Front Page

Content

Authors

Game Index

Forums

Site Tools

Submissions

About

You May Also Like...

D
DavidNorris
September 16, 2021

Quick, Simple Fun: High Society

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
September 10, 2021

Karuba Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
D
DavidNorris
September 09, 2021
A
adamr
September 08, 2021

Mariposas - a Punchboard Review

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
September 03, 2021

Earthenwar Review

Board Game Reviews
D
DavidNorris
September 02, 2021
MB
Michael Barnes
August 30, 2021
Hot

The Ascent of Descent - Review

Board Game Reviews
O
oliverkinne
August 27, 2021

March on the Drina Review

Board Game Reviews
D
DavidNorris
August 26, 2021

Red Rising, Red Falling

Board Game Reviews
A
adamr
August 25, 2021
O
oliverkinne
August 20, 2021

15 Days Board Game Review

Board Game Reviews
MB
Michael Barnes
August 19, 2021
O
oliverkinne
August 18, 2021
MT
Matt Thrower
August 12, 2021

Play Matt: Bullet♥︎ Review

Board Game Reviews
D
DavidNorris
August 12, 2021
O
oliverkinne
August 06, 2021

Animal Alliance

Board Game Reviews

Deception: Murder in Hong Kong Allows you to Commit the Perfect Murder

D Updated August 25, 2021
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
787 0
Deception: Murder in Hong Kong allows you to commit the perfect murder

Game Information

Designer
Players
4 - 12
There Will Be Games

Got nothing to do on a dark and stormy night? Why not gather your friends and solve a murder?

Whodunit?

Heavy rain.

A chalk outline.

The metallic smell of blood.

You and the other investigators surround the body looking for clues. There's something funny about this case. Funny like 12 cops investigating a nobody. The realisation hits you like a knife in the back.

Someone here did it.

Deception: Murder in Hong Kong is a 4-12 player party game which has you play as either a Murderer covering up your crime, an Investigator trying to uncover the Murderer, or the Forensic Scientist who knows who and how they did it, but can only talk through "facts" about the case.

The roles, along with a number of clue and means cards are handed out randomly during setup. The murderer then shows the Forensic Scientist a combination of 1 clue and 1 means card in secret.

Then the game begins in earnest, with the Forensic Scientist needing to communicate this combination to the table through scene tiles. These tiles are never as direct as you'd want them to be. For instance one scene tile might be 'Condition of the corpse' with the options being: Still Warm, Stiff, Decayed, etc. You will have to ask yourself: if someone was punched to death, how would their corpse hold up?

While you're deliberating this gruesome detail, the rest of the table discusses the clues so far. As once you're done dolling out all the evidence, there's a presentation round, where everyone gets to present their theory on who did it and how.

After 3 presentation rounds if no one has correctly guessed the correct combination. Then the statute of limitations has passed, and the murderer gets away.

Mid game of Deception Murder in Hong Kong, six scene tiles laid out with clues given by the scientist. Including Victim's expression, build, and personality.The Forensic Scientist has given the evidence.

Tell me a story

I dislike a lot of social deduction games, as they usually they descend into a he said, she said argument and the most emotional player wins. Deception: Murder in Hong Kong gets away from this by changing the goal from implicating a person, to implication an inanimate combination of cards. It takes emotion out of the equation, and allows people to make wild accusations with no feelings being hurt.

Another change for the genre is it gives each player agency to win the game. Even though it's still a team game, there's no consensus needed in order for the team to win. You just need to point at a card combination and say the statement 'I think this is how it happened'.

Though it also stays true to genre with its lack of information, as everything given to the Investigators is cryptic or vague. For instance, the Forensic Scientist might have to give a clue about the victims physical build, or what time of day the murder happened. These are abstract concepts when relating them back to a skull, and meat cleaver.

What often happens though, is you'll pull together a narrative of how the crime happened. OK. So skull and meat cleaver, these guys were butchers, which means they're probably strong, and it probably happened just after work because they'd still be at the shop, but no one would be around.

It breeds creativity, and from that enjoyment. Not only for the story you've created, but watching to see if you've told it well enough for the Investigators to clue into it. It's the same feeling you get from games like Mysterium, or Dixit. Where you're trying to interpret an interpretation, and it's equally important to read the person as well as the clues they've given.

Examples of clue and means cards from Deception Murder in Hong Kong. Including, panties, graffiti, work, rope, sauna, dice tower, and tool box.

Taking the shot

One of my favourite mechanics of all time comes from Deception: Murder in Hong Kong, and it's a simple one. At the start of the game each investigator is given a badge token. When you take your guess at the killer card combination, if you get it wrong, you need to give up your badge. From then on, you can only discuss your ideas in the general setting, and can no longer present, or take another guess.

It gives a meaningful consequence for getting your guess wrong. And even though it means nothing, the tactile nature of giving away your badge feels like you're giving up something important. This plays on your mind, and often you'll hear people voice: I think it's this, but I don't want to risk my badge.

It also plays heavily into the rogue cop cliché, and is right for hamming it up with the group.

As I mentioned before, everyone gets a guess. This allows for the drama of heroics, and sacrifices, where there might be a number of options, and someone throws away their badge just to help narrow it down. Or it might come down to the last investigator who's trying to process everything shown so far, and everyone's on the edge of their seat as they make a final uncertain guess.

It's so simple, but I love it so much.

This last scenario is one of my favourite board gaming memories, where I was the Forensic Scientist, and the means of death was a dog bite. The scene tile I had to put down was relationship with the victim. The clue I gave was best friend. The whole table ignored the clue, thinking it meant nothing, until it came to the last investigator. He had also dismissed it up until that point as well, many thanks to the Murderer for sowing doubt. Anyway, he paused thought about it, and then made the connection. Best friend. Man's best friend. Dog. It was a completely different direction to all the guesses so far. But it was right, and we won the game.

A red meeple surrounded by the components of Deception Murder in Hong Kong.

The last bullet in the chamber

There's an inherent issue with these types of games, where it lives and dies based on the people in the key roles. If the Murderer chooses an easy combination, the game is anti-climatic. Likewise, if the Forensic Scientist doesn't provide good clues. Then the Murderer gets away without challenge. While you can't veto people from these roles, it's a risk you will need to take if it's the first time playing with new people.

The other people problem with Deception: Murder in Hong Kong is it's really light on rule structure and time constraints. In a bigger group, it can get out of hand quickly, with everyone talking separately about their own conspiracy theories. You need to be prepared to facilitate the game to ensure it continues flowing forward.

Otherwise, Deception: Murder in Hong Kong is one of my go-to party games and never fails to disappoint a crowd. It toes the line between being creative and logical, allowing for great conversations and drama. And while it tackles a serious subject matter, it never forgets its a game. With some of the means and clues being self-aware in their whimsy. I talked last week about how Mysterium is being beaten out by games with newer and better designs. Deception: Murder in Hong Kong is one of those games.

Thanks for reading. Visit Roll to Review, where I'm ranking all games I review.


Editor reviews

1 reviews

Rating 
 
4.5
Deception: Murder in Hong Kong
A hit every time it gets on the table. Allows for creativity and for logical deductions, with very little rules overhead and setup. It's easy to bring out over and over again.
D
David Norris  (He/Him)
Associate Writer

David Norris is a board game reviewer from Brisbane, Australia. When he’s not writing reviews, he’s usually playing board games or reading rules. And when he’s not doing that, he’s goofing around with Steph, his loving wife, toddler son, Jay and Chester the Corgi.

You can find more of his work at Roll to Review, a one man blog that pumps out fortnightly board game reviews.

Articles by David Norris

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Log in to comment

hotseatgames's Avatar
hotseatgames replied the topic: #325833 19 Aug 2021 12:38
If I'm interpreting this correctly, the murderer and forensic scientist are both public roles. They do something at the beginning of the game, and then... nothing?
Sagrilarus's Avatar
Sagrilarus replied the topic: #325835 19 Aug 2021 14:04
This game made the rounds in the forums a couple of years back and I purchased it, sending it directly to my daughter's address at Towson University. Her crowd liked social games but had gotten complacent with Cards Against Humanity, and it had become stale. So this game was a refreshing change and she visited home with it under her arm because she wanted to show off to us how good it is. I got a nice break from being the one to explain how to play that night.

This is a game for beer on the table, for people that are maybe a little behind on sleep, stressed out from exams or just punchy by nature. It encourages loud behavior but it's not combative at all. So in that respect it's a great way to blow off steam safely.


By the way, killer intro on the article. That was fun reading.