someone who has negative artistic skills when it comes to drawing, I keep finding drawing party game on my review docket and, more importantly, they keep providing a quick dash of laughter-induced fun.

One person is the client and they draw Ten cards from the tattoo box and select five cards...which feels like a bit of overkill. Which, I guess, is kind of the point. If you only picked three cards it would be more than doable and you can come up with some pretty tight designs and themes. “I want a tattoo with Motorcycles, Flames, and a quote printed backwards so I can read it in the mirror.” Shit, isn't that the cover of every Meatloaf album? But throw in some mushrooms and a medieval shield... okay, that is STILL the cover of every Meatloaf album but that takes a bit more planning.

Tatoo Stories 04

A timer is set for three minutes and all the artists begin drawing. Of course, you are encouraged to ask the “Client” questions about what they really want. Once everyone finishes their tattoo proposal, the pitch it to the client and, in turn, the client hands out cards to the artists who they fill did each clue/tip the best.

And don't undersell the fun of playing this with people who actually have ink. Seeing all those “original” ideas they came up with for their personal ink showing up directions of the cards is pretty entertaining. Probably almost as entertaining as the disconnect of what my brain is telling my hand to draw and what comes out looking like stick figures straddling a submarine on it's way down to Hell.

Tatoo Stories 05

The Four to Six player requirement seems like a bit tight player count for “party game.” The six player limit is imposed by the number of dry erase boards included. If you wanted to, you could simply whip out a few more dry erase boards to up the count but I don't really suggest it. Six renditions of a concept for one Tattoo is at the top end of how many you want to “check out” before starting another round.

Tatoo Stories 06

And, as a unmitigated fan of horrible Dad puns, imagine the fun you can have when you are required to include “High Fives” in a tattoo or “Wings.”

Tatoo Stories 07

Tattoo Stories is nothing like getting an actual tattoo: it is pure fun party fluff that allow you to wipe away the evidence with a quick swipe of the dry erase board. The only thing permanent here is not being able to unsee my artistic crimes against humanity. (Note: None of these included tattoo designs are mine. I saved you that injustice. You are welcome).

A review copy of this release was provided by the publisher.

Photos

Will you stop pretending I've never been born, now that I look a little more like that guy from Korn? : A Tattoo Stories Board Game Review
Will you stop pretending I've never been born, now that I look a little more like that guy from Korn? : A Tattoo Stories Board Game Review
Will you stop pretending I've never been born, now that I look a little more like that guy from Korn? : A Tattoo Stories Board Game Review
Will you stop pretending I've never been born, now that I look a little more like that guy from Korn? : A Tattoo Stories Board Game Review
Will you stop pretending I've never been born, now that I look a little more like that guy from Korn? : A Tattoo Stories Board Game Review
Will you stop pretending I've never been born, now that I look a little more like that guy from Korn? : A Tattoo Stories Board Game Review
Will you stop pretending I've never been born, now that I look a little more like that guy from Korn? : A Tattoo Stories Board Game Review

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Rating 
 
3.0
Red Dragon Tattoo is just about on me, I got it for you, so now do you want me?
Wade Monnig  (He/Him)
Staff Board Game Reviewer

In west Saint Louis born and raised
Playing video games is where I spent most of my days
Strafing, Dashing, Adventuring and Looting
Writing reviews between all the Shooting
When a couple of guys reminded me what was so good
About playing games with cardboard and Wood,
Collecting Victory Points and those Miniatures with Flair
It’s not as easy as you think to rhyme with Bel Air.

Wade is the former editor in chief for Silicon Magazine and former senior editor for Gamearefun.com. He currently enjoys his games in the non-video variety, where the odds of a 14 year old questioning the legitimacy of your bloodline is drastically reduced.

“I’ll stop playing as Black when they invent a darker color.”

Articles by Wade

Wade Monnig
Staff Board Game Reviewer

Articles by Wade

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Log in to comment

WadeMonnig's Avatar
WadeMonnig replied the topic: #309797 29 Apr 2020 21:27
That is a special tribute to Fountains of Wayne's Adam Schlesinger with the opening lines of the review coming from "Red Dragon Tattoo."
ubarose's Avatar
ubarose replied the topic: #309799 29 Apr 2020 22:32
This actually sounds like a lot of fun. It also sounds Zoomable.