Front Page

Content

Authors

Game Index

Forums

Site Tools

Submissions

About

Reviews written by WadeMonnig

227 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2 3 4 5 6 ... »
Ordering
June 12, 2022
Rating 
 
3.0
A King of New York: King of Tokyo Power Up

Yes, KONY/KOT Power-up did it's job. It brought King of New York back to the table. While long overdue and short of everything it should be, it does finally bring (most) of the Monsters to New York.

W
WadeMonnig
June 05, 2022
Rating 
 
4.5
Terraforming Mars: Ares Expedition

Ares Expedition, despite it's confusing name (Yes, this is a hill I'm willing to die upon and, Yes, I do know how to read....thankyouverymuch), provides a great Terraforming Mars experience. The “If you have the resources to boost a track, you must boost that track” requirement sidesteps the drawn out TM experience where players try to tweak their engine to Nth degree. It plays in a shorter time the more players you add, so you'll never hesitate at adding additional players. I'm more than happy to follow the rabbit down this Terraforming Mars wormhole.

W
WadeMonnig
May 30, 2022
Rating 
 
3.5
Keep It 100

Keep it 100 managed to take my least favorite type of trivia questions and turn them into a party game that I enjoy. Put an extra emphasis on the word party in that sentence. The stakes are low and casual. If you guess wrong when you slide a card into the number line, you rarely feel “bad” about it. It was a guess. The whole game is about guessing. Oh, by the way, Keep it 100 is, according to my kids, slang for “Keep it real.” Care to guess what percentage of people writing this review knew that?

W
WadeMonnig
May 27, 2022
Rating 
 
4.0
Wingspan: Oceania

Is this expansion going to change your opinion of Wingspan? If you were hoping for more player interaction, I assure you no throats are being cut and no one is getting shivved in a clown car. But it does make Wingspan more palatable for the “Intermediate +” gamer who found it pleasant but nothing extraordinary. Overall, it improves and balances Wingspan in ways that players will appreciate. The overall egg strategy has been sufficiently nerfed and the additional changes to the game boards means your “engine” is up and running faster. This also makes it more appealing to beginner players, so go ahead and add this in your teaching games. If you are a fan of the game, like my wife, Oceania is the wind beneath your wings you were hoping for.

W
WadeMonnig
May 23, 2022
Rating 
 
4.0
TBH: The Party Game of Honest Answers to Outrageous Questions

TBH is a hilarious game that really rewards you if you lean into it. At the same time, the improvisation skills required are virtually nil, so it's low stress when the spotlight is on you to be the Dilemma Boss. It is timed well, with the game wrapping up just about the time it starts to wear thin and the question cards are just off-center enough to be thought provoking and funny.

W
WadeMonnig
May 12, 2022
Rating 
 
3.5
Red Rising

Maybe I should read the Red Rising series, It might be like this game and be about rising above obstacles and still having a good time.

W
WadeMonnig
May 04, 2022
Rating 
 
4.0
A Ticket To Ride Map Collection Volume 7 (Italy and Japan)

Both maps are extremely satisfying. Italy really surprised me because it has (somewhat) subverted the “Keep Drawing Route Cards” turns that usually end every game of Ticket To Ride. At the same time, it also feels the most “TTR” of the two maps, with plenty in common with the traditional U.S. Or Europe map. The Japan map flourishes when everyone plays it “straight” but weakens when a player/players tries to “game” the bullet train system. Both of these in one expansion is a great way to ride the rails once again in Ticket To Ride.

W
WadeMonnig
April 27, 2022
Rating 
 
1.0
Scooby Doo: Betrayal At Mystery Mansion

Color me bewitched, bothered and betrayed.

W
WadeMonnig
April 21, 2022
Rating 
 
4.0
Heads Will Roll

If there is ever a category for “Late night/maybe slightly intoxicated/uproariously entertaining Titles” Matt Fantastic is a first-vote hall-of-famer. If you judge your games on laughter and being slightly ludicrous with extra portions of boasting and blowing it, heads will most definitely roll.

W
WadeMonnig
April 14, 2022
Rating 
 
4.0
Ticket To Ride-Europe 15th Anniversary Edition

As a stand-alone release, the 15th anniversary edition is a pretty sweet deal. You aren't going to need to pick-up the 1912 Expansion since it includes all 108 Destination tickets that have been released and the 15 train stations. The train stations are TTR: Europe's “One new mechanism we add to any TTR expansion” which allows you to access other player's routes to stop you from being blocked out of a destination. The custom scoring marker's give a little corporate individualism (now that is a oxymoron) to the color you choose. You would easily spend the price of this release just putting together normal versions of TTR:E, so with the over-sized map and custom trains, it is no surprise I walked out of the store with this.

W
WadeMonnig
227 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2 3 4 5 6 ... »