Front Page

Content

Authors

Game Index

Forums

Site Tools

Submissions

About

You May Also Like...

O
oliverkinne
May 23, 2022

Suspects Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
May 20, 2022

Cryptid: Urban Legends Review

Board Game Reviews
T
thegiantbrain
May 19, 2022
W
WadeMonnig
May 18, 2022
O
oliverkinne
May 13, 2022

Condottiere Review

Board Game Reviews
MB
Michael Barnes
May 12, 2022
A
adamr
May 11, 2022

Zapotec - a Punchboard review

Board Game Reviews
T
thegiantbrain
May 05, 2022
W
WadeMonnig
May 04, 2022
O
oliverkinne
May 02, 2022

Six Greetings Card Games

Board Game Reviews
MT
Matt Thrower
April 18, 2022
O
oliverkinne
April 15, 2022

Library Labyrinth Review

Board Game Reviews
A
adamr
April 14, 2022

Train Kept A-Rollin' - Ticket To Ride-Europe 15th Anniversary Edition Review

W Updated May 11, 2022
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
595 1
Train Kept A-Rollin' - Ticket To Ride-Europe 15th Anniversary Edition Review

Game Information

Designer
Players
2 - 5
There Will Be Games

Most people have heard of FOMO (Fear Of Missing Out). With the release of Ticket To Ride 10th Anniversary Edition, I suffered from FIMI (Fuck, I Missed It). The 10th anniversary edition included classic U.S. Map Ticket to Ride, the 1910 expansion, a 50% larger game map, and some sweet custom trains. It felt like it came and went in a blink of an eye and, of course, the secondary market price skyrocketed to at least 5x it's MSRP. Alas, I said to myself “Fuck, I Missed It.”

Fast forward five years and I came across the 15th Anniversary edition of Ticket To Ride: Europe at my local game store. Much like it's 10th anniversary brethren it came with a 50% larger map of Europe (now with new illustrations), five unique sets of trains with spiffy and color specific tins, and (most importantly) no secondary market price gouging.

Everything

As a stand-alone release, the 15th anniversary edition is a pretty sweet deal. You aren't going to need to pick-up the 1912 Expansion since it includes all 108 Destination tickets that have been released and the 15 train stations. The train stations are TTR: Europe's “One new mechanism we add to any TTR expansion” which allows you to access other player's routes to stop you from being blocked out of a destination. The custom scoring marker's give a little corporate individualism (now that is a oxymoron) to the color you choose. You would easily spend the price of this release just putting together normal versions of TTR:E, so with the over-sized map and custom trains, it is no surprise I walked out of the store with this.

Cards

But the thing is, I didn't just buy TTR 15th Anniversary edition as a stand alone. I have the TTR: India and Switzerland expansion/map, TTR Japan Expansion (which is really fantastic, I should review that) along with the standalones TTR USA and TTR Germany. So, one of the secondary reasons I picked this up was so that I could have a deluxe-a-fied version of TTR to use with the expansions and base games that I own. I don't have to use those silly 1.75” x 2.75” mini-cards from USA and the custom trains are an easy grab to use in an expansion since they are all in those beautiful little individual tins.

Trains

So, what could be considered the down sides to this release? Hmmm, well, it is NOT going sit beside it's Ticket to Ride siblings on the shelf. The box is larger (50% larger! Would be my guess.) and is just a smidge too big to reside on my current shelving solution. It's also the exact same set collection, train laying game it has always been. We have playing it down to a fine art at my household, with us breezing through games in (gasp!) the actual amount of time it lists on the side of the box! It never seems to be the first game someone suggests on family game night but it is one that no one has any objections to playing when we want something light and quick that we can have a conversation over without feeling you are missing out on playing the actual game.

Super Size It

This deluxe version of the timeless train tournament was exactly what I was looking for. Of course, you can also pick it up for the meta-game variant of “Will this quadruple in price in 5 years?"

Photos

Train Kept A-Rollin' - Ticket To Ride-Europe 15th Anniversary Edition Review
Train Kept A-Rollin' - Ticket To Ride-Europe 15th Anniversary Edition Review
Train Kept A-Rollin' - Ticket To Ride-Europe 15th Anniversary Edition Review
Train Kept A-Rollin' - Ticket To Ride-Europe 15th Anniversary Edition Review
Train Kept A-Rollin' - Ticket To Ride-Europe 15th Anniversary Edition Review
Train Kept A-Rollin' - Ticket To Ride-Europe 15th Anniversary Edition Review

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Rating 
 
4.0
Ticket To Ride-Europe 15th Anniversary Edition
As a stand-alone release, the 15th anniversary edition is a pretty sweet deal. You aren't going to need to pick-up the 1912 Expansion since it includes all 108 Destination tickets that have been released and the 15 train stations. The train stations are TTR: Europe's “One new mechanism we add to any TTR expansion” which allows you to access other player's routes to stop you from being blocked out of a destination. The custom scoring marker's give a little corporate individualism (now that is a oxymoron) to the color you choose. You would easily spend the price of this release just putting together normal versions of TTR:E, so with the over-sized map and custom trains, it is no surprise I walked out of the store with this.
Wade Monnig  (He/Him)
Staff Board Game Reviewer

In west Saint Louis born and raised
Playing video games is where I spent most of my days
Strafing, Dashing, Adventuring and Looting
Writing reviews between all the Shooting
When a couple of guys reminded me what was so good
About playing games with cardboard and Wood,
Collecting Victory Points and those Miniatures with Flair
It’s not as easy as you think to rhyme with Bel Air.

Wade is the former editor in chief for Silicon Magazine and former senior editor for Gamearefun.com. He currently enjoys his games in the non-video variety, where the odds of a 14 year old questioning the legitimacy of your bloodline is drastically reduced.

“I’ll stop playing as Black when they invent a darker color.”

Articles by Wade

Wade Monnig
Staff Board Game Reviewer

Articles by Wade

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Log in to comment

WadeMonnig's Avatar
WadeMonnig replied the topic: #332984 11 May 2022 13:24
Let's be honest. It's not TTR without a few Fucks involved.
ubarose's Avatar
ubarose replied the topic: #332985 11 May 2022 13:46
I’ve played my friends’ copies of the deluxe versions. They are pretty, but there are no green trains. I have to play green or I get confused.
WadeMonnig's Avatar
WadeMonnig replied the topic: #332987 11 May 2022 15:35

ubarose wrote: I’ve played my friends’ copies of the deluxe versions. They are pretty, but there are no green trains. I have to play green or I get confused.

After I wrote this, I was using the deluxe trains with TTR Japan and the scoring markers did not quite match colors we had chosen. So, it can be inconvenient/confusing.
Sagrilarus's Avatar
Sagrilarus replied the topic: #332988 11 May 2022 16:34
Dude, great photos. Really a value-add on this one.
WadeMonnig's Avatar
WadeMonnig replied the topic: #332989 11 May 2022 17:31

Sagrilarus wrote: Dude, great photos. Really a value-add on this one.

Got them from Days of Wonder.(Except the one of it not fitting into my shelf). Stay tuned for my TTR Japan review for pics I took.. which are not nearly as good of quality.