Blade Runner 2049 - Barney's Incorrect Five Second Reviews

BB Updated
Blade Runner 2049 - Barney's Incorrect Five Second Reviews

How has this movie not even made $90 million yet? Is it the length? I am so happy I didn't miss the chance to see this in theatres.

I think my biggest takeaway is how surprisingly affecting it was. I couldn't get enough of the scenes between K (Gosling) and Joi (great supporting performance by Ana de Armas). The 2nd scene in the movie felt like almost 20 minutes of just setting this up, and at the time i found it surprising to spend this much screentime on developing this sub-plot, but it sure paid dividends. It all sets up a highly impactful dramatic scene down the road that was worth the price of admission for me alone.

I loved so many levels of this movie, it was a joy to watch and to listen to. Villeneuve sure has fun using sound in his sci-fi films, and I find myself really looking forward to Dune. Also, easily the best use of CGI I have ever seen in a movie. It puts Rogue One to shame.

I much preferred this sequel to the original. There's a lot of sci-fi meat here for fans to chew through.

This had better get a cinematography nomination at the very least. i would love to see it win for that.

It certainly exceeded my expectations. Really happy I got to see it. Very powerful.

 

Heart rating: 4.5 stars

Brain rating: 4 stars

There Will Be Games

Editor review

1 reviews

(Updated: May 17, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Heart 
 
4.5
Brain 
 
4.0

Summary

Movie Title
Blade Runner 2049
It certainly exceeded my expectations. Really happy I got to see it. Very powerful.
BB
Log in to comment

Michael Barnes's Avatar
Michael Barnes replied the topic: #258618 04 Dec 2017 18:12
Should be 5/5 stars you hateful man
Not Sure's Avatar
Not Sure replied the topic: #258623 04 Dec 2017 18:53
Huh, I thought he was rounding up.

I was very unimpressed by it. It was loud and pretty, but not much else.

I'll watch Blade Runner again (any cut, any time), but I'm not sure I'll ever watch 2049 again.
Black Barney's Avatar
Black Barney replied the topic: #258625 04 Dec 2017 19:42
Very polarizing film, like the first one.

Full disclosure, I rounded up the heart rating and rounded down the brain rating.

It’s no Mad Max, which was loud and pretty and much much more. But I think this was well beyond just being beautiful and loud. Like I say in the review, I really ate up the relationship between K and Joi.

The climatic scene with the car getting hit with waves was some pretty fun filmmaking too.

Ford and Leto were a little flat for me. There’s more than enough awesome stuff in here to keep it afloat. There’s tons to talk about to which isn’t a common thing. I imagine with Last Jedi, we’ll have gone around the block after a couple weeks.
Shellhead's Avatar
Shellhead replied the topic: #258629 04 Dec 2017 22:30
We kept getting different cuts of the original Blade Runner because it was flawed and somewhat fragmentary story. Blade Runner 2049 managed to surpass the original while still feeling very much part of the same setting.
jason10mm's Avatar
jason10mm replied the topic: #258698 06 Dec 2017 22:02
I dunno, it felt like a half-baked story, much like Arrival. Villeneuve isn't that interested in technical details, so maybe sci-fantasy lie Dune will fit him better. If he strill gets to make Dune....

For example, there is the thinnest of evidence that a replicant gave birth (and wasn't a human with a pelvic bone graft, a surrogate pregnancy, or just had some trauma. Based on this, Leto has his hit-girl kill police and docs all over the place. But why can't a replicant have a kid? Do they even have a uterus? Are they unable to make eggs/sperm? Was it necessary to have a human male (Deckard?) or a specially designed replicant (Deckard??) or just any male replicant (Deckard???) to conceive. If a human male can knock up a replicant woman, is the kid also a replicant? If so, how does this help Leto? Even replicants breeding true amongst themselves doesn't seem to help him with his, uh, supply problem.
Black Barney's Avatar
Black Barney replied the topic: #258701 07 Dec 2017 08:43
Jason, I’d Put the entire second paragraph under spoiler tag.
Hex Sinister's Avatar
Hex Sinister replied the topic: #259210 16 Dec 2017 15:10
After seeing The Last Jedi I can safely say this is the best movie I saw in 2017. I still think it's probably the best sci-fi film in a decade or more. Out of five of my friends, only one was a curmudgeon about it. Yet, he did go to see it twice, so.... Everybody else thought it was great.
CranBerries's Avatar
CranBerries replied the topic: #262445 29 Jan 2018 12:34
I just read this interview with Ridley Scott:
Warning: Spoiler! [ Click to expand ]
Black Barney's Avatar
Black Barney replied the topic: #262461 29 Jan 2018 14:54
if i was the interviewer, i would have immediately followed that with, "yeah so The Martian was a great comedy"
charlest's Avatar
charlest replied the topic: #262464 29 Jan 2018 15:52
This film was fucked by the academy.
Black Barney's Avatar
Black Barney replied the topic: #262465 29 Jan 2018 16:01
Well, it's not going to get any acting nods, that's for sure.

It got cinematography which was really important. It also got sound editing and sound mixing. It got production design which is great. And of course it got visual effects.

You think it should have got a directing nom? Best picture? I would certainly have recognized it ahead of The Post, Phantom Thread or even Darkest Hour.

That's five academy award nominations, charlest. Hardly focked, no?
charlest's Avatar
charlest replied the topic: #262466 29 Jan 2018 16:25
Best picture, specifically, is what I was referring to. Directing I think it deserved it as well, but mainly I think it was screwed not getting nominated for BP.
Black Barney's Avatar
Black Barney replied the topic: #262467 29 Jan 2018 16:28
sci-fi gets little love from the Academy in general. Get Out getting nominated is huge enough.