Front Page

Content

Authors

Game Index

Forums

Site Tools

Submissions

About

You May Also Like...

AL
Andi Lennon
October 21, 2020
O
oliverkinne
October 16, 2020

Azul Review

Board Game Reviews
MB
Michael Barnes
October 15, 2020
AL
Andi Lennon
October 14, 2020
MT
Matt Thrower
October 11, 2020
O
oliverkinne
October 09, 2020
MB
Michael Barnes
October 08, 2020
SI
san il defanso
October 08, 2020
W
WadeMonnig
October 07, 2020
O
oliverkinne
October 02, 2020

Mini Memory Mischief Review

Board Game Reviews
MB
Michael Barnes
October 01, 2020
MT
Matt Thrower
September 28, 2020

Play Matt: Swatch Review

Board Game Reviews
T
thegiantbrain
September 28, 2020

Riftforce - First Thoughts

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
September 25, 2020

Heroic Echoic Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
MB
Michael Barnes
September 24, 2020
O
oliverkinne
September 18, 2020

Bots Up Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews

Shards of Infinity: Relics of the Future Expansion Review

Hot
E Updated April 08, 2019
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
6470 0
Shards of Infinity: Relics of the Future
There Will Be Games

I scoffed when Shards of Infinity came out last year. Despite my love for Ascension, the idea of it becoming a PvP game seemed silly. Besides, there were already other games that did that and I wasn’t a fan. However, soon after playing Shards of Infinity, my reaction of “Why?” immediate changed to “More!”. Everything in the system worked. You have the standard attack values that you aim at an opponent of your choice, but the mastery system is what made the game sing. The decisions as to how your deck became more nuanced than simply get more money, buy more attack. I couldn’t wait for more content to come out.

Relics of the Future is a small box expansion and I do mean small. It includes a total of 32 new cards. Twenty-four of those cards are ones that get shuffled into the deck. Some of these cards offer new abilities that aren’t drastically different from what was in the base game. The Wraethe cards still reward you for having other Wraethe cards in your discard pile; Homodeus allies want you to control Campions; and Undergrowth cards gain you health when paired with other Undergrowth cards. The Order cards offer more novelty as they ask you to have more mastery than other players for effects to trigger. Overall, none of these new abilities are earthshattering and would have been welcomed in the base game.

Other cards in the set of 24 deal with the main attraction of Relics of the Future: unique character-based abilities. Remember those oversized character boards? Now it matters which one you pick as some of the center deck cards will provide an extra ability depending on who you chose. There are only a few for each faction though, so you don’t really need to worry about building your whole deck or even strategy around the character you chose. This is a secondary consideration, especially considering each character also has two Relics they begin the game with.

When a player hits 10 mastery, you may choose one of your character’s two Relics and shuffle it into your deck. Since this typically happens mid-game, you can select the one that best fits with the direction your deck has been headed. Each Relic is still flavored in the style of its faction without pigeonholing your strategy. In fact, there’s even an official variant, “Mystery Relics,” in which you can deal out relics randomly. Relics give you something to aim for in the game and feel like a real accomplishment when you gain them. At the same time, they don’t drastically change the ultimate feel (or fun) of Shards of Infinity. Like the aforementioned center deck cards, you can’t help but wonder why they weren’t included in the base game to begin with. (On the plus side, I can now store everything in the smaller box as I forewent using the fiddly character boards a while ago.)

For a small (and cheap) expansion, you can’t ask for much more out of Relics of the Future. If anything, I can only fault it for whetting my appetite for even more content. Stoneblade has teased at the second expansion currently in the works and the app implementation is currently in beta. I’m excited.


Editor reviews

1 reviews

Rating 
 
4.0
Shards of Infinity: Relics of the Future
Grace P.  (She/Her)
Board Game Reviewer

Grace grew up playing the classic family and children’s games. She always loved games, but didn’t know there was a whole world of modern board gaming until 2009. In general, she considers herself a Euro snob, but upon closer inspection of her collection, there are plenty of other types of games that have snuck in. She has to play as the color red (or as close to it as possible), otherwise the wrong pieces will be moved. Although board gaming is her primary hobby, she also enjoys cooking, seeing musicals, and bowling. She lives in California’s Central Valley with her husband, who happily plays games with her, and her two dogs, who are terrible gaming partners. You can follow her on Twitter (@iamgrace) where she is often mistagged.

Articles by Grace

Grace P.
Board Game Reviewer

Articles by Grace

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Log in to comment

ubarose's Avatar
ubarose replied the topic: #294543 26 Mar 2019 16:00
I totally missed this game when it came out. Now I'm going to have to check it out. Fortunately it is pretty inexpensive.