Front Page

Content

Board Games

Forums

Site Tools

Submissions

About

You May Also Like...

T
thegiantbrain
January 28, 2020
M
Msample
January 22, 2020
JL
Josh Look
December 12, 2019
M
MasonSokol
August 30, 2019
Hot
V
Vysetron
August 16, 2019
M
MasonSokol
August 09, 2019
Hot
M
MasonSokol
August 02, 2019
M
MasonSokol
July 26, 2019
M
MasonSokol
July 12, 2019
M
MasonSokol
June 07, 2019
Hot
M
MasonSokol
May 31, 2019
M
MasonSokol
May 24, 2019
M
MasonSokol
May 10, 2019
  • Hot Takes
  • Pax Pamir 2nd Edition - A Five Second Board Game Review

Pax Pamir 2nd Edition - A Five Second Board Game Review

Hot
M Updated December 02, 2019
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
3158 0
Pax Pamir 2nd Edition

Game Information

Game Name
Designer
There Will Be Games

Pax Pamir has easily put itself in the running for my game of the year.

When I sat down for my first game of Pax Pamir with the knowledge that it has the DNA of Phil Eklund’s design school, I fully expected to nod to myself saying “that sure is a game with rules,” then promptly never return.  Instead I’m on my fourth play in three days, and am desperately hunting for an affordable copy.  

First of all the game is gorgeous in a way that no other game is.  It tries to imitates the appearance of games of the time period while representing that period hostorically. It's a pretty cool touch and is executed perfectly.

Pax Pamir also plays almost like the perfect idea of a COIN game.  The rules are weird and evocative, but never so opaque that I tripped over them. Anyone who has touched historical games knows that this is basically the holy grail.  The game also played like the perfect stock game - constantly hunting for the correct alliances with enough interaction to make you feel clever when your plans dovetail with those of your opponent, but controlled enough that you don’t feel like you are just at the whims of the other players.  There are so many different axis to fight on and they all intersect with each other in just the right amounts.  You don’t feel overwhelmed with the connectedness but you don’t feel restricted either.  This game feels nearly perfect for what it is trying to be and I can’t wait to play it another 20 times.


Editor reviews

1 reviews

Rating 
 
5.0
Pax Pamir 2nd Edition
M
Mason Sokol
Associate Writer

Mason plays games and has opinions.

Articles by Mason Sokol

Associate Writer

Articles by Mason Sokol

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Log in to comment

Gary Sax's Avatar
Gary Sax replied the topic: #299246 05 Jul 2019 00:36
Yeah, the stock game part of this design is a good pull (picking the right side, staying at the front with the most loyalty (stock). It's also pretty unexpected in such a small design to have such a evocative stock market mechanism, sort of like a small Imperial.
Ah_Pook's Avatar
Ah_Pook replied the topic: #299249 05 Jul 2019 08:06
I've only played one Solo learning game so far but this one seems pretty great. Should be getting my first legit play tonight and I'm pretty excited.